Crunchy Celery Salad with Lemon Dressing

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Yes, a celery salad.

I know not everyone likes celery. I didn't like it as a child but love it now. If you are one who loves celery, here's a simple salad with celery as the main ingredient paired with a light lemon dressing. I would suggest that you make it the day before to give the celery enough time to absorb the flavors of the dressing.

Celery Salad-10.jpg

The Ingredients for the Salad

Celery Salad-3.jpg

You will need celery stalks cut into 1 cm chunks.

Celery Salad-7.jpg

Include the celery leaves and separate them individually or into small bunches.

Celery Salad-8.jpg

Pick a nice cheese. 1-year old Reypenaer works perfectly. A softer cheese like feta will work wonderfully as well.

Celery Salad-5.jpg

Toast some nuts. I used almond slivers but other nuts like pecans or pine nuts will also do. Set these aside for use before serving.

Celery Salad-6.jpg

Put all the ingredients in a bowl except for the toasted nuts.

For the dressing, combine freshly-squeezed lemon juice, mustard, olive oil, salt and pepper. Pour dressing onto salad ingredients and toss well. Leave in refrigerator overnight or for at least 4 hours for the flavors to meld and develop.

Before serving, drain the salad then either mix in the toasted nuts or sprinkle them over salad.

Celery Salad-9.jpg

Bon appetit!

Celery Salad-11.jpg

Is celery something you enjoy eating? If so, how do you like it prepared? Please share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you.


Cook with Us

Do you enjoy cooking? Are you running out of ideas on what to make for dinner or a crowd? Well, come join the Cook with Us community to learn something new and fun.

Sort:  

Really love celery and I too was not fond of it as a child! Delicious crunchy salad, you created! @offoodandart:)

I love and crave celery now. Who would've known that I'd feel this way about it after all those earlier years when I couldn't even appreciate it!

Thanks so much for stopping by and for your support!

Amazing how our tastes change over the years! @offoodandart:)

I LOVE celery - and I love it cooked or raw. This is a salad that is right up my alley - Ah @offoodandart I have missed your beautiful posts and photographs - One of my favourite recipes is lamb chop stew with celery and lemon. Sadly not all my family are not crazy about celery - just Jack

Hi @pandamama! You should make it anyway. Maybe Lee will like celery when it's prepared this way (hoping). Or make a small salad for yourself. It doesn't take much in the way of ingredients.

Thanks for stopping by and see you on the other side ... the Cook with Us side. =D

This looks so nice and fresh and delicious. I never thought of doing this with celery. I will have to try it.

me too. first time i hear a salad from celery

Hope you get a chance to make and enjoy it @incognitoct.

Hi @carolynstahl! Hope you do get to try it. I really enjoy it and make it often as it's so easy and I love celery! Thanks for stopping by!

I need more celery in my life. It is a wonderful thing especially with nuts yum!!!!

Gottta make it then. Hope you like it. =D

A beautiful and simple salad. I like how you include the celery leaves. Nice to see you back @offoodandart.

Thank you @loveself. I crave this salad a lot and modify the ingredients depending on what I have available. Hope you get a chance to make it.

It's nice to be back. Hoping I can get back on a regular schedule.

Hello Friend how are you? unusual celery salad the truth first time I hear it but you have to try it looks very fresh

Hi @yesslife. I'm hoping you get to try making this salad. If you love celery, you'll love this salad.

Haven't seen you in a while but thanks for stopping by!

Not a big fan of celery but I certainly would enjoy this. Looks beautiful and delicious as always! Another great food post by @offoodandart!

Thank you @world-travel-pro! You may become a fan of celery after trying this salad =D. Maybe ...

I love celery! I am definitely going to try this soon!

@princessmewmew!!! So nice and refreshing to hear from you. I have been behind with posting and visiting other posts (including yours, I apologize) as life has been busy and the Cook with Us contest has taken my time as well. I always wonder how @progressivechef does SIC by himself!

The salad is delicious and so simple to make. I love the lemon flavor and the crunch of the celery.

Anyway, hope you are well. Take care and thanks for stopping by!

😍😍😍I love cheese! It looks super yummy with celery! I really very miss your food! Your posts always make me want to try your recipes! Happy you are back! 😘

Thank you so much! Well, hoping you and I can keep posting delicious food. Take care!!!

This is such a great salad. Simple, fresh, crunchy and satisfying. It is perfect on its own for a light meal or as a side for grilled fish or really anything. It has the same simple elegance as a carottes râpées or celeri remoulade.

You're right, it's so satisfying and can be a side dish or a main. Carottes râpées or celeri remoulade definitely parallel this celery salad. Thanks for stopping by!

This celery salad looks simple and tasty. I love a good crunchy, fresh salad and the brightness of citrus dressing. Thanks for sharing with #dailyfoodphotography

For future posts, please consider sharing, "This is my original entry to the #dailyfoodphotography contest curated by @mininthcity"

Thank you for participating!

Thanks so much! Yes, would love to share the text you provided in future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81