The manchineel tree- Short story - Part 5

in #creativecoin5 years ago

 This story is published in our steemfiction series.  The book is still available on kindle. 

“There you are….” 

She said and smiled at herself. She felt awfully happy when she climbed into the shower and hummed her favorite song while the water ran down her spine.  She dried her hair and carefully put on her make-up. She dressed suitable for the occasion and after checking herself in the mirror for the last time, she casually walked downstairs. 

Frank was still sitting there on the couch. He looked awfully pale and it must have been an awful terrible death. She didn’t feel an inch of remorse. She removed the glass of whisky still clenched in his hand, then she took his cold stiff hand into hers and spoke to him as if he could hear every word, she had to say…...  

“I’m sorry that it had to end this way Frank. After what you’ve done to me in the last few years, you really deserved to die a slow and painful death. I’m sorry I wasn’t here to watch, but I was in so much pain because of my broken rib that I couldn’t bear to sit here and watch. 

It must have been terrible when the burning, tearing sensation started and the tightness in your throat prevented you from screaming.  

You must have been in excruciating pain. How did it feel to be in so much pain? Now you know exactly how I felt when you tried to strangle me a few months ago. Luckily you passed out, otherwise I would not have been around to return the favor. 

You know Frank, we could have achieved so much together, but instead you chose to walk the path alone. You threw me away as if I was a dirty cloth. 

I’ll never forgive you for not supporting me during the time my parents died. I was in so much pain and you chose work over me as always. I already knew then that we were never going to work out, but I had to wait five years…. five long years for my magic tree to bear fruit.  

Yesterday when I saw the fruit, I had hope again, and I knew it was finally the end. I was so extremely happy, but this type of happiness can’t be shared with anyone.  You took away so much happiness from me during our marriage.  I doubt if you even cared when I had my miscarriages. You were so dead set against having kids…. 

I was so sad and broken during that time, but you didn’t care at all. You looked relieved and just ignored me as if it was nothing. In the meantime my heart was broken into a million pieces. During that time I often wished that you would just kill me, but I always kept praying. I always had a little bit of hope and I knew eventually the tree will bear fruit. I spent hours pampering that tree and it was my only hope….

Sylvia smiled while rubbing over her belly.  By the way, congratulations, you’re going to be a father! I am pregnant again! Do you remember when you forced yourself on me about ten weeks ago? You didn’t want to give me time to put in the diaphragm…. well, you should have. It’s a pity you won’t meet the baby, but I’m very glad she will never meet you. You would have been an awful father. 

I thought you were going to kill me in our last fight, but luckily you passed out and my baby is still safe.   

You know Frank…I tried my best to be the best wife I could be, but nothing was ever good enough for you. 

Sylvia stood up and kissed Frank on his forehead. He was cold and she shivered. She could feel the emotion stir on the inside, and she didn’t know if she was happy or sad. A long time ago, she did love him….in the beginning he was good to her, but now she was not even going to miss him.  

She picked up her phone and dialed 911. She went to unlock the door and sat next to Frank on the couch, holding his hand when the paramedics arrived.  She could have won an academy award for her performance. They wanted to give her a shot to calm her down, but she told them that she was pregnant.   

When the coroner came to remove the body she cried so much, and she couldn’t believe that he was finally gone. She had her life back.  

She phoned Frank’s office and asked to speak to Mr. Jones the CEO.  She gave him the news and he sounded devastated.  She received a big bunch of flowers a few hours later and there was a card with condolences. Mr. Jones came by a few hours later, and he was absolutely gob smacked. 

She cried when she saw him, and he comforted her and sympathized with her. She let Frank have his last moments of glory when Mr. Jones told her what a dedicated worker and wonderful person Frank was. 

She offered him a cup of coffee while he explained all the benefits from the company side and told her that he would make sure that she was looked after.   

She was overwhelmed with the large amount he spoke about.  It was nearly triple the amount her parents left her.  She would literally never have to work a day in her life. She had a copy of Frank’s will and fetched it for Mr. Jones. He read it over and smiled.  He assured her that all was in order, just like he knew Frank, and that he personally would make sure that the paperwork and finances are in order.    

Sylvia felt relieved after he left and went to rest for a while. She was totally exhausted, and it felt like a lifetime of stress were lifted off her shoulders when the coroner phoned a while later.  They were ruling out any kind of foul play. It was clear as daylight. Frank Stevens died of a heart attack, at the young age of thirty-five. 

She made immediate arrangements for his cremation and arranged for a short service at the funeral home. She just wanted to get everything done and dusted so she could only focus on herself and the baby. 

People from all over town contacted her and she was overwhelmed with phone calls, food and flowers for the next week. 

She wore an old black dress Frank bought her a few years ago and she looked like a properly grieving widow.  

More than a hundred people attended the service and some of Frank’s women co-workers cried so much she had to hold back not to burst out laughing. If they only knew what type of man Frank was, they would be dancing on his grave. 

Sylvia was relieved when all the speeches were finished, and she could finally go home. She was just about to get into the limo when the undertaker came running out with the urn with Frank’s ashes.  She apologized and told him that she was just overwhelmed. 


To be continued


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 13.72% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @giantbear!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.304 which ranks you at #786 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 105 contributions, your post is ranked at #8.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86