A new camera, a new village, and a new introduction on a beautiful and sublime Sunday !

in #creativecoin5 years ago

As I told you a couple of days ago I got a new camera and after the First touch! I thought to take a walk around my new village for some further testing. Anywise I have moved here since June and I still haven't written a post to show you around! So that's the perfect occasion!

IMG_0103.jpg

IMG_0143.jpg

The name of the village is Myrsini and you can find it on the northeast side of the island of Crete, between the towns of Agios Nikolaos and Sitia, in Greece. It is a very small village with around 120 people living here during the winter and about double in the summer but it has everything we need :)

IMG_0055.jpg

IMG_0060.jpg

First of all it has a spring with fresh water coming out of the mountain right in the middle of the village. And maybe this was obvious 100 years ago since all the villages back then were built around a spring but today with Crete going through a drought period it is a rare luxury!

IMG_0063.jpg

IMG_0061.jpg

IMG_0122.jpg

The population is much less than it used to be so there are a lot of abandoned houses but in my eyes it just adds charm to the scenery while the unused space is filled with flowers that make the village even more beautiful.

IMG_0071.jpg

IMG_0080.jpg

IMG_0065.jpg

One grocery shop, one coffee shop and one tavern cover our basic needs and a very active cultural club makes sure we won't be missing the concerts, the theatricals or the entertaining gatherings all year long. I have already shared with you some festive moments of our life here, in my post Time for fiesta!

IMG_0074.jpg

IMG_0087.jpg

IMG_0082.jpg

During the summer some low volume tourism activity gives a more lively sparkle and opportunities for some extra income like the Off grid vacation home that I told you about a few weeks ago.

IMG_0186.jpg

IMG_0146.jpg

IMG_0075.jpg

It would have been a huge negligence not to mention the amazing view and the rural location that offers proximity to our farm land, the vegetable garden and our chicken coop. You can take a look to our newborn chicks to my Happy new month! post. But most of all this village means to me a lot of good friends and a hospitable surrounding that I am honored to call home.

IMG_0135.jpg

IMG_0117.jpg

IMG_0133.jpg

IMG_0089.jpg

IMG_0139.jpg

For closure I have a few shots of the lords of the streets, the unchallenged rulers of every part of the village, the cats of Myrsini!

IMG_0160.jpg

IMG_0176.jpg

IMG_0156.jpg

And now I have to entitle and tag a post that started as a simple photo gallery for the #SublimeSunday by @c0ff33a and the #beautifulsunday by @ace108, then it turned into a #travelfeed post and in the end I realized that I wrote a new introduction post which is pretty cool too, especially since I have a brand new account in #creativecoin!

All the pictures were taken with my new Canon EOS 6D Mark II with a Canon EF 50mm f1.8 STM lens attached and all the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my original introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and resteeming are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

It looks like a lovely place to live!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @violetmed for stopping by!
It really is :)

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.24$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!


Welcome to Steem @fotostef.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

You can earn Steem rewards for reading and sharing your insights using our Highlights Extension

All the Best!!!

Wowww - congratz with your new camera and such amazing shots!!! This looks like a lovely place to live and spend time in :-) That's a really nice lens you have there too - neat bokeh as seen on the cat pictures most <3

How fun it is to go explore with a new camera isn't it? :D Like you're learning to become a photographer all over again.

Thank you @soyrosa!
I have some really nice time with the new camera and I am in love with this tiny lens :)

Like you're learning to become a photographer all over again.

Actually I do! I am in a new milestone of my life that may lead to become a full time photographer again. We'll see...

Good for you! I hope that works out for you :D

Loved the tour and look at that detail. It is beautiful!

Thank you, I am glad you like it!

really beautiful shots ... love how you framed a lot of them
curated for creativecoin ... !SHADE 2


Learn more about SHADE here

Join the fun promoting your post at Pimp Your Post Thursday. Win SHADE or SBI, make friends. Every Thursday in The Ramble



Hi fotostef the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Love the cats.

Thanks for stopping by!

Awesome photos capturing the beauty of Greece.

Thank you @drakos for your support!
I really appreciate it :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85