07.08.19 : DecoArt Metallics

20190809_095958.jpg

Have I shown you guys my bottles?

20190808_124115.jpg

They came in about 2 weeks ago. I figured I'd see how I went with 30 bottles and when I filled up 25 bottles quick smart I decided to buy 50 more, which eventually came yesterday and will be in another blog sometime next week.

Why the bottles?

Acrylic pouring or fluid painting requires paint dilution for the paint to move across the canvas. If you've ever used acrylic paint before you would have noticed it's quite thick and not really suitable for fluid painting thus the addition of some form of pouring medium.

A few days ago I finally decided to use my last 5 bottles to pre mix my favourite acrylics from DecoArt ~ the metallics range and here's how they turned out.

👇 The usual splash of paint on the canvas, this time on vinyl.

20190807_165108.jpg

👇 After the hair dryer covered the splash with white paint as per dutch pours.

20190807_165154.jpg

👇 More hair dryer action for the final stage of the dutch pour.

20190807_165903.jpg

This piece needed touches of white added to it to give me more negative space. There's still a patch of paint that I don't like so much but over all I think she turned out ok.

👇 More pours from the same day, all metallics.

20190809_102453.jpg

20190809_102525.jpg

Gotta say DecoArt, thus far, has the best metallic pigments I've ever tried. I also have a metallic acrylic set from Mont Marte but so far I don't think they pop out the way DecoArt's does.

I'm also using a new pouring medium mix with pva, water and floetrol ~ not only to stretch and save on floetrol but to also achieve the nice glossy finish that's achieved by adding pva glue.

So far it's a bit touch and go in terms of cell~age and I think I may need to refine my mix ratios, but at least I'm still getting cells without having to use silicone 🥳

Good news is Spotlight (aussie version of Michaels) has these paints on special this week which means I can restock on my faves. For 6 bucks plus for a small bottle, you'd want to buy these while on special.

Sort:  

These are gorgeous, there is something so satisfying in seeing the results of pouring techniques! This post has been selected for my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

To see more amazing posts chosen by our curation team please follow @msp-curation!

So did you clean out Spotlight of its stock? XD

Wow ! I love this technique,is pure magic!...mmm 🤔 i think I got some bottles somewhere :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I am surprised to see his art @venusascending, the result is amazing and magical, I love it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73