Mohrheim and a car horn

in #creativecoin5 years ago


This is my entry for the secrets of organ playing contest, week 28. Fourteen weeks ago I started participating in @organduo's contest. At first playing with a camera recording my every movement was very intimidating. In the course of these past 14 weeks that has become gradually less and less. I'm still prone to make mistakes easier when the camera is recording but it is far less stressful then it was in the first weeks of my participitation in this contest.

I think the prove of that is in this video. It is a live recording and therefore anything can happen, including... the phone ringing. Somewhere half way the piece my phone starts ringing. I have a ringtone that sounds like an old car horn. Hearing that sound combined with the sound of an organ is quite weird. My first impulse was to stop playing and recording, but decided to try and keep playing and finish the piece.

I did make it to the end of the piece, though you can hear my concentration slipping. I left the recording as it is, complete with the sound of my phone ringing. For me it is a testimony of how much I have learned, just by pushing myself to create a recording every week.

Last week I played a composition of my own: a chorale prelude to "Jesu der du meine Seele". I published this composition 4 years ago, after having published a chorale prelude, composed by Friedrich Christian Samuel Mohrheim, based on the same choral melody. So I thought it nice to reverse the order this time, and play Mohrheim's compostition for this week's contest.

Friedrich Christian Samuel Mohrheim (1719 – 1780) was a German musician. He attended the Thomasschule in Leipzig from 1733 to 1736, and, like other J.S. Bach’s pupils, acted as copyist for him during this period. His handwriting is recognizable in copies of for example the Mattheus Passion. In 1764 he became Kapellmeister in the Marienbasilika in Danzig where he remained till his death.

Mohrheim wrote several works for organ, including 7 Trio’s for organ. They appear in manuscript Mus. Ms. 30190, owned by the Staatbibliothek Berlin. Though these seven composition are all called Trio in the manuscript, only the first four are trios in the actual sense: both hands and the feet play each a single independent line. The other three are actualle chorale preludes. In these the accompaniment (one hand, both feet) is already three part, the choral mely adds a fourth part to these. So they are actually quatros, though I don't think that is a genuine musicological term.

The 'quattro' I play here has the choral melody in the right hand. The accompaniment has losts of syncopations, which are a bit triocky to play and articulate well. It is not only a great piece to play, it is a good practise as well...

The sound recording was done with the software Hauptwerk and the sampleset, made by Voxus, of the Matthijs van Deventer-orgel in the Grote Kerk, Nijkerk.

If you want to play this piece yourself, all 7 trios by Mohrheim are available on my website: http://partitura.org/index.php/friedrich-christian-samuel-mohrheim-trios-fur-die-orgel/


You can support me using Steem Basic Income


Sort:  

Way to go on the concentration! What a great initiative for music on STEEM. It's really nice to see people growing and learning here. It is not easy to film yourself under any circumstance, but if you do not start with it, you can never improve. I am really glad you left it the way it is as inspiration to the rest of us.

I'm glad to hear it can be an inspiration to others. For me it is also a motivation to keep on recording and improving myself.

Hi partitura,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks for the upvote and the positive attention.

Haha, I was really confeased what to reply first. So let me begin with an appreciation to you first, from what you mentioned it is quite understandable the pain and the effort you took to create something out of ordinary. As you said it is really difficult to record in a phone, especially a music creation. But was it not possible to do some settings arrangements in order for banning the incoming calls while the recording was going on.

And there is a saying like Blessing indisguise, since you were really resolved to not getting affected by any external disturbances, your music got some special tone in the form of bells. Actually I really felt like funny as I read it, but at the end there was only appreciation.

Thank you, Cheers... Have a good day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I should have silenced the phone before I started recording. But as things go, I forgot...
I'm actually a bit proud that I managed to turn something unexpected into an advantage.

That car horn was so funny!!! Haha! Alto clef scares me! Do you read it?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, I read the alto clef. And the soprano and bariton clef as well. Before 1800 it was quite common to use those clefs. And since I work a lot from old manuscripts I had to learn to read them. It's actually not so hard once you get the hang of it.
And visually they have the great advantage that there is hardly any need for ledger lines. And a score without ledger lines is better looking and easier to read. Well, to me anyway...

Thank you partitura! You've just received an upvote of 42% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

hey dear @partitura,
it's nice to read what you've written, with your emotions and the passion you put into it to overcome your fears and shyness !! actually concentrating is not easy at all! I did some little travel videos (I usually do videos of animals or nature around) where I had to talk and it was terrible because I felt like laughing or I didn't know how to say things and I couldn't get out of the error !! but yes, the practice makes us better !! by the way beautiful music, congratulations .-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88