Ride to See Kinky Friedman Perform

in #countrymusic6 years ago (edited)

I didn't get much riding done today and I won't have the chance to for a few more days. A friend of mine had an extra ticket to see Kinky Friedman perform tonight. It was at a large venue, not that crowded, with seating in front of the stage for the audience consisting mostly of senior citizens. Now I had seen the flyers on display at Cafe Taza, so I knew the name Kinky Friedman. With a free ticket, why not?

I guess I'm embarrassed I had not heard of him before hearing his name mentioned at the coffee shop. I figured he was a somewhat accomplished country and folk singer, but I really was out of the loop on this. Now I don't like modern country in the least, but I can can appreciate older down 'n dirty country along the lines of Hank Williams Sr. , Waylon Jennings and David Allan Coe. Known as "The Jewish Cowboy", it turns out he has released 16 full length albums, toured with Bob Dylan, wrote 30 books and ran for governor of Texas.

IMG_20180706_213428516_LL (2).jpg

I really like to see older artists sometimes, especially in smaller settings like this. I'm glad they keep playing, writing new songs, and in this case books. He sang songs, told stories and read from his books. I'm happy to say I saw Kinky Friedman perform. Here are a couple articles and videos for further information:

https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-features/kinky-friedman-on-the-night-bob-dylan-jack-nicholson-crashed-his-wild-house-party-120489/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IG5V-QFh10U

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZy0Te5hCdY

Afterward we stopped at Pineapple Company for a karaoke afterparty. Had to get home as I have to get up early tomorrow.

IMG_20180706_225854993.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88