[WIP] Jhin from League of Legends, first things done !

in #cosplay5 years ago

Heya !

Japan Expo is now over and so, let's go back to work ! The WIP I'm showing you here were made before Japan Expo, at my last sewing courses. I take advantage of this last course to cut everything to sew everything this summer. I've bought the fabric in april at a special sale of fabric in a professionnal shop (by professionnal shop, I mean that this store normally intend to sell to clothes designer and mode students).
Here's my reference picture before getting into business :
Jhin_awaken.jpg
Jhin from the trailer Awaken, if you haven't see this trailer, I highly recommand you to watch it !

tissus_Jhin.jpg

Here's a part of the fabrics I've bought to make Jhin. A purple fabric for the bottom part of the costume (the short and the thing at his waist), a first red fabric to double the cape with a darker red and finally a second red fabric of satin to make his shirt.

I'm going to make every sewing part before getting into the craft part. In the craft part, I include :

  • the hextech arm
  • the mask
  • the boots
  • the gem on his neck

I've started to cut the shirt but I'think I'm going to remake it, I'll explain you why after explaining everything I've done.
I've used one my shirt as a pattern for the shirt. I've just changed the collar (I've taken a simple top with a round collar that goes to my chest) and add centimeters as my fabric isn't a jersey or something elastic. This what my pattern looks like on the fabric :
IMG_20190619_161448.jpg
T-shirt before cutting, front part

I've cut it, remake the pattern for the back and pinned everything to see if the shirt was ok (not too tight or not as I wanted). The shirt will open on the side with an invisible zipper. This is the only thing I've done on the sirt.
I said I'll probably remake it as I haven't see that the shirt closed on the front, with the green gem, like a jacket. I'll see If I can change it but I don't think so.

After that, I decided to cut the thing on his waist. Let's call this thing a skirt (this isn't exactly that but that's better than calling this a thing everythime I want to speak of it !).
So as my sewing teacher doesn't understand how this looks, we've made a drawing that help us to make the pattern :
IMG_20190619_183816.jpg
back and front part drawn separately
IMG_20190619_183813.jpg
The full pattern with my measurement

So, for the pattern, the longest measurement is my waist with some more centimeters. We've traced the pattern as we would be able to have a minimum a sewing lines as on the drawing, like every drawing, there isn't a sewing line visible.
IMG_20190619_181201.jpg
Pattern traced on the fabric, on every folding line, we have the center of the front/back
It will be closed thanks to a zipper placed on the open edge.
I've start to hem the skirt and after that, the course end.
IMG_20190619_201432.jpg
Skirt pinned to hem it

IMG_20190619_204130.jpg
Photo while sewing it

But, before sewing the hem of the skirt, I took time to cut the short. I haven't took photos of the pattern. The only thing to notic is that we've hide the sewing lines by placing them on the inside of my legs.
The shape is a bit strange as it starts close to his body before going more puffy on his knees. That's why my sewing teacher advice me to make some sewing clamps on the waist that goes down on 20 cm. The puff on the bottom part of the short will be create with some elastic that I didn't have when I sew it. At the waist, I'll add an elastic too to adjust it to my waist measurement.
IMG_20190619_195930.jpg

And that's all ! I hope you've like what you've read and that it will inspire you to make something !

Sort:  

Looking forward to seeing the finished outfit!

Thanks, I'm very excited too to see the hole outfit complete :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @purplealyss! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts! Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us by visiting our FAQs.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

This is so cool, @purplealyss! I have added you to my follows as I wanna watch how this cosplay come together :D Tuning in for updates, for sure \o/

Aww so nice, thank you ! I hope I will not disappoint you ! Jhin will get some WIP this week as I've a friend who used to be a tailor :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Congratulations @purplealyss! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

I always appreciate your work and the process of it that you share with the community. I checked out the trailer. Although I’m not a gamer (like I used to be growing up) my husband likes things like this, he would definitely love the graphics! It was pretty entertaining to watch though. All of the costumes on the characters are pretty detailed.

I like that you are taking this costume and breaking it down piece by piece to create a pattern for it. It is very inspiring! Looking forward to seeing it unfold ;)

Thanks for sharing with the #NeedleWorkMonday community this week ~

Thank you ! Yes, as we say in cosplay : "The biggest part of the work is the search part !". We have to find a lot of reference picture to see how this or this thing work and then we think about how to make every piece we've separate :)
Oh you watch the trailer ! Yes, League of Legends and World of Warcraft know how to make good trailer videos for their video games. If you've liked it, I advice you to watch the trailer for Xayah and Rakan (they made a trailer for the release of two champions), this is my second favorite trailer of all time from League of Legends.

I hope you'll appreciate my next posts (even if I'm not able to post every week !)

Posted using Partiko Android

I love and appreciate the work and effort you put into your craft!

Oh cool! I think I’ll watch them with my husband! Thanks.

Yes absolutely! I don’t even post every week like I used to, I appreciate anytime that you can ;)

Love the play by play! Thanks for the post!

Play by play ? (Don't know the meaning of this expression). Thank you, I'm happy you like my post :)

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It looks very cool so far!

Thank you !

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85