Cook with us #10 - Beet-on Mess/ Wave-lova: You decide!

in #cookwithus6 years ago

wavelova4.jpg


Hello!

Once again, huge thanks to @pandamama, @chefsteve and @offoodandart for hosting this!

If you haven’t heard yet, @cookwithus is an awesome themed weekly cooking contest. It’s quickly becoming my go-to for inspiration when I find myself staring blankly into the vast abyss most refer to as the refrigerator. Over the last few weeks, I’ve also met a bunch of brilliant foodies with an incredible knowledge of cuisine from all over the globe all competing for the coveted @cookwithus prize. You guys. If you love food, or you want to learn or practice your skills in the kitchen, this is where you go. For real real, not for play play.


wavelova14.jpg


So, how to tackle this week’s challenge. I’ve penciled the weekly themes into my calendar and find myself planning what I’ll make waaay in advance.

The last few weeks have been a way for me to explore prettier presentations of recipes I know, so I can improve my food photography, with a few twists of the familiar here and there, but generally what I’ve created has been something I eat all the time.

When I saw the Microwave challenge, I was a little disappointed in myself. I'd already entered my number 1 microwave recipe- a chocolate mousse cake- for my very first entry.

What on earth do I make now?

I admit, I briefly considered skipping this week and focusing my attention on the cupcake challenge for next week… but life had other plans for me...

See, on Saturday morning I decided to quit smoking. Terrible habit, I know. It’s about damn time.
The biggest trouble with letting go of addiction is the anxiousness of withdrawal. I’m a fidgety person by nature, so to overcome this challenge I set myself, I needed to channel the fidgets into something constructive.
Nothing calms my nerves and keeps my hands busier than a good cook in the kitchen. Microwave popcorn wasn’t going to cut it.

To break this habit, I needed a challenge- a real one. Thanks to @cookwithus, the challenge was right there:

Make something in a microwave.

wavelova24.jpg


I was going to make something, all right. And then I was going to make 3900 more things or risk my boyfriend going on an extended holiday to escape my madness.
In short, I’ve spent pretty much all of the last 4 days testing, tasting and adjusting a dessert with as many elements as possible- every single one of them in the nuker.

While this isn’t one of those recipes I recommend you take on for dessert tonight, it comes highly recommended should you be stuck in your house with hours to kill and a habit to kick.

This is the final product.
Buckle your seatbelts, folks. This ain’t no 15 minute dessert.

Because it’s so labour intensive, I’ve marked how far in advance you can make each element, so if you are moved to take on this ridiculous dessert, you’ll have plenty of time.

As for what it is, I’m still torn between calling it a ‘Beet-on Mess’ or a ‘Wavelova’- *Votes in the comments down below!

Anyhooo...this recipe serves 6.

Here's how to make it:


wavelova3.jpg


Beetroot Powder.

(Up to a month before)

• 1 large beetroot
• Wax Paper

####Method:

  1. Wash and peel beetroot
  2. Slice into thin even slices (mandolin is your best bet here)
  3. Place wax paper over a plate and spread beet slices evenly, ensuring they don’t touch.
  4. Nuke on high for a minute and remove to test. They should be brittle, but not discoloured. Blast at 20 sec intervals until completely dry. (They are delicious as beet chips, sodium and fat free even!) Allow to cool.
  5. Crush into smaller pieces to fit into a food processor or coffee grinder (I find the coffee grinder yields a finer result) pulse and scrape down the edges regularly until a fine dust forms.
  6. Sift into an airtight container until ready to use (this stuff is great in smoothies. Highly recommend!)

wavelova12.jpg


Microwave Meringue

(Up to a week before)
Oh my goodness, Egg in the nuker???
You heard me. Crisp, crunchy meringues. 4 minutes start to finish. We’re working miracles up in here!

• 1 Egg White
• 300 grams Confectioner’s sugar (A little extra if it’s humid)
• ½ Tsp Vanilla Extract
• Pinch of Salt

Method
  1. Sift Sugar and Salt into bowl and make a well in the center.
  2. Separate egg and add the white and vanilla to the sugar.
  3. Mix with a spoon until thickened and then knead until it forms a pliable dough. (Think playdoh!)
  4. Roll into balls about the size of a raspberry, or a marble…or a small grape?
  5. Place a sheet of kitchen paper on a plate and put one ball on each corner of the paper (you’ll think you can fit 40 more on there, they look really lonely just for on the plate- but honey, they GROW!)
  6. Microwave on high for 90 seconds before checking. If they’re crisp on the outer edge, they’re ready (they will continue to cook after you remove them. If still soft, return to nuker in 10 sec intervals until ready. Watch these like a hawk or you’ll have a tiny ball of lava in the microwave. (I learned this lesson. I wish I hadn’t.)
  7. Eat one. It’s a miracle! Why on earth have I spent dozens of hours praying for these things to dehydrate????
  8. Allow to cool before storing in an airtight container until use.

