Why a cosplayer wouldn't be able to make steemit post everyday ?

in #cosplay6 years ago

cosplayers_on_steemit.jpg

Hey !

This is a reality that you can clearly see on my steemit account : i'm not able to post everyday on steemit. Even a post a week is not easy. Why ? That's what i'm going to explain you...

In my case, i've the great chance to be both a cosplayer and a photographer, it allow me to get more content. I can post a photo of my work, photo of the others or WIP (Work In Progress). I can also make post to debate about the cosplay community or about a post on facebook. But, even if i can make various posts, i'm not really able to post a lot.

1/ To get photos of my costumes, i have to be shoot or to shoot myself.
I'm not making popular costumes, generally people doesn't recognize the costume i'm wearing. So i don't get a lot of pictures. And even if i get shoot, that doesn't mean that i can get the photo. People who shoot me could be the family that just want to get some memories of the event and generally, they don't know that cosplayers want to see those photos or they don't care about sending the pictures to cosplayer if they get a card. Some of them don't want to get their kids expose on the internet (thank goddness, there's still some people who are aware of their chlidrens !) so they don't send the pictures to the cosplayer.
A cosplayer can also go ask for some photos on convention to a photographer but a lot of new cosplayers are too shy to speak to a stranger to ask them photo. I'm, partly, on this case. Finally, some cosplayer just want to enjoy the convention and didn't take time to ask a shoot to a photographer. That's mostly my case. I'm often with the same people in convention and some of them aren't cosplayer. A shoot can take up to one hour, i didn't see myself let my friends wait when i shoot with a photographer. That's how a convention can end without getting any photo.
- Yeah but why don't you ask on facebook if someone can shoot you ? That's a really good question my friend. You remember i'm a bit shy ? Yeah, now you get your answer. I'm too shy (and a bit stupid) to go on a facebook page ask Hey ! Wanna shoot my costume ? The only photographers i know and that i'm sure they're near Paris are whales in french cosplay community. Everyone know them, some of them get accreditation to shoot on famous convention and work with famous cosplayer who kow how to pose, how to look good on photo and so on. This part sounds like i'm depreciate myself and that's a bit true. I'm not as good as some cosplayers or some photographers, i couldn't deny it. That's a bit why i don't ask them. And if i ask on a group, i know i wouldn't get a good answer and i know it. Here's some comments i could see on a post where 2 cosplayers were asking for a photographer near them to shoot them (the others comments are mine i agree to shoot them or other people who tell them they love their cosplays) :

commentaire_1.jpg
commentaire_2.jpg

A bit disappointing, people keep trying to push them to ask to that super famous photographer or that other super famous photographer. That's not a bad advice but if they're asking here, they're like me : too shy to ask to those super photographers.

- Hey ! Ok, you're super shy but you have a DSLR, right ? So why don't you shoot yourself ? That's also a good idea and my basic idea of why i've buy a DSLR but it's harder than it seems. First, i need to get a costume complete. Ok, that's a good part, not the easiest but the essential part. Then, i need to find a good spot to shoot my costume. My parents aren't really ok with cosplay, they don't want to see me on the streets with a costume on me, for them, i just have to wear it at a convention and that's all. So the "good spot" is generally my garden... It doesn't suit all characters, for Ria from King's Game, i need buildings, i need a town and especially a school. That's hard to find, believe me ! I don't live in a big town, i'm a countrywoman. So i have to take my car to get a bigger town to take my photos. Alone in a town with a costume, i fear to be harassed by stupids teenagers who can say "Hey ! The Carnaval is over !". My DSLR is quite expensive too, if i pose in front of it, why nobody could run and take the DSLR with the tripod ?
Maybe this is stupid thoughts, maybe not. Teenagers in France aren't known to be respectful and thieves are a big threat. But let's return to the garden or in the house with an appropriate costume. I can shoot, this will take me 2 to 4 hours (approximately). Then i have to edit the pictures, it will take me a lot of time, maybe 3 months ? Because i have a lot of delay on all the pictures i have to edit. And that's my fault, my studies take me a lot of time so i couldn't edit a lot...

Photo 174.jpg

2/ Conventions photo have to be edit.
As i was saying, i have a lot of delay on my pictures, it includes mine but also photo of the others ! I still have to edit pictures from last december. I've stop taking photos for the moment in order to be up to date on all of my pictures before shooting anyone. Edit can be boring, i could spend 3 to 4 hours editing pictures in a row but after that, i wouldn't edit anymore for 1 or 2 weeks. When i edit, i always start by the older pictures to return to the youngest ones, i think that's must fair.
If i get bored by a shoot, i can also decide to make a "rotating edit" taht means one day i edit that shoot but the next day, i edit that other one. I'm less bored with this method but i need to be in front of my pc without any work for my licence everyday. A bit hard, sometimes i have to work so i don't respect the rotating anymore.
I could also edit what i want but for me, i don't want to keep people waiting too long, i know if i don't edit pictures chronologically some photos will wait in my computer for a long time !

3813.jpg

3/ Work In Progress needs to work on costumes
And what about a WIP on that or that costume ? Ok, i can sew or craft for an afternoon but what if i forgot to take pictures ? That's often the case so i generally post pictures of finish parts. I could also have a problem on a piece so i wouldn't post a picture of something with what i've got problems because i know i will redo it as soon as possible.
I'm also the person who prefer to work a full day on a costume instead of working everyday on it a little. I'm the type of person who absolutely love finishing a piece before going to bed. But sometimes, that's impossible ! And i'm also the person who's able to forget how she have done that and why even if i work on that last evening...

DSCN0933.JPG
P.S : i take commission to recreate hair pins like that, if you want one, contact me !

4/ I don't like debate in cosplay community.
That's a fact, i love reading drama but i hate speaking about them. When i try to understand the other point of view, i generally attract haters or rude people. For example, on the last big debate on cosplay community who was the pugoffka case, this was about blackface. A cosplayer who was cosplay as Korra from The Last Avatar use a darker foundation to be more accurate with the ref picture. At first, i didn't see, that's when i see "Grr" reactions on the post that i ask myself "Why did Pugoffka receive hate ?" and after reading the comments that i discover it.

Korra.jpg
The photo that laucnch the debate. Cosplayer : LeAtlass, Photographer : Pugoffka. Link to the original post

In my opinion, the cosplayer hadn't done anything bad, she hadn't do it to laugh at colored people. She has just try to reproduce the cosplay in any detail, even the skin tone. I don't like the facts people keep want to mix cosplay and anything else than cosplay like politic or history. That's just a costume, whe don't cosplay to laugh at the characters, we cosplay to have fun.
After i comment on a repost and on the original post, i receive hate. I've try to debate with the french community but then, i've let it down. The girls were rude and wouldn't explain me why i "shouldn't" think like that. That's why i wouldn't make debate post about the cosplay community, it's too hard to moderate. Even more on steemit where reputation count a lot thanks (or not) to steem power, people could downvote to show that they disagree so i don't think that's good to start a debate here.

That's the reason why i couldn't post regularly, i'll try to post as much as possible on steemit but i can't post that much because of all of that. I hope you'll understand it and, even if i don't post for a week, continue me to follow me.

But if you have post idea, somethings you want me to present you about cosplay or photo, i'll be pleased to hear it !

Bye guys !

Sort:  

Congratulations @purplealyss! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@purplealyss, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98