"Tron" | @sndbox and @creativecrypto Contest Entry

in #creativecrypto6 years ago

Since doing Cardano a while back, I've been wanting to do another crypto-inspired piece. Then I saw the @sndbox contest for Tron in my feed and thought, Aha, perfect opportunity =)
 
Tron is a coin I'll always remember as having taught me a valuable lesson: Never, ever buy something because of the classic fear-of-missing-out. I watched in fascination as it grew from 300 sats to hit an all time high of 2047 sats in only 5 days. I thought I would be clever and wait for it to drop before buying in. I marked 1200sats as a reasonable entry point and placed a buy order there, and of course, it never reached that point again... lol.
 
I ended up selling at the end of March for a 50% loss. Luckily it was only part of my over-all investment. Lesson learned. Thanks Tron.

Tron

6000px x 6000px
~~



"TRON is an ambitious project dedicated to building the infrastructure for a truly decentralized Internet. The Tron Protocol, one of the largest blockchain based operating systems in the world, offers scalable, high-availability and high-throughput support that underlies all the decentralized applications in the TRON ecosystem. TRON enables large-scale development and engagement. With over ten thousand transactions per second, high concurrency, low latency and massive data transmission, TRON is ideal for building decentralized entertainment applications. Free features and incentive systems allow developers to create premium app experiences for users. TRON Protocol and the TVM allow anyone to develop DAPPs for themselves or their communities, with smart contracts making decentralized crowdfunding and token issuance easier than ever. Tron DAPP projects already include Peiwo, Obike, Uplive, game.com, Kitty live and Mico, with 100M+ active users from more than 100 countries and regions around the world."

-- from the Binance information page on Tron.



The creation process:

 
The first artist I thought of when I looked at the Tron symbol was M. C. Escher. He is one of my favourite artists:


Source

But after some experimentation, I decided that simple tessellation of the Tron symbol just wasn't going to cut it... And I couldn't find a way of mixing in a bit of my own style too. So I decided to dig a bit, go through artists famous and not so famous, until I found Kazimir_Malevich, a cubist artist:


Source


Source

This style was more like it... I loaded up a high res. image of the tron symbol and modified it a bit in photoshop to create this image:

I then loaded it into Mandelbulb 3D using the HeightMapLimIFS formula:

Using the very simple TilingIFS formula, I was able to multiply and manuever the tron tiles... I played around for a bit...:

But I didn't like the squariness and symmetry that I was getting... So then I tweaked one of the 'rotation' parameters, and..:

Aha! Potential! ... I tweaked some more, until I was happy with the look of it. Then came the colouring, and last of all, the volumetric light to get the eery white light streaks in the background:

After finalising the colours, I just had to do some finishing touch ups in Photoshop =)

I hope you enjoyed seeing how it was all done. Thank you to @sndbox and @creativecrypto for hosting such a fun contest. It's always great getting out of my comfort zone ^^




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"How She Makes Me Feel" - Poems, 018 | "Erasmus" - Gallery: Fine Art | "Rainbow Furnace" | Zen Colouring Contest
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All Images, Creative Commons License.

Before using bidbots, consider that they are bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining the terrible bidbot situation is by Steemit witness @lukestokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04