Fuga Prima - Simon Lohet | Organ music

in #creativecoin5 years ago (edited)

This is a recording of Simon Lohet's Fuga Prima on the St. Matthew's, Albury, organ (Australia). I recorded this earlier during the week. My organ friend, @partitura, published this piece just over a week ago and he wrote a post about it. I'm sure he'll be happy and surprised to see that I am sharing my interpretation of this work.

I have encountered many fugues in my musical career—most of them by the almighty Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). It's interesting to note that Simon Lohet was a Flemish composer and that he was living between 1550-1611. Fugues have been around since before JS Bach!

You might be wondering what on earth a fugue is? Well it's a composition that contains one or more themes that are repeated, in succession, by different voices (or parts). The voices are developed by the composer, creatively weaving them together—each part has its own independent line.

I hope you enjoy listening to this renaissance Fugue.


You can support me using Steem Basic Income

Classical_Music_smaller.png

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto
Community Logo by ivan.atman

Sort:  

Very nice performance, very different from my own. That is of course the beauty of music: one composition and a gazillion different ways to play it. I guess this fugue of Lohet is one of the very few compositions to have two performances on the Steem block chain!

Perhaps even surpassing Bach for the number of performances of his works on this blockchain 🤣 Thanks for the compliment.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds very much like Sweelinck. In fact, this type of musical language was transmitted from Italian theorists, such as Zarlino and many composers utilized it back in the day. Thanks for sharing!

That’s interesting. I forgot about Sweelinck!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post earned a total payout of 0.265$ and 0.199$ worth of author reward which was liquified using @likwid. To learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68