Zakka embroidery - my new craft book to explore and inspire...

in #craft6 years ago

I was so happy last week when I received a craft book as a present - thank you, @pennsif !

The book is entitled Zakka Embroidery: Simple One- and Two-Color Embroidery Motifs and Small Crafts. You may have seen it before, but here’s the cover:

It is not a new book, but as a reference and inspirational book it's great to have around.

I’ve seen the word zakka many times before. According to this definition:
The term refers to everything and anything that improves your home, life and appearance.

As you can imagine it can be ‘anything’ and I’ve seen it applied to household goods, fashion (crochet, knitting and embroidery) amongst others. From what I’ve observed in the book, the designs are simple and, anyone could attempt the projects.

The book has a very northern European feel with a first section of beautiful photographs, for instance :

A second section takes you through the stitch techniques and materials you need to make the projects. The photos are very clear, but I guess that nowadays we all just do a search and come up with a video on how to make stitches that we don't know that well.

A third section has very clear line patterns that you can copy :

It clearly tells the reader which stitches to use (mainly chain stitch, backstitch for outlining and French knots). My phone photo may not be that good but as you can see the flower above can be traced and worked on quite clearly. As soon as I saw this design I was interested in its similarity to the Charles Rennie McIntosh designs.

I included the photo above from this website to illustrate my point. I have never seen an original McIntosh rose, but the design has been reinterpreted many times and the flower design in this zakka book certainly reminded me of it.

The book also has quite detailed project instructions on how to make baby booties, purses, hair ties and so on.

All in all it is a lovely book to have and I am very happy because its main message is ‘have a go’; just use a few stitches or just the outline.

As a keen crafter, I am constantly trying to encourage others, especially my daughters, to have a go. I’m really happy that @tinygalaxy has started on the embroidery journey.

A couple of months ago, @mivstar came up to me saying she wanted to embroider something for her friend - I was rather shocked and bemused and could hardly contain my enthusiasm...

We discussed ideas and designs and she came up with an idea for an embroidered hoop with a ‘meaningful’ phrase. It’s not that irreverent a phrase, but she’s not finished it yet so I’ll just reveal a bit:

Here’s just using running stitch and back stitching… She got into the swing of it quite quickly but has been really busy so it’s still waiting for the final touches.

I put another photo of her work at the top of this post so it can get picked up by the ‘feed’.

I am sure I will be using designs from this handy little book and hopefully I will be posting some of my projects here.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Some lovely ideas and designs, and easy to incorporate in so many ways. I've always had a passion for @tinygalaxy's artwork and I'm intrigued to see @mivstar's finished piece.
I've been thinking about that bag you crocheted from recycled t-shirt yarn - I want a sturdy bag that is strong enough for shopping but not quite as utilitarian as the supermarket flax bags (also a more stylish design than a supermarket logo). I think that is going to be my next project.
Look forward to your embroideries!

Thank you @shanibeer
I'm really curious to see what sort of bag you will be knitting (or crocheting ?)

Thanks for sharing the book review @cryptocariad.. now, you got me interested too 😍. I shall go look for the book. I've always thought that zakka means cute little things or is that kawaii? heheh. I like japanese crafts.. they are so neat and cute.

Zakka does seem to be a 'wide ranging term' @marblely, but from what I've seen the projects are quite cute anyway but more practical than the kawaii type of projects... I think we need to carry further research to really get that difference 😂

heheh yes we need to.. . Ooo i found the book in https://www.bookdepository.com/, I think i'm going to get it :)

Hola @crypocariad, tu publicación me motivó a bordar, en un tiempo bordé bastante, seguro estaré bordando algo en estos días. Es bonito ver el resultado de diferentes colores a medida se avanza en el bordado. Quedo atenta por ver tus proyectos de bordado.

Me alegra que te haya motivado @jicrochet y me encantaría ver qué proyectos vas a hacer también...

Hello @cryptocariad, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much for your interest and support @creativecrypto 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28