Wavelova13.jpg


Rose Gel

(Up to 3 days before)

• 1 tsp Corn Starch
• 2 Tbsp Confectioner’s sugar
• ½ Cup of water
• Juice of ½ Lemon
• 1 Tbsp Rose Water
• 1 Tsp Beetroot Powder

Method:

  1. Sift corn starch and confectioner’s sugar into a small microwave-safe bowl.
  2. Add a little of the water and stir to form a smooth paste before stirring in the rest of the water
  3. Microwave on high in 1 minute intervals until thick and a pale straw colour.
  4. Stir in the beet powder, rose water and lemon juice and check consistency-it should fall of the spoon in a slow ‘gloop!’ (Like the last bit of shampoo)
  5. Allow to cool at room temperature before chilling in the fridge (the gel, not you. I was pretty close to putting my head in there at one point, though.)

wavelova7.jpg


Candied Beet and Sesame Tuille

(Up to 2 days before- the flavour develops and sugar crystallizes as time goes by)

• 1 Small Beet, sliced thinly with a mandolin, and then into match sticks (julienne tools help brilliantly here, I couldn’t find mine)
• ¼ Cup of Sugar
• 1 Tbsp Cacao powder
• 2 Tbsp water
• 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
• 1 Tbsp White Sesame Seeds
• Pinch of Salt

Method

• Sift cacao powder into a small microwave-safe bowl with sugar and salt.
• Add a little water to smooth out any cacao lumps before adding the rest of the water and vanilla
• Add beet strips and cook on high at 30 second intervals until syrup is bubbly and sticky- this takes about 5 minutes, but keep a very close eye on your nuker. A couple of seconds too long and the inside of your microwave will look like a Tarantino movie. (If anyone was wondering, beet and cacao make the exact colour of blood, but will stain your face and everything you love, don’t try to scare your boyfriend with a nosebleed... you’ll have a pink upper lip for approximately 3 showers, an intensive exfoliation and a 20-minute lemon juice mask.)
• Lay beet strips on a silicone mat or greased baking tray to cool, spreading so it makes a thin layer, but pieces are still connected with caramel. Sprinkle with Sesame Seeds and leave to cool. (Don’t touch it with your hands! You’ll have blisters on your fingers that’ll make you cry more than you should because everything is worse on withdrawals.)
• Once cool, store in airtight container until ready to use.


wavelova22.jpg


Beetroot Mousse

(1 day before)

• 50 grams Marshmallows
• 10 Grams butter
• 80 Grams White Chocolate
• 100 ml Cream
• 2 Tbsp Beetroot Powder
• 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
• Pinch of Salt

Method:

  1. Break up chocolate and halve marshmallows and microwave with butter at 30 second intervals, stirring until smooth and melty
  2. Stir in sifted beet powder, vanilla and salt and leave to cool while whipping cream.
  3. Whip cream to form stiff peaks and fold into marshmellow mixture.
  4. Pour into molds or one large bowl if making quenelles and chill in fridge until set- at least an hour.

wavelova11.jpg


Chocolate Drizzle

(Make just before assembly)

• 100 grams Dark Chocolate
• 1 Tsp Coconut oil
• Pinch of Salt (I used Pink Himalayan)

Method:

  1. Break chocolate into chunks, add coconut oil and salt and nuke on medium heat at 30 second intervals until chocolate starts to melt. The residual heat from the bowl will be enough to melt it completely as you stir.
  2. Place on a bowl of hot water to keep it liquid until ready to use.

wavelova18.jpg


Soft Whipped Cream

(Just before serving)

  • 100 ml Whipping Cream
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Method

  1. Add vanilla to cream and whip until soft peaks form.

wavelova10.jpg


To Assemble:

  • Dragon Fruit Spheres
  • Passion Fruit Pulp
  • Purple Basil Leaves
  • Extra Beet Powder for dusting

Once I had all the elements done, I plated and replated it several times. Partly because I was trying to find balance between all the elements, and partly because I needed to keep my hands busy...

The end result works in the same way red velvet cupcakes made with beet works- The beet tuille and powder lends a lovely earthy note to the rich dark chocolate. I added blobs of passion fruit and beautiful speckled semi-spheres of dragon fruit to add contrast, acidity and freshness, complimenting the perfume of the rose gel.

The crack of the chocolate drizzle adds an entirely different textural element to the brittle crunch of the meringue, broken into rough chunks and scattered on the plate. A little whipped cream lends relief to the indulgent beet mousse and ties it all together like it would on a pavlova. A couple of sprigs of purple basil and a few freshly sprouted beet leaves pay homage to the vegetable I put through the ringer for this dessert...all topped off with a sprinkling of beet powder, I reckon to compensate I'll make beet salad tonight!

So that's my mad rambling dessert, hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

@whattheduck you never cease to amaze me. This sounds too delicious for words. I love all the ingredients and I'm a serious fan of Pavlova so your dish has my vote for "Wavelova" - thank you for all the effort you put into your recipes - and also the stories are so interesting. Well done !!!

Wavelova it is! Thanks so much for taking the time every week! Love entering weekly and so happy to get to know everyone! I can just imagine how awesome a potluck dinner with all the contestants would be!

It would really be amazing if we all gathered at some conference one day in the future - but there are so many South Africans on this platform - maybe you guys could arrange something

WOw @whattheduck that's art on a plate!!! This is simply magnificent. Not sure if after that I should enter any plate for week#10.

Thanks so much @foodforsoul. It's been a bit of a mad weekend in the kitchen- went a wee bit overboard! Still keen to see what you come up with though, your recipes are always amazing!

I cook with you because you inspiring me

Happy to hear it @makesushi! Will definitely be stopping by your posts next time I'm in need of a sushi fix!

Wowy @whattheduck, how many times have I said that about your posts, amaaaazing, everything looks beautiful!

Thanks so much @lizelle! So look forward to seeing your next entry! Need my foodie-dose of home!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Thanks @steemkitchen! Much appreciated!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-08T10:11:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 52.00/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 35 SBD worth and should receive 120 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @goldendawne to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Wants to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

AMAZING creation @whattheduck!! It's so complex!! I can imagine all those flavour work well together ! Nice play on the textures too! So much effort put into it! Now that is art and good eats on that plate!

Thanks @alansthoughts! Drooling over yours too!

Your too kind...haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12