Shadow experiment : Taking part in steemit contests ...

in #creative6 years ago (edited)

I am feeling really happy at the moment because my entry was chosen as the winner in @kristyglas Random games - week 5 - quilling. I am thrilled because I don't usually win anything but enjoy participating.

Have a look at the new contest and give it a try Random Games Week 6!!! -Bookmarks. I totally recommend taking part, especially because you can make a bookmark using any materials or techniques. Have a go; write a post about it and like me, you never know !

To sort of conclude my 'quilling' series for now, I wanted to show a result of an experiment. I have always been interested in shadows. It was, therefore, not surprising to those around me that I saw the potential of a 'quilling piece' to cast a good shadow. I wrote about it here. I tried to take a photo at the time but it wasn't successful. Yesterday I got it at the right time in the evening; the top of the chest freezer became the background.

Below you can see the result of my experiment.

The second photo includes a small piece of transparent sweet wrapper behind it as I attempted to cast a ‘stained glass’ window effect. As usual I see possibilities and potential, and I am keen to continue to try other shapes and more sweet wrapper colours. Of course I will need to collect new wrappers for research purposes 😁

The photos below make up a collage of different positions and light settings trying to make the best of the shadow angle. I was looking for the best angle to try and catch a good definition of the curls.

As an aside, I haven’t used the photos below in any post because there’s no subject behind them - just having shadow fun at home. I took the photos this time last year with @tinygalaxy featuring her cat ears headband and the other shadow belongs to @mivstar just passing by ...



All photos by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

I really like the first photo. You get kudos for experimenting but I think the first is the best :) Congrats on your win!

Thank you @steven-patrick... It is my favourite too 😊

Congrats again @cryptocariad! Your shadow experiment is very interesting. Different angle does accentuates different parts of the quilled cheese (the cheese is so cute hehe :)

ha ha... it's a bit 'random' really @marblely. The shapes that can be achieved with the curls remind me of wrought iron 😁

It looks like you had lots of fun with these ideas (and winning, too, excellent) 😊. Does Quality Street still have the best wrappers? I used to love collecting them, especially the transparent ones. I like the last photographs, they are very atmospheric.

Thank you @shanibeer... It was great fun ! I'm actually not sure whether or not Quality Street has the best wrappers... that will have to be part of the research 😁

Congratulations on your win @crypocariad. It's exciting isn't it? 😊

Have you come across @melinda010100's shadow contest?

https://steemit.com/shadowphoto/@melinda010100/shadow-photo-contest-round-26-love-shadows-2b939db064995

I think shadows from you little quilled hearts would be perfect for it. 😁

Thank you very much for the suggestion @gillianpearce... I will have a look at the links.

I like the first phot of your post . Have you thought of making it a paint for your wall ?

No I hadn't actually @giosou... That's a brilliant idea 😁

You shouldn't encourage me @giosou 😂

and (though not your favourite...):

Both were done using this website
... so little time so many photos to play with 😂
-- I nearly forgot to include the source ! I found a mention here and thanks to @neumannsalva who resteemed it and then I searched till I found the site ... uff ...

Lol ! I still like it as a paint ..

You do things when opportunities come. I have experienced times in my life when I have many ideas coming, and I have a long dry period.
and I am sure you will succeed in this social media,
because a lot of your work is very good and extraordinary,You do things when opportunities come. I have experienced times in my life when I have many ideas coming, and I have a long dry period.
and I am sure you will succeed in this social media,
because a lot of your work is very good and extraordinary,
The contents of this post is very interesting.
I'm sure many people who want to enjoy your post,
always successful greetings
The contents of this post is very interesting.
I'm sure many people who want to enjoy your post,
always successful greetings

Okay friend
hopefully we can be good friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67