A few thoughts on reconceiving my SoundCloud page

in #creativecoin5 years ago (edited)

I've been asked about this issue several times during the last month or so, so I would like to address it briefly:

Recently, I decided to reconceive entirely my SoundCloud page. I say "recently," but the changes go as far back as April, at least. I began to realize that I was posting too much material indiscriminately, and this was making it difficult for other professional composers and performers to assess what it is I do and who I am as a composer and performer. I wanted my SC page to be a sort of musical/audio resume of my most representative work. Simply by virtue of its previous lack of focus and stylistic consistency, it could hardly be said that my SoundCloud page accurately reflected my work.

This reconceiving of my SC page resulted in my removing many tracks I had previously posted, some of which were quite popular. Many of the tracks I removed were student works, and some were "doodles" I composed or recorded when I had a few free minutes to do so. Until the last few weeks, the page had some 40+ tracks. Now, it has 17 or so tracks, in addition the playlists I've created. Consequently, my SC page is now more "streamlined" and more accurately reflects what it is I actually do as a composer and performer. It is not a perfect reflection, but it is certainly a more accurate one. Nonetheless, I did keep one or two of the more popular works posted; works which otherwise would have been removed. I left these tracks up largely for sentimental reasons (i.e. they were composed for friends, etc., or they were particular favorites of my family and friends).

Around March (2019) or so, I began posting recordings of my performing clavichord and harpsichord works. I received some negative feedback about these newer posts from members of my original audience, some of whom stopped listening to my music or who unfollowed my page entirely. Consequently, my newer posts receive few listens. However, such a response to the more recently posted material is almost inevitable. The posts of many of my fellow professional/academic composer/performer friends and colleagues receive relatively few listens, too. This is due, in part, at least, to the nature of our work. Concert music, liturgical music, etc., will naturally appeal to a select rather than general audience.

So, if you previously "liked" some of my SC posts and now see that the tracks you liked have been removed, please do not be puzzled or offended by my having removed those tracks. I hope you will continue listening to the music I've posted and that you will check out the recently posted works.

As always, as I appreciate your listening to the music, your support, and your encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23