CoWomen - Impressions from a women's co-working space in Berlin

in #coworking5 years ago

IMG_9731.JPG

No men's toilets needed here

I booked myself into a new co-working space this month, since I really want to finish my new Ebook soon, and it's just so hard to get stuff done at home...

IMG_9732.jpg

The view right now. It's pouring...

To try out something new, I decided to test a women's co-working space this time.

Honestly, when I first saw that women only spaces exist, I thought, "Why?? Do we really need this kind of separation?" But I decided to test it, instead of judging it, and also location and price wise it was really attractive.

IMG_9725.jpg

The kitchen / community area

Now that I'm here, I have to say I really like it. This is the best co-working space I have been to in Berlin. The energy is different. Very social and supportive.

You can tell you're in a women's place not only when you visit the bathroom, where the urinals have been transformed into flower pots.

IMG_9728.JPG

You'll find some feminine products there (sponsored by neighbouring start-ups) and essential oils for better focus or clearing headaches.

You can also tell by looking in the fridge, where there's not a single "regular milk" carton, but only soy milk, almond milk, oat milk, etc. ;)

IMG_9727.jpg

You can tell which is my contribution

Courses that are offered here are geared towards women in business and female leadership, and the three co-founders have shared their menstrual cycles with their team and include them in their monthly planning. It's completely normal.

I have a feeling that some men might even feel a little uncomfortable here with all the feminine stuff being such an integral part. It's not that men are excluded per sé, but the focus of this space is simply on the support of women in business. Sometimes men visit the space as clients of resident coaches or participants in workshops, but all the members are women.

Screenshot 2019-08-07 at 14.31.54.png

I like it here!

We start every Monday morning with a motivational meeting and breakfast, during which we set and share our goals for the week. It has definitely helped me with my focus!

So, if you're ever in Berlin and need a space to work from (and you're female...) I highly recommend checking it out!

If you want to see some professional photos of the space, you can go to Unsplash, where the founders have made them available as free stock photos.


CoWomen Am Kroegel 2, Berlin, Germany

!steemitworldmap 52.5151633 lat 13.4080542,17 long CoWomen Berlin - Am Kroegel 2 D3SCR

Sort:  

Nice! This post inspired me to check out if we have something similar here in Rotterdam, and I found one here as well :D Maybe I'll check it out. Enjoy and curious to read in a month what you think about working with women only :-)

You can tell which is my contribution jup :D pretty obvious.

You got a 48.42% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @connecteconomy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16