Portrait of Sweeney Todd. My detailed creative process

in #creative6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!
Today I want to share with you the creation of a portrait of Sweeney Todd - a demon-hairdresser from Fleet Street.
Despite the fact that the hero committed murders, for me he is a victim of the atrocities of the wicked judge and his henchmen. Having survived the penal servitude and the loss of real family happiness, he becomes an eerie psychopath who wields justice with a swish of the razor.
Usually for creative process I listen to audiobooks, the plot and mood of which somehow respond in my works. This time I listened to the rock opera "TODD" of the russian band "The King and the Jester".
I drew with a graphic tablet in the editor "CLIP STUDIO"





Some stages of the creative process.
At first step I made a background for the portrait, I chose a gray color, making the center lighter and the edges darker.





Selecting the tool "oil painting" and adjusting the transparency, drew with thin pink lines the contours of the portrait.





Painted with pale pink color the face.



Started to detail. With gray color drew the main shaping shadows on the face. All the imposed strokes tried to make smooth, shading them.
With thin black lines emphasized the shape of the eyes and eyebrows, cast gray shadows forming on the nose and lips.





With black color I used a wide "oil" brush and drew the hair, then emphasized the hairstyle with thin, sharper lines. The sharpest places were shining.





Then I drew the clothes. First, with broad strokes, I covered the garment with the main colors (olive and terracotta), blacked out shadows. Then drew by thin strokes the details in the form of folds, stripes and bends.





Now the stage has come, which I call "catching fleas". I looked through the whole drawing, correcting small defects, refining the details, strengthening the contrast.





Finally, I enhanced the contrast of the picture, made the edges of the background darker. In some places I added light flashes on the face, eyes and hair. The portrait is ready.




Thank you for your attention! If you like my post – please, subscribe).

I apologize if you find mistakes in my text. Unfortunately, my English is not perfect.

Sort:  

Amazing Portrait of Sweeney Todd!!
Applauses for @kleonella 👏👏👏 🎨

🎉 Congratulations @kleonella! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

thank you very much!)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This is awesome!! Thank you for sharing your process as well :)

I curate for @asapers and would love to submit your post for our READ me ASAP publication, but you need to be a member first :) We focus on quality unnoticed posts; exactly like yours. Here is the invite link. I hope to see you there!

thank you!I have just joined)

wow! @lynncoyle invited you and you joined....well. very excited.

I also curate for @asapers, so very glad to have you come in.

And by the way, this is another also great work of art. Find time, and ping me in the asapers discord. i use the same names, Mirrors.

I just saw that @kleonella!! Way to go; I've submitted your post too!

Congratulations @kleonella, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 75

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

thank you very much)

Vey well done. I'm a huge fan of anyone that shows their process. I know it's hard because you get involved with creating, next thing you're half way through and no picture.

You're write up was fine and well done. I know some people can be critical of others when it come to English. I'm only critical of those that it is their primary language and don't know the difference between your and you're. I am becomming a huge fan of translate too. I feel I lose out on good content only being stuck with 1 language. Well more like 1 1/10th, I know some Spanish and usually piece together what an article is saying. That is about as far as it goes.

Awesome portrait. I'm not an artist, but I love to look at a good piece of work that I know the artist has put some sweat into. The actual process of painting the picture is fascinating to me. This is real good.

Oh so well done and so spot on with the character I knew who it was right away. This is probably the only movie of Depps that I’m not interested in but your artwork is beautiful and skillfully processed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85