Cook with us #29 - Budget Meal: Pilchard & Lentil Curry

in #cookwithus5 years ago (edited)

Talk about having to work with a tight budget come month end, and then we have to tighten the belt even more, right here on
Cook with Us #29.

A friend with a real good sense of humour used to call the week before payday - Survival Week ;)

That's when you dip deep into the old chest freezer and look for treasure, boy oh boy and you do sometimes find gold in the nether-depths of that old freezer!

I remember once finding a roast leg of Lamb down there when my sons were little, that was a feast of a meal for sure!

But then you scratch down there and find nothing but ice blocks and forgotten frozen meals that are way past their sell-by-date and it's off to see what's sitting patiently at the back of the pantry, and use that find to make a meal.

A tin of Pilchards in Tomato Sauce does not sound too exciting, but I assure you, those little tinned fish make a delicious and nourishing meal - packed with Omega 3's, Protein, Calcium as well as Lycopene, a phytonutrient that protects against cancer , and only costs ZAR17,49 (1,56 Steem).
Add to that 1 Potato, 1 Onion and 1 Tomato, 1 can Lentils plus some other pantry staples and you have a tasty meal - enough to feed 3-4.

IMG_20181105_115531_1.jpg

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large Potato
  • 1 can Pilchards in Tomato Sauce
  • 1 can Lentils in brine
  • 1 Onion, diced
  • 1 clove Garlic
  • Cinnamon bark, Curry Powder, Jeera (Cumin) seeds, Coriander Powder, Turmeric
  • Half Lemon
  • Curry leaves, Mint leaves & Spring Onions from the garden
  • 1 cup Rice
  • 1 Tomato for salad

IMG_20181105_110705.jpg

IMG_20181105_111857.jpg

IMG_20181105_110135_1.jpg
Curry leaves

IMG_20181105_110221_1.jpg
Mint

IMG_20181105_161044.jpg
Spring Onions

1. Dice potato and cook in salt water

2. Sautee Onions and crushed Garlic with spices in a little oil

IMG_20181105_110726.jpg

IMG_20181105_111940.jpg

3. Add drained Lentils

IMG_20181105_112200.jpg

4. Add Fish (do not debone as it's packed with calcium)

IMG_20181105_112323.jpg

5. Add curry leaves and a little mint, serve with Rice, Tomato & Spring Onion Salad plus Chutney from the pantry

IMG_20181105_115435.jpg

IMG_20181105_115449.jpg

Almost forgot to show all the busy Steemians a quick look-see of the whole process.

20181105_201132-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Really cool that you can get the herbs from your garden. I've seen mint around here, but other than that, I'm pretty clueless about growing my own herbs. Nice that you can throw some stuff together that you have at home and make a tasty looking meal!

Thank you so much @apanamamama, it's quite amazing what one can make when in a tight spot, I think that's when the creative juices come out, it does help to have some fresh herbs and vegetables growing in the garden, really is not difficult:)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 304 (11/06/18)

Thank you so much @thesteemengine, really appreciate your awesome support!

Once again I wish I was sitting at your table @lizelle - well done for preparing a seriously good budget meal

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback @pandamama, loved this challenge :)

This dish is packed with so much flavor and nutrients! It looks incredible. The fresh herbs from your garden must make this dish even better. You did an excellent job at a delicious and healthful meal for next to nothing! Thanks for sharing this super budget meal with us @lizelle!

Thank you so much for this week's challenge @chefsteve, cooking on a budget has been quite a lesson for all of us but brought out everyone's creative juices! Must be humankind's innate survival instinct coming out not so ;)

Love this creative budget friendly masterpiece @lizelle. Yes, I think we all identify with the tight budget meal preps. I think some of those meals turned out to be the best. lol Good luck!

Very true my friend, it's a valuable lesson from cookwithus!

Well done on creating a warming dish for so little! You have been crafty this week @lizelle :)

Your garden picks look great - im especially eyeing up those curry leaves! I need to get some seeds and plant some of my own I think. What is the botanical name of your curry leaf plant?

Thank you for your lovely comments @gardeningchef!
The botanical name for my curry leaf tree is Murraya koenigii.

My pleasure. Thanks for letting me know re the curry leaf tree. I see I will need to wait until Spring to plant any seeds but I will definitely buy some in preparation!

That's great, my dad used to make it often. I used to live in Queensburgh too, small world.

Wow it is a small world indeed, nice to meet you @gguy773 :) Do you still have family here?
BTW loved your sushi, good luck with the contest!
Thank you for your support :)

I had to look up pilchards ... LOL. So I do know what they are but just under another name. And I find your preparation different and delicious. It's an absolute must try. The addition of the potatoes and lentils definitely stretches the pilchards while the addition of the freshly-harvested herbs elevates the flavor profile. Served with a side salad and rice, it's a perfect meal. No one would even think it's a budget meal!

And btw, I agree with leaving the fish bones intact. Thanks again @lizelle for sharing a wonderful and delicious dish!

Thank you so much for this week's theme, it's taught us all a valuable lesson and really brought out the creative juices ;)
What do you call pilchards?

Sardines =D.

Looking forward to your CwU #30 entry. Free for All. So many options, I bet.

You're not on whaleshares yet. Are you planning on joining?

And yes, it has taught us all a valuable lesson and brought out the creative juices. So, so true!

Wow what a great dish @lizelle. I was just telling my husband that if we do go to South Africa it would be good to stop by your place for a nice dinner! I like the fact that you also have a curry tree. I’m literally looking at my tree in the backyard. After the heavy rain today it was bending a little bit funny. I like all the colours in your meal. It is testament of a very tasty meal and flavoursome meal. And the tomatoe chutney is the right salad to go with it. Great job and good luck.

Thank you so much for your lovely and valued feedback @foodforsoul, oh it would be such a treat having you over for a meal but I'd insist on putting you in the kitchen so I could taste your amazing food!

Woa this looks so delicious and filing. Well done u for growing spring onion. I can't seem to get my spring onion seedlings to grow. They get to a certain point and just wilt and die.

Thank you @celestialcow, it was real tasty! It's funny how some seeds will start growing nicely only to die off suddenly. I've experienced that with other veggies and herbs as well, perhaps we overwater? But then the seeds also has to be good quality. Good luck with your planting, it's so rewarding just being able to harvest as one needs :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75