Self-care—sometimes the best company is with oneself | digital illustration

in #creativecoin5 years ago (edited)

metime.jpg
Sometimes the best company is with oneself. I'm coming down with a cold tonight and feeling really miserable, and this illustration encapsulates my mood succinctly. After my three daughters (6, 3 and 4mo) went to sleep, I made myself a cup of ginger tea and watched some of the Lark Rise to Candleford series—an adaptation of Flora Thompson's autobiographical novel, set in 19 century Oxfordshire. My cat, Boris, warmed my lap and my husband @contrabourdon was happily steeming on (lol) next to me on the couch. Half an hour later, 4mo was up again for her last feed for the night ... until midnight ... and then 4am ... (bloody 4mo sleep regression!) ... but wanted to post this before I turn in for the night myself. Hopefully I feel better tomorrow because Mama's don't get no rest when there's kiddies to attend to and a business to run (I run my own freelance graphic design biz).

Goodnight Steemians!

Sort:  

I'm trying to picture the two of you sitting together. It's a heart-warming view, I think... Get well soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Haha indeed, couples who steem together stay together, right? 😆😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wish it would be that simple, haha!

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Congratulations @leysa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Your drawing is excellent and the sentiment well expressed. Hopefully, you get a enough rest to fight back the cold! My older daughter just had her first baby about two months ago! She's had many similar choppy nights without much sleep... She'll have to find ways to chill when she can, as it appears you've been able to do! Thanks for sharing!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Indeed it’s a very rough time having a newborn! This is my third so at least this time around I know that it does get better and easier with time even if it doesn’t feel like it in the current moment ☺️ I hope she has opportunities for self care. Sleep deprivation is really tough.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29