Cover a Steemian - "Lie to Me" by @meno - Acoustic version by @paintingangels

in #coverasteemian6 years ago (edited)

This is my cover of "Lie to Me" by @meno, as I am participating in the #coverasteemian initiative.

I fell in love with this song the first time I heard it, and knew that I would eventually want to cover it. It's so pretty.

Meno's version is much more detailed and electric, but I'd never be able to do it justice that way. So, acoustic it is..

Meno, I could not hit the powerful high notes you so skillfully mastered in the last verses, and I had to change the chords around a little bit in places so I could stay in key.. but I'm pretty happy with this cover! My heart is fully there.

Much respect!♥

Much love also to @pechichemena, who created the Cover a Steemian project. It's such a beautiful way to pay tribute to independent musicians on Steemit. Thank you, Pechi. ♥

divider2.png


Lyrics

I'm looking for a reason to touch your hands
I'm searching for the seasons I'm writing down my plan

cause in my mind you live with me
and in my heart you never leave
lets pretend you 't have to go
and let me kiss you, don't say no

and lie, please lie
to me
and lie, your lies
can set this writer.. free
and tell me that you miss me
as much as I do
and tell me I'm not crazy
for dreaming about you
please just lie to me

I really want to touch you
but I know that I cant
I really want to hold you
and be called your man

'cause in my mind you live with me
and in my heart you never leave
lets pretend you don't have to go
and let me kiss you, don't say no

and lie, please lie
to me
and lie, your lies
can set this writer free
and tell me that you miss me
as much as I do
and tell me im not crazy
for dreaming about you

and lie, please lie
to me

and lie, your lies
can set this writer free

and tell me that you miss me
as much as I do
and tell me I'm not crazy
for dreaming about you

please just lie to me

divider2.png

"Lie to Me" lyrics and music © 2018 Meno Mena (@meno)


(Click this link to hear Meno's original version:

https://dsound.audio/#!/@meno/20180427t233718105z-lie-to-me-original-song )

If you can't hear the DSound version, here is the Soundcloud link as well. You should be able to play it directly inside this post.




As is recommended, I will be transferring 100 percent of the SBD from this post to @meno, to support his beautiful music and his wonderful blog.

Thanks for listening!

♥- serena

page-divider-6.png

Check out @pechichemena 's magical cover of "Home Tonight" by @zipporah, just uploaded TODAY!

https://steemit.com/coverasteemian/@pechichemena/cover-a-steemian-home-tonight-zipporah-cover-song



Hey! Helpie is looking for new members! @helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST. Or contact ME at Discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.



Sort:  

Serena... I'm speechless...

You have no clue how many times your kind heart makes me smile every single week. I'm grateful to you in more ways that you might imagine.... You might think at times that I've been the one teaching you something, but I'm in many ways I'm also a student of your kindness.

This is a beautiful gesture and I absolutely adored your style and voice on this song. It's almost as if it was written for you to sing.

Much love
@meno

I'm so glad you like it. You have nooooo idea how many tries it took me to get a recording I was okay with. Hard to live up to your original, which is such a dream. ♥

Your original is so good as well! I love the lyrics and arrangement. You are all so talented and great I kinda wonder how the hell I landed in Helpie!

It does sound like it was written for her. Just beautiful!

Awww Serena , I want to hug you for this so bad ! this was beautiful , I've always loved that song , and your version is so sweet :) <3<3<3 ! Your voice is just so soothing and sweet . ....melted

btw... I like the poop emoji pillow on the back... can you send it to me??

Gosh! That was exquisite! You really put your wonderful Serena stamp on @meno's beautifully emotive song.
(I'm playing this again as I'm writing and my 7 year old daughter is singing along to it)
Such a pleasure to hear you sing, Serena!
🎼💚🌟

OMG this cover is so great and full of emotions.

I am so lucky to be part of Helpie and get to be around such talented people. I am not so talented unless you count engagement is a talent, i might be good there hahaha

But back to the song! I love this acoustic cover and the timbre and pitch of your voice is so exquisite!
When you reach those higher notes and their is the quiver in your voice that is just makes it more emotional.

You should put this in dlive!

God, this is so beautiful! Hats off to you Serena, and to Meno, the writer.

That was really quite the lovely performance! Your voice always brings the emotions out in a song!

Oh so beautiful Serena. ♡ I'm sad I cant hear Menos original through dsound, maybe he can send it to me...

Thank you so much, Amy!! I happen to have the soundcloud link now... https://soundcloud.com/meno/lie-to-me : )

This post has been selected for curation by @isaria and has been upvoted with the @msp-music account as well as the @msp-curation account, and will be featured in @isaria's weekly music curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!

I love your voice ;)

Ohhh Myyy God – the chills!

This is such a stunning song, and so absolutely gorgeous in your precious voice @paintingangels. I love your softness, and your delicious slide into that high note – swooooooooon.

Just so, so, so, so beautifully done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85