It sucks to be you - Episode III : (Short Story by @inuke)

in #creativity5 years ago

Namaste Everyone,
I am back with another episode of the series which was almost abandoned by me. I know you enjoy the previous two episode and I hope this one meets your expectations.

It sucks to be you - Episode I
It sucks to be you - Episode II

This is my attempt at getting back in the story.

0xkjy3ueeu.jpg
ImageSource

"You don't wanna be late to pick up your daughter. Do you?" Strapping the watch on her wrist Mayra asked me. The watch holds a special place in both our lives. It was a gift from Naina on our last anniversary. And mine looked just like me, worn out.

"I am waiting for you for past 20mins. And I think you need to learn the difference between 2 and 20." I replied.

"I am almost done" I heard Mayra. And it was the exact phrased she used about 20mins ago.

In about another 10mins we made it to the car. Mayra has been like this her whole life, always competing, always trying to look more stunning. But I guess the age is catching up on her.

"I am excited and nervous. Aren't you?" Mayra said.

Why is everything that is uttered by her has to be a question. But then again this is something that I got adjusted to. "Of course I am.!!! I am about to tell my adult daughter that she is going be a elder sister soon. I am sick to my stomach." I completely forget to mention that I am excited too.

Mayra didn't appreciated that response much, But I guess she is accustomed to my attitude. She pulled the mirror and start adjusting her Bindi. "We are going to airport and not lakme fashion week." I commented adjusting the mirror back to its original place. "There is nothing wrong with trying to look best" She countered.

"I think we should have told her before, I mean it has been 20days since we found out. Don't you think so?" Again another question.

"Well, I wasn't sure how she would to react to the news. Ever since I found out, I had been in a constant battle with myself on how to break the news to Naina. I played so many scenarios in my mind, some were the worst thoughts I ever had. But I guess we are about to find out." I expressed my concern. I saw a faint smile on Mayra's face. As if she told that I worry too much.

"I think she will be fine, Its you who is over-reacting. She is your daughter and a grown lady. She will understand." Mayra replied.

"She is my daughter, That is what worries me more." I chuckled. "She will definitely over-react. Remember the time when she refused to come home and insisted that we find her a new parent and her first choice was Manish. Now tell me that wasn't over-reacting." I smiled at that memory.

Mayra Laughed, "She was 7. And thats because you got her the wrong Barbie set. And thats nothing compared to what happened when you refuse to buy her a puppy."

We both were laughing. And I realized that I am going to experience all this again with my beautiful wife. Both the times it was her who got Naina's back. "We are going to be fine." I thought.

"You are just over-thinking, just relax. Everything will be fine I am there." Mayra replied as if she read my mind.

I replied with a smile. And that is the magic whenever we get to talking the time flies by. In no time we entered the airport.

"I hate this place" I referred to the airport parking. "I think in future people may have to catch another flight just to get to the parking. Tsk.. poor design and planning." I complained.

"We can park the car there." Mayra advised pointing to a slot near. I parked the car.

"You see my point!!!" I complained again while walking towards the terminal 3.

"I understand your excitement but you don't have to run. We still have plenty of time." Mayra asked me slow down. "The flight has not arrived." I matched my pace with her. She caught my arm and we started walking slowly in the airport as if it a park. we shared a few laughs and story before reaching the big signboard with says domestic arrival. The LED screen displayed the status of Naina's flight as arrived. The moment has arrived. Both of us were waiting for Naina to show up.

"Papa!!!" I heard her Naina's voice and noticed her running towards me from the left. I was greeted with a "I miss you" and a hug. Mayra was standing next to me smiling. Naina let go of the hold breaking the hug. "Hi" she greeted Mayra and Mayra acknowledged with smile. I was wishing for more between them, But I think that bonding will never happen.

"So, How was your flight?" Mayra asked.

"It was fine." Naina replied while waiting for her something. "One moment." Naina excused herself from the conversation and went to the trolley where her luggage was. She was talking to the guy standing next to the trolley and started pushing it towards us. And the guy was following her with his trolley.

"Chalo, Beta!!! We have lot to catch up." I offered pushing for the trolley.

"Papa!!! I want you to meet Naveen. Naveen, This is the world most amazing Papa." Naina introduced me to a total stranger. I was still trying to figure out what to do with that 5foot 10inch tall piece of information.

"You must be the mom." Naveen extended the greeting towards Mayra. Mayra smiled, Mostly because she must have been at the loss of word.

"This is not happening today." I thought to myself. "Ok, So, where can we drop Naveen off?" A question which will confirm my suspicion and probably will throw me off the train of thoughts. All cells in my body were looking for answer, wishing it to be a place.

"PAPA!!!!" Naina screamed, "Please, Naveen is my friend. Please don't embarrass me"

"Oh!!! Dear God!!! This is not happening now. I am dreaming and this is just a bad dream. And I am about to wake up any moment now" My thoughts were interrupted by the sound of the car trunk closing.

"I bet this wasn't in any of your million scenarios which you were talking about earlier" Mayra voice brought me back to reality. I wasn't sure if she enjoy watching me is such situations. But I sure wasn't enjoying it at all.

EOD.png

I am inuke.png


erdnt2zgdf.png

Getting back into this story was a little difficult to me. But I think with little more practise and time I can get there. However, I still feel like this episode was in rush. TBH, I think it has something to do with over-thinking that I had been doing a lot recently. I mean the character named Naveen was changed from an african to a southindian and I finally decided, It doesn't matter who he is what matters is Jayanth and Mayra. Lets see what becomes of them.

And before I sign off for the day I would like to thank Indiaunited and beAwesome discord channel for their support and encourangement

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You are a real story teller

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @steemflow bhai for such a big compliment. :-)

omg, now my mind is wondering what will happen

Hahaha, I too am wondering whats next for poor jayanth and Mayra. Thank you for your support and kind words :-)

Amazing ! I enjoyed.
I'm curious to know what happen next.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am glad that you are enjoying this series and I am hoping to conclude it on a high and respectable note..
Arigato, @mysteriousroad chan...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 240 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

nice one buddy!

I know you would have another rabbit up your sleeve but I didn’t see this coming.

one detail though: friend means boyfriend, I guess? because just a ‘friend’ wouldn’t bother the father, right?

This episode is yet another brilliant mix of comedy, dialogue, drama and all kinds of other emotions evoked through internal and external conversations between a couple of people.

An intriguing situation that is easy to identify with. I’m already looking forward to Part IV

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for such kind words. I am really glad that I am able to get such nice feedback.

one detail though: friend means boyfriend, I guess? because just a ‘friend’ wouldn’t bother the father, right?

I would be wrong in generalising the mentality of the indian father, But most of them are like that.. Hahaha. I hoping that I get the story to a good conclusion.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by inuke (Andaman ka Hero) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09