The day I stopped giving choices.

in #creative6 years ago (edited)


Alpine Paints Logo_poster.jpg


Some old client work I did, heck I can't even remember after all the stupid requirements they had for the logo if they even paid or chose one, the mountain was a must then the paint roller...

Apart from that, it is a blur, so enjoy some shitty pictures which you can frankly take and use if you wish ... Assuming you are starting a painting business in the Alps.

Personally, I was happy that it is 100% vector which means I can scale them as big as a building and not lose quality. Stupid "photoshop" logos try that let's see what happens.


Final.jpg

I tagged this one final - I think this was the one that I ended up with even after all the other it was insisted to keep certain elements which in this version is gone.



Alpine Paints Logo_proofs_2.jpg

The start of my pain and suffering usually begins with an "Oh wouldn't it be cool." Which also coincidentally is me saying it.


The rest have muted colours since they are all in CMYK mode and I have not shifted to SRGB but in essence is a timeline of what seems to be logo 1 - 6 and some random colour one which must have been a fuckit version.

Alpine Paints Logo_1.jpg
Alpine Paints Logo_2.jpg
Alpine Paints Logo_3.jpg
Alpine Paints Logo_4.jpg
Alpine Paints Logo_5.jpg
Alpine Paints Logo_6.jpg
Alpine Paints Logo_7.jpg


Pretty colours, you bloody icecream cone child.

If you want the CorelDraw file I will upload it other than that you can use the images for whatever and wherever - License cc0 thingy

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Which also coincidently is me saying it.
It should be coincidentally instead of coincidently.

Lies I tell you lies, who told you this? I will F*ck them up.

I like the second one more

I used to use CorelDRAW but mostly for the fun part. Nothing too serious

And yes, specifications can make you go mad. You make an awesome design and then realise you missed something. So you try to fix it and then mess up the whole design. You wanna try again but you've lost the drive. So you settle for something shitty at the end...

That didn't happen everytime though....

Not always, not really but I find it hard to look back at designs and not find something shitty about them which in turn helps a person want to do better or just avoid silly mistakes. Some of the best work also happens when you have no time left haha after procrastinating far too long, other times something that was supposedly a quick job turns into a nightmare.

A nice little roller coaster, wheeeeee.

One's man's shitty is another man's awesome

Say, what's with the likejesusbutbetter tag?

Oh in design there is a bit of a standard I would hope where something can be shitty for everyone.

It is just my own tag I use. You like? Haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

I like it

Seriously do

Ooooo, you sound angry...

Interesting that you still use corel, here i thought it was outdated!! And vectors for the win!! Though i do like the ice cream cone bit since they are a paint store.

I can also see they were done a while back as tgey not very adaptable cross platform wise. But that's justbthe pedantic digital marketer talking. Meh...

Posted using Partiko Android

I think even with more recent work and just the fact that my intent is almost always print - flyers and billboards that I don't consider online as much, I would rather adapt the logo after the fact make it inline or simplified for different use cases, and if it is a website I would work around the logo to a certain point - mainly this is only the header anyhow, make social banners - the rules are the same as with printing, cross-platform I can either simplify, even the above one I would then start looking at how the individual components work and have the emblem and text mark versions tweaked for use cases.

It is true I don't keep online in mind as much and haha it was not a thought above at all, but I have not had real issues with doing it that way , lol and I love to watch the marketers suffer from shitty artwork :)


2018-07-06_02-01-30.jpg
Above: More recent but no online fucks given




Above: I was 100% coerced into doing this I think it is one of my biggest shames but in the process of getting rid of these people, maybe you want them? 10months left :(

Lol so u take it you a designer by trade?? What else do you do!!??

I can take on this client but im just a maketer, an SEO to be specific focusing on UX and content marketing as well!! Hence my comment from earlier as o want people to actually stay on the website and buy stuff!! Spend your money sheeples so we can make target!!

I can take on your client but my creative output is limited to stick men and copy and pasting. I must admit i made a whole icon set in PowerPoint before and it actually didn't look too bad considering!! I will try and find a copy when i get to my machine later if you interested!! My terrible clients are probably waiting for me to get back as well. But hey!! They give me money so i can buy useless shit and ice cream i suppose!!

Also would you be interested in guess blogging about design for my company blog by any chance?

Posted using Partiko Android

blegh designer by trade, I just make silly things and sometimes people pay me for it which beats working outside :)

Your field would drive me insane since I would have to deal with the people , I prefer take it and go. SEO, marketing etc is a tedious affair. The site I am speaking of does not really need that she has people across SA doing things then they go vote for the stupid kids and she makes about 200grand profit just from people voting on trash , it is basically a woocommerce site being used as a voting system which I hoped she would take and go but she can't even log in to change a picture no matter how much I beg her to haha. Also refuses to move away from VOX which is pathetic too say the least. but anyhow.

Icon set in powerpoint is impressive you are now an honorary designer of the highest why the fuck would you do that order. :)

mmm, I can't imagine what I would blog about design , unless the post is called shit or not so shit and we are reviewing my own work.

I dabble , that is my skillset, I get bored then I move on and return after a vacation. Haha I started to learn design so that I don't have to do print finishing that is soooooooo boring but then I played with SEO and went back to cutting paper instead :)

..... edit because I remembered you say they give you money, I guess I have started to realise I need to get paid properly for some things I do for them but I would still rather do most of it for people I can tolerate vs idiots who think I owe them something, that is why I eat noodles and not ice cream. ice cream is expensive haha :)

Make silly things and get paid for it!! You are legit living the dream!!

Sometimes I do feel like working outside would be much more easier and stress-free than SEO!! I could plough the fields and sell potatoes and not deal with people who can't internet but really want to and then also like to argue with you as to how the best way to the internet is! Maybe these people should rather just stick to planting potatoes!!

It sounds like this client has it going on and you got yourself an A grade special customer!! I have my fair share of those!! I love helping you make money, but I also like how you don't know what an H1 tag or even know how to login to your site, but can worry about a typo that 2 potential people will see!

LOl i really don't get these people, it's not that hards to learn, I'm basically self-taught! Changing a picture is not that hard!
I guess its why we will always have jobs!

hahaha - no sweat reblogging. But we get quite a bot of traffic to our site might give you some exposure! The link is in my bio if you ever interested and change your mind!

And 100% agree re tolerance!! its why I went off freelancing as opposed to working for a dumbass and have to deal with there crap all day. Now we can choose who to tolerate. And i can work in my Pjs and call you a poephol if i like!! sometimes you gotta splurge on the ice cream, even its the cheap kind!

P.S.: Behold my icon set, lol:icons.png

hahahha also i have seen worse than this!! Its more a matter of pride and clients questionalble taste!!

Congratulations @penderis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm surprised they didn't ask for a guy skiing over paint roller while eating ice-cream.

Hahahaha, what bitterness. Why create a logo if you don't like doing it? I didn't know you do graphic design. 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87