The Aftermath - The Dinner Table (Short Story by @inuke)

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,
I hope you all are doing wonderful, And I too am enjoying these small breaks from the work. About a month back I did the story writing on the Steemit and it went well I enjoyed the story writing with the "GOOD CAB, BAD CAB" and "This ain't a movie review". So here I am back with a new story I hope you all will like it.

Aftermath.jpg

All I hear is clinking of the spoon and the plate as if they are angry too.
This is the first time we ever had dinner in such a silent environment. Most of the time it is filled with either laughter or some stupid political debates, at times heated arguments too. But tonight was different. It felt like, I was having dinner with the strangers.

“Tell me, This is a sick, twisted joke” Dad broke the silence looking at me straight in the eye. The caring nature of his voice is gone, It was just a stranger asking another one a question. I kept quiet.

“Don’t need to raise your Blood pressure” The family doctor, My mother spoke. It always fascinated me that no matter what she always talks in the doctor's term. She is always a doctor first then my mother.

“How do you expect me to stay calm, Sheela? You know what this means?”. My Dad, the military man shouted and maybe it is not his fault. Years of service has taken a toll on him. He has seen war, been wounded and been broken. And after taking voluntary retirement at the age of 45 and doing what most of the middle age men does, i.e investing in stock and expecting to make more money, maybe he craves the war or battle. And now he just found a reason to go on war, unfortunately, this time it is against his own daughter.

I had been in the house for an entire day, He could have picked any time to speak, But he chooses this time, the only time when all four of us are together at the dinner to address the “Problem”. He could have at least let everyone else finish the dinner before turning the dining hall into a freaking courtroom, Where they all could judge me for who I am.

“Maa, Pass me the gravy!!!”, finally my brother spoke. He has buried himself in the plate full of rice and dal. No matter how grim the situation he always focuses on the food at the table. Other times he competes with goldfish for shortest attention span and doesn't indulge much in the conversations. But today his silence was different. As if making a statement that he is angry too.

“Sheela, I am still not able to understand where we went wrong? We did everything that is right? Gave her good education & manners. She used to be a good girl, everyone in the family looks up to her and Now this. Are we not good parents?” For the very first time in my life I have seen my Dad, almost tearing up. Never before, I had seen him struggle so much with the words, which is slurry because of the anger and disappointment. That is what who I am now, I have grown up to be a disappointment.

“Please dear, Try to stay calm. You already are in a bad health. Don’t stress too much”. There she goes again, My mother, the doctor. I wish she knew more about my condition but unfortunately, I am alone in this mess. “Let’s finish the dinner, everyone. And we can deal with this problem later.”

There we go again sitting around like 4 cows munching on their food. The moment was getting more awkward with each passing second. "I am done" Dad got up. And took the plate to the kitchen sink, The military habits and manners are still in play. Mom also finished hers and offered another scoop of rice to my brother. Which he declined without even raising his head. I wanted to say something but I felt so choked up that all I could do is raise my hand helpless towards my mother.

I went back to my room after finishing the family dinner, which was more of a funeral. To be honest, someone did really die today. I died this afternoon, To be precise my older self died. The sweet little girl everyone in love with had died. Now all is left is this stranger who nobody acknowledges. It 09:00 PM and the entire house was silent. I was missing the usual noise of the news channel and the comments of my dad on the cheesy headlines. Nothing... but dead silent.

Sitting on the bed I was holding on the strip of the ibuprofen which has 7 tablets in it. Thinking whether this will be enough to put me out of this misery. Or will it just puts me in the hospital and turning my situation to more pathetic. The knock on the door interrupted my sick thoughts.

"So, How you doing, Di?" This was a surprise for me. He rarely talks to me and this might the first time in 2-3 years since he had stepped into my room.

"What do you want?" I questioned my brother.

"Just checking in on you, You know this is the first time ever that you screwed up and being an expert in that area I am here to offer you my support" Usually he acts sarcastic. But today It felt like he was genuine and almost sounded like he is trying to say that he is there for me. I couldn't control my emotions and hugged him and cried.

"I don't know what to do? I... I... am sorry" I manage to get crying in words. He stood there without saying anything. "I am really sorry, I didn't mean any of this to happen, But It happened. I don't know what to do? I am hurting because of how everybody is treating me and I am scared." I was sobbing so bad, that I wasn't sure whether he understood anything. "Please don't stay quiet, talk to me, Say something!!!"

"If you keep crying like this I am out of here" he replied. I wiped my tears and stood there still sobbing.

"So It is true. When I heard from Mom, I almost didn't believe it. And well, Dad is still in denial. So I am going, to be honest, the situation is a mess and I honestly do know what to say or do. But we will work it out. You know as a family". Hearing him say this suddenly stirred more emotions in me. On the verge of crying again I asked him "What family? They barely even look at me."

The reply was harsh and in an annoyed tone "What you expected then, that they will come running saying congratulations on being the first lesbian in the family? No, really what you thought was going to happen, coming out to mom like that?"

This was the first time I was addressed by that word. I was shocked and couldn't get my thoughts sorted. I stood there while the tears were rolling down my cheeks.

"Don't cry. We will get through this." I heard the word and felt a much-needed hug.

Episode 2 - The Aftermath - I am sorry (Short Story by @inuke)

EOD.png

I am inuke.png

I would really like to thank the IndiaUnited and Be Awesome group for there support and love.
Stick around to find out what happens next.

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

Hey @inuke, I read the 3 episodes and I liked them all. I truly emphatize with the main character.. Beta is her name? I think it has a lot to do with generation upbringing and culture. Asians, particularly the older generation are not the huggy, talking kind. They parent differently because of how they were brought up and talking isn't really something that comes naturally to resolve things. Rahul doesn't seem to help much, does he? :D But I am happy that her mom is more open in the 3rd episode. I do emphatize with her mom at some points about worrying for her future. Moms worry, no matter what but especially so when the children do not turn out to be what they expect them to be. I like the last part of the 3rd episode:

And when everything is said and done, Maybe you can post a video of how to mother a Lesbian?"

Hehe what a neat idea. Thank you @inuke. You have a talent for writing :)

Thank you @marblely for your time and feedback.
Beta is a Hindi term for "Child"... I am yet to name the characters ;-)
I tried Rahul to be a more interesting character but seeing that this is more of a family affair I don't think his involvement does any good.

I was working on the episode 4 and read your comment. I am really glad that you liked the character. Would love to see your feedback on the Episode 4

Ah Beta means child. Thank you. I learn a new word :) I like watching Hindi movies especially Khabhi Khushie Khabhi Gham.
That is true, Rahul can stay the way he is :)
Great, I look forward to episode 4. Happy coming week there @inuke.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah!! I K3G is a good drama movie. I liked it for the songs mostly... :-D
I take you for a fan of that movie.

Thank you for your opinion about Rahul, I had chucked him out of the story completely and almost at the finish line. Please do check out the Episode 4 and share your feedback.

I thought I would say the parents especially the father are not very good at understanding their child. Though on a second thought, I guess that is part of the ingredients to make the story spicy. And then I realized it could happen in real life.

I am not yet a parent so I would not know how to handle such thing if it happens to me but with the openmindedness of people today, I think it is okay. LGBT community is well accepted already.

I read the episode 2 and it looks like the mother has eventually come around. I hope the father will follow...

You have a very good imagination to have come uo with this story. Do you really write? Like for how long?

Thank