Grandpa Gotta Meme: Okay, Not Really

in #creativity4 years ago

Memes, Memes, Memes

I've made a couple of references to not being much on memes in a recent post or two and I've been getting a little playful pushback. Okay, not really pushback at all, but more along the lines of, "But I like memes!"

While I can't say I'm a huge fan, I do realize that there are many who really like memes. It's not like I don't find some to be humorous and or spot on. There are. There are many that aren't, though.

So, just to prove I can play along with the meme game, too (I'm not saying they're good, I'm just saying I can make them), I thought I'd throw down a few of my own, just for fun.

These first couple are based on a photo I took this morning while filling a crane display. The meme below is the first one that came to mind.

'CUZ NOTHING SAYS HALLOWEEN
IMG_2377.JPG
QUITE LIKE HELLO KITTY

Now, I like it, because it has a set up and then an unexpected, slightly sarcastic twist. I also like it because your eye may or may not go straight to the Hello Kitty doll, even before you see all of the Halloween types.

This next one is STEEM-related, because, duuuuh.

WHAT NEW USERS SEE
IMG_2377.JPG
AFTER A FEW DAYS ON STEEM

When I first thought of this, it was probably the most obvious. STEEM and some of its users can be a little daunting, if not actually scary. But as I got to thinking about it more, and what was really in the display case versus what actually happens here, it got a little more profound. So, even something rather dry and mundane at the surface can actually be a little more thought provoking.

Okay, we're not talking too deep here, but if you want to take a stab at what I mean in the comments, feel free.

Now, I realize that memes usually have the words in the image rather than above and below them, but I figured it would be quick enough to do it this way, get the point across, and allow anyone who might want to take the photo and make their own meme(s) to share in the comments, as well. This is meant to be an interactive post, after all.

Me And Memes Go Waaaaaay Back...

I've made a few memes in my day.

I actually have an AAS Degree in Social Media Marketing, and yes, creating memes was part of the curriculum. Here's one that was made specifically for the class I was taking, but it obviously has some great meaning here on STEEM, especially to those who are searching for quality.


create content.jpg

This next one isn't mine, but from a girl who was in the same class. I display it first because I think it's pretty good and because it sets up mine, since I ended up answering hers with one of my own.

runs on fat.jpg

The idea was to create a marketing campaign via memes for a bicycle company with various selling points. In her case, she went for the idea that people wanting to get into shape would need a way to burn off their excess fat, and do it cheaply. I think it gets the idea across and matches her #stayfit tag.

Here's my response or follow up to hers, meant as a companion meme, if you will.

Fat and Muscle Trek.jpg

Yeah, the bikes aren't the same, and neither is the tag, but I think it moves the concept to the next step, which could be competitive bike racing, or simply getting from the fat to the fit stage, and still being able to do what got you there. You don't have to give up the biking just because you're fresh out of fat.

Here's another meme I made in conjunction with another class. Our group decided to work around the tag #iforgivebecause. The school I attended, LDS Business College, is church-sponsored, thus the faith based theme.

Someone is waiting.JPG

Those who have followed my blog for a long, long time (not many of you left out there, I'm sad to say), will remember this photo from a post I made talking about a trip my wife and I took to Cancun. We went out to Isla Mujeres, and ate lunch at a restaurant where we found this little guy at the back of the restaurant. We never did see his face, but just where he was sitting, and the sense of anxiousness and timidity it brings to my mind, it just seemed like he was hoping for someone to show up, but kind of dreading it, too.

Playing In The Hashtags

I used to be on Twitter quite a bit, mainly to try and promote a couple of Kindle novels I had written. The promotion never went anywhere, but I found out that I could get my name and what some might call humor or wit out there farther by playing in the hashtags.

Still Waiting.png

This one was posted as part of yet another class, and shows the breakdown of how well the tweet did. Not stellar, but not half bad, either.

Again, there's a personal experience behind it. Before my wife learned to drive and we had a second car for her to use, I would drive her to the store for groceries. Inevitably, she would say she wouldn't take very long, and a couple hours later, she would finally emerge.

I'm sure I'm not the only one to have that experience, which is why I think the meme and tweet did as well as they did.

Okay. I think that's enough talk about memes for one post. I've got more, but I hope you can see that I feel memes have a place. What it really boils down to is value. Will they garner the same amount of rewards as a long form post or video? I'm thinking not. Should they? A few, potentially. Most, again, probably not. The value versus effort ratio will most likely win out. That's my point.

Don't hesitate to leave a comment about the deeper meaning of my second meme above, or to use the display case image to make some memes of your own, if you've got the inclination.

All memes courtesy Of Glen Anthony Albrethsen. Two images are taken by the author, the rest were considered free use at the time the memes were created.

Sort:  

Hi Glen,
So you create memes too. Another feather to your hat. Well done!
I like the "What new users see after a few days on Steem' best. ☺️

Hey, Vincent.

I can create them. I don't know if I should create them. :)

Hello @glenalbrethsen, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hey, @creativecrypto.

Very much appreciate as always. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77