Messy 0-skill-level wire shawl brooch/pin or hair thing tutorial with abalone shell beads (amateurish)

in #creativity6 years ago

If you've ever wanted to learn how to make your very own amateurish Shawl Pin/Hair Thing, then you've hit the right spot.

brooch finished.JPG

Hiya! I was looking through the #crochet tag when I came across this beautiful creation – How to wire wrap seaglass by @aloha-creations. It's a lovely tutorial and easy to follow.

Anyway, this tutorial inspired me to dig out my beads and wires. I wasn't sure what I'd make but I was certain it would be amateurish. If you'd also like to know how to make an amateurish shawl pin or hair thing, read on for more.

Here are some of the tools, bits and bobs.

tools.JPG

I selected a gold-coloured wire (probs around 14 or 16 gauge – don't quote me – it might have been 18 gauge). Whatever, it was sturdy but pliable. The beautiful greenish-blue abalone shell beads were calling to me so I selected 3 for this piece, checking to make sure the holes were big enough and could be thread onto the wire.

ingredients.JPG

Then I didn't know what to do :P

Ok, I decided to smooth out the little kinks in the wire with the nylon nosed pliers. I can't remember why but I remember seeing this in some tutorial in the distant past.

Then I bashed the 'pin' end with the hammer on the rubber block. I wasn't satisfied so I hit it some more on the little anvil.

hammer wire.PNG

It's early Sunday morning and I like my neighbours so I kept this to a minimum. The reason you smack it up a bit is to harden the metal. It's important not to overdo this step or you'll destroy the wire.

Then it was time to get creative!

working wire.PNG

There was lots of turning and bending with the round-nosed pliers and pinching with the flat-headed pliers. Luckily, there was no crying. All the materials are cheap so it didn't matter if I messed up :P

I put a bead on the wire and secured it with more wire bending. Let's just say this was an organic process. Bending, turning, securing, adding a bead.

brooch shawl.PNG

One of the bends is used as a stopper for the pin. I turned the back to create a loop/hook so that it doesn't fall out of the garment or hair that's wearing it.

brooch fleece.JPG

I had loads of fun making this and will no doubt be back with more amateurish tutorials on how to make stuff with wire and beads.

I hope you'll add links to your proper tutorials in the comments below so that I can learn how to do this properly.

Thanks for reading.

SIGNATURE.png

akdivider celtic.png

Other eclectic articles

Crochet Bichon Frieze

My Life Smells

Crochet colourful blanket

Crochet frog tutorial

Crochet for beginners Part 2

Crochet for beginners. Part 1

The Magic of Chicken Soup

akdivider celtic.png

SMARTSTEEM

Crypto Empire

Unless otherwise stated, all pics in my blog are either mine or freely available online, labelled for reuse and doctored by me.

SIGNATURE.png

Sort:  

Hey i just did a blog and added u to it i hope that it helps everyone get mkre support and followers i just wanted to let u know im here to help support other crafters.

Hiya Aloha! Thanks for that. What a great idea! We need to get us all out of the shadows and mingling with each other. Great stuff! :D

SIGNATURE.png

I'm glad that you are doing some of the things that you were planning to do Anj! Great job for an amateur. I'm not even sure what will come out if I try that. Double thumbs up!

thanks Dawn. I'm happy to be doing my thing too :D

SIGNATURE.png

wow does everything you touch turn out like that? amazing! i mean it ... you are so friggen talented and you know i would not just say that, right?

love,
eagle

Thank you Eagle. That's so kind of you to say.

Hahaha... I have lots of projects that remain unfinished coz they went way outa control. :D

SIGNATURE.png

oh interesting, kinda funny too that you said "i dont know what it is" ahahahahh too cute

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04