This will be the last image I ever post on Steem......

.... that is taken with my Canon 60D.

:D

I've just gone and done it and ordered the new Canon 90D. The 60D was, to be honest, getting on a bit. When your previously top-notch camera starts to go for £50 on eBay and the number of megapixels in the newest model is double what you have currently, you have to consider that technology as moved on and it's time for an upgrade. The 60D has served me very well over the last 10 years - pretty much every one of the images I have posted on Steem has been from that camera and this is probably the last one that I'll post.

IMG_9835.jpg

So what am I looking forward to as a primarily macro and wildlife photographer

  • More megapixels: I don't really print many of my images so im not to fussed about larger prints, but one thing that will be awesome as a macro photographer will be the ability to crop images further and effectively get closer than I already do. 34 MP is a major step up from 18.
  • Faster focusing: For moving animals this is going to be an interesting upgrade. The 60D is pretty slow at focusing so hopefully I'll be able to track things better. Also, for my macro work I manual focus but it will be interesting to see how well the camera handles focusing on such a small scale.
  • Better low light performance: The 60D only goes up to 12800 iso with a boost but anything over 800 is pretty noisy and not much use. From what I have read about the 90D, the images with higher ISO are pretty good and can be forced up to 51200. It will be interesting to see the results on macros if i take them with no flash and a smaller aperture and a higher ISO.
  • Continuous drive speed... Pretty obvious really. Taking 11 frames per second instead of 5 is a major improvement for anyone shooting moving subjects.

The one thing that I will miss (but hopefully not for long) is the ability to use Magic Lantern as a hacked firmware upgrade - check it out if you have a Canon DSLR. I use it primarily for the focus shooting ability (so it automatically fires the shutter when something comes into focus). Kinda hoping that the improved focusing of the 90D will mean that I wont need this for my macros but we will see.

Looking forward to posting some 90D images soon

Thanks for reading

Mark

Sort:  

Canon does a lot right but also a lot wrong. The upgrade from the 60D to the 90D is definitely a big leap forward. I still work with a 60D today, but don't use it that often anymore because I also own a Lumix G9. In Marco photography the Lumix is clearly the better choice. When it comes to innovative technology, Canon has slept so far. I don't know a better manufacturer when it comes to quality and reliability. I like to use the 60D with my 200mm Tele for plant photography. Since I mostly focus manually, the autofocus doesn't matter. If I didn't have so many fantastic Canon lenses, I would replace my 5D Mark IV and my 60D. So far I couldn't bring myself to sell my equipment. The next months will show where my way leads me.

I wish you a lot of fun with your new camera.

Posted using Partiko Android

If im honest, I seriously considered the Sony A7 Mk3. As the price is dropping with the release of the Mk4 it did look like a good option but I kept reading things about slight compatibility issues with the canon lenses and certain adapters and like you, can't bring myself to sell all my gear. I've got some pretty nice glass that I wouldn't want to get rid of and have to pay extra to replace with stuff that is likely not as good. You cant argue that canon makes some of the best glass out there, thats for sure.

Your title was catchy for sure. That is great about the new camera!

Haha, glad I tricked you into reading with that title!!. Looking forward to it. It's actually the first brand new digital SLR that I will have owned. I've always previously purchased second hand.

Even more exciting. All those benefits you listed are so great. It will be fun to see your posts.

The title of the post was a bit scaring ... I'm really thankful for that first line I read street opening it :D

Cheers for the new camera !!

:D I had fun thinking about peoples responses to that.

I have been wanting to move up the scale a bit with macro photography.

For a budget of around £1K would sort of camera / lens would you point me toward?

Lens..
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sigma-105mm-Macro-Canon-Cameras/dp/B0058NYVXG - £330 new. Or go second hand.. Theres a Canon equivalent which is ever so slightly better but double the price.

Camera
Second hand camera body such as the Canon 60D or 70D- £100- £200. You could probably get one of the more amateur bodies for around a few hundred new but not sure how good they are going to be. I'd always rather spend money on glass than a body though (he says after just buying a new body).

That is what all of my macros up until now are taken with but i do have the following two additions. These allow you to shoot at lower apertures and get a larger depth of field - the flashgun provides a brighter light source and the diffuser helps to make it softer.

Flashgun
Maybe a second hand canon 580 EX II speedlight flashgun or something like a Yongnuo speedlite (which are pretty good, i have a couple)

Diffuser
And then something like https://www.manfrotto.com/uk-en/ezybox-micro-ll-ls2211/?gclid=Cj0KCQjwuNbsBRC-ARIsAAzITue12cZ3AqlRvnuEGHj_xd9qYaueO1Z2sWMD7bOQB2p9BPj3TWsj8UUaAsbjEALw_wcB

You could optionally buy some extension tubes as well. They move the lens further away from the sensor and give even more magnification at the expense of the amount of light hitting the sensor.

Ping me on discord if you want to chat more about it

Thank you for all the info Mark - most useful.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Good grief they are going for £50 on ebay? I don't even know what model mine is ...just take a look ....An EOS Kiss Digital N.

Thats the japanese 350d i think... about £15 on ebay :o

Yeah i used to live in japan. £15? Woohoo I'm rich - beach house here I come :P

You almost got me... Looking forward to seeing the photographs taken with the 90D.

Tomorrow? Same time, same place?

Maybe, maybe not... The weather here is turning although I do have details of the location of some roe deer in a local woodland that im thinking about visiting this weekend. Will have to see how the weather is.

Nice! Just do it. Don't you deer?

feel free to donate your poor neglected canon 60 to me. i'd hate to see it collect dust..

I've told the missus that she can have it. I do now have a completely redundant backup backup camera - a Canon 20D. It would probably go in the bin to be honest as it wouldn't be worth the postage to send it. Works fine other than the power button is always-on (but the camera turns itself off after a while anyway).

Its yours if you want it

Collection only ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74