TreeTuesday - My landart experiment - Wooden balance with some stones

in #creative6 years ago (edited)

Our old walnut tree is unfortunately dying, there are more and more dried branches on it, that we had to cut. These branches are not waste, one of them (the biggest) became a column to hold the roof bellow the stairs to the house. That was made last October-November.
Tamás cut some newly dried branches that i began to process for future rattle-handles, drum-sticks, but i also made two candle holders as well. I cut them with saw, then removed the bark and polished them. The result: beautiful sticks with curves and forks (really "hard forks", hahaha) and a heavy pain in my arm muscles all the night. But i don't mind, i'll be stronger. You know i love playing like a child, so i put the sticks together with stones, balancing them well, but a big sneeze was enough to collapse them (My nose was full of dust because i polished them with glasspaper). So i built them again and took some photos.

P1110184.JPG

P1110186.JPG

P1110197.JPG

P1110200.JPG

P1110210.jpg

Candle holders from coconut shell, the small one has a stone in it:
P1110210-1.jpg

Detail of dead branch, with lichen:
P1110148.JPG

P1110150.JPG


#TreeTuesday by @old-guy-photos


Welcome to DaDa and collaborate with other artists!

You can also find me at SOLA: https://sola.ai/kalemandra

Mannabase is an online platform for the world’s first Universal Basic Income cryptocurrency. You are also welcome! https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=27df2bc782

My artworks and prints for sale: https://fineartamerica.com/profiles/zsuzsa-magulya.html

Áldás!♥♥♥Blessings!♥♥♥Namaste!♥♥♥Aloha!

Sort:  

So beautiful..it looks like a perfect rtistic work..thanks for this @kalemandra

This reminds me of the healing work of Marko Pogacnik, who makes art to heal the land.
I used to sand sticks and make (temporary) installations in the same way: it feels wonderful to do - but it's not great for the lungs!

I would love to see your stick-art! Do you have photos?

Nope, before I owned a camera, when I was young (mid twenties. Collected fallen twigs from all the tree species in my city, with ambitions to become a forester and save the planet. Then I sat in bad-chi patches with my twigs to create meditation circles -during my shamanic period,casting runes and praying for earth healing. Now I just sit on Steemit (for a tiny bit longer. I leave 31st May - maybe to polish more sticks! thanks for the inspiration.)

@kalemandra mam the clearest way into the Universe is through a forest wilderness.

check my post mam
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@khanshinwari/capture-the-nature-tuesday-color-challenge-day-13

Always sad when you lose a plant or tree... especially if it has been around for a long time. But I love how you completely re-purposed it @kalemandra - so in a sense it actually does live forever :)

El viejo nogal terminó un ciclo y se inició en otra utilidad... Y el viejo nogal se transformó en bellos utensilios . ♥♥♥

Sorry about the heavy pains in your muscle.
The rattle handles polished, drum sticks and candle holders came out so well, you deserve a pat at your back.

Wow great shots dearie @kalemandra

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77