Needle work Monday. Still stitching! 😎

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

Crocheted... skirt???

PSX_20180702_160417.jpg

It started out as aspirations for a chunky eternity scarf.
The looped ones that you stitch together at the end.

Maybe if I hadn't stitched it so wide, my one huge single ball of wool that I got from the second hand shop would have sufficed to create a scarf.

But I came up short.

I used a super chunky hook, because I'm impatient and also it is easier on my clumsy hands.

PSX_20180702_160637.jpg

I stitched it together anyway, and ended up with a chunky collar, turtle neck style... Thing...

It was wide enough to shimmy it on as a weird belt too.

But the looks from my family were not of approval, and even I knew that it was too tiny to rock as a skirt.

But the notion of a crocheted skirt for winter (yes some of us live south of the equator), inspired me.

Unencumbered by the lack of enthusiasm from those around me I decided to add a waistband with black wool.

voilà!

PSX_20180702_160417.jpg

I still need to line it, and I need to restitch the last row (it's a little snug).

But I'm a bit impressed with myself!


One day I'll even share a photo of myself wearing it.
IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

I sooooo love crochet and all the fun things that can come of it. Great job transforming it into something really beautiful and useful, and for utilizing the second-hand yarn! Love love love this!

Send you much love dear friend.

I want modeling photos ... pleaaaassssse <3
It is such a good idea to simply rename the - ahem - thing and with a bit of creativity make a perfect mini skirt.

I very often thought about knitting a (half circle) skirt, but I am not sure this will look so nice...(and I am lazy, half circle is too much work :-D)

I made a poncho pretty much by making a granny square, but at the centre I started with a chain loop long enough to fit over the head, and then crocheted into it with a triple stitch as you would a regular square. Shockingly and completely with dumb luck I even got the 4 sides with an even stitch count. I used a beautiful merino wool, I made it for my daughter.
Is the skirt a similar approach?
...oh you said knitting. Noooo. I am a hopeless knitter, crocheting is so much more forgiving, adaptable and, just easier, you can grow it in different directions and add or change yarn without that mysterious casting on and off business. Crochet relaxing, knitting is stressful!

I say yes to all of your pro crochet arguments ( I love crochet) but for a half year now my fingers hurt from crochet (siiighhhh) Knitting feels better. I hope this will change someday.
For the half circle skirt in crochet I think I would make it like a sewn skirt out of panels or I would crochet a top-down yoke (I think you did the latter).
The knitted skirt I fantasise about is this one:
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/between-the-clouds

Thank you for sharing your ideas and also your personal experience.
I don't crochet very much, and everything is hard earned.
I have pain and problems functioning that require a conscious decision and factoring in consequence, for what used to be the simplest of activities.
I started the poncho I spoke of in 2014. My hands had started to bother me, I couldn't finish it. I put it aside half done and picked it up again a year or 2 later. I do a bit of crafting or Steeming or writing every other day, because if I didn't, my pain and a feeling of having nothing, and therefore being nothing, is an unbearable way to feel. I don't mean to whinge, but rather validate how you feel.

I either invest in my little projects or risk indulging myself in a pity party. I like to write and draw too, but my head can't always wrap around those things.

Thanks again, I'm following for more of your fabulous work.

I am sorry to hear that you have pain issues - and it is totally ok to whine (I admit I am a master whiner :-D)
I can so feel you. I have also pain issues (migraines and after working as a dancer for years, also arthrosis) and the feeling of loneliness and being useless while having pain is horrible. So, your whining and being open about your health is more than welcomed - it takes away a bit of the loneliness <3
You are such an enrichment with your posts.
Thank you

Nice save! I love how sometimes we start off with an idea and end up with a totally different creation that still works! It’s a really cute mini skirt!

Lol I too like using chunky yarn especially when I’m impatient and want to get a project done right away.

I hope you do show us a pic of you wearing it!! 😉

Your last tag is hilarious! 😅

I have used that tag or a variation of it a few times. I don't like to take myself too seriously, but I have a thing about using 5 tags, because I can I have to. I know other people use platforms like busy maybe? and use many tags. I think I would go crazy with my gobbledygook if I used that. I haven't put extra ones in the body of the post, I restrict myself to 5.
Hey gobbledegook is a good one. I thought it was goop, I had to do a search. I have learnt something today. It has just gone 8 am in my land, I am spinning gobbledygook, Sorry.

On a serious crocheting note, your recent post with a series of past fab projects.
https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@crosheille/needlework-monday-old-projects
There are so many cool things in here. The neck warmers with buttons would have been an option for my short scarf, I love them.

I have been meaning to do a post of some of my mum's creations. She is a knitter. She has an account @bluerinse, which I help her post to. She is a bit wacky and has some hilarious creations and some cool things too.
I have hand warmers she made and a full length patch work coat that she made me when I turned the big four zero last year.
I was too sick at the time and cancelled party plans.
A blanket coat and a cup of tea with mother instead of a party because you are broken at 40, as well meaning as it was, was potentially the making of a midlife crisis.
The weight of it is quite soothing actually. It is a technicolour dream, knitted with love.

PS GORGEOUS YOU!
I love the photo in that post. Beautiful x

Pps. I am going to gather her stuff and mine and dress myself head to toe in a mishmash of stitchy fabulous For my next stitch post.

I think it’s great that you don’t take yourself too serious and you have fun with all of this and experiment with things. I try to always use five tags too and am careful not to use other tags in my post (unless it’s one of the five I’m already using).

Thank you so much for the sweet compliment and comments on my crochet work!! I took those photos when I was still modeling...five babies later it’s not so easy to do that any more. Those neck warmers were bringing in some steady side income for awhile because they were my most requested project. They work up pretty quickly.

Oh yes yes please make a post wearing your mother’s creations. I think it’s important that we honor those and share the work of those who have inspired us!! I plan to make more posts showing off my mom’s handiwork as well.

I’m so sorry you had to cancel your party plans. 40 is a special year to celebrate.

I’m looking forward to to seeing your post!! 💜

A brilliant save!
And the finish looks really even, so those 'clumsy' fingers sound like a bit of an exaggeration... ;-)

It's such a brilliant idea to take an item that doesn't quite fit anywhere and find a place for it by simply adding or altering one part. Great job!

I also like the colour @girlbeforemirror... I think that skirt and leggings should keep you nice and warm - I also liked that last 'tag' 😂

I can't help myself, I have to use 5 tags.😋

I love what you made out of that one skein of second hand yarn and hope you wear the skirt with pride!

Great inspiration - I've learned so much about how an added waistband/yoke on a skirt can transform it. Lovrly colours, too. I like the big chunky stitches.

cool skirt) it seems to me that for ladies without complexes. I would not wear such a short one)) I need to go to the gym to dress that) I understand why the family did not approve :)

I wear all skirts with a sturdy pair of thick tights / leggings that are practically trousers in there own right 😂.
As a fellow complex woman - I have a rule. No leggings without skirt, no skirt without leggings.
But I also believe -

Sisters without complexes -

Rock that mini unencumbered by the notions of others such as myself 😜. Your body is fabulous in every size and shape.

I'm going to have to post a shot of it on now. Your comment has given me the incentive I needed to rock it. I must not just talk the talk, I must walk the walk. Or carefully shuffle.

MANY THANKS! I AM VERY PLEASED :)

I hardly know how to do this, I tried once and badly cut my finger with this needle I used.

Oh bless, I am a clumsy crafter, but crocheting is one of the safer pursuits. Trust me, if I can be taught, anyone can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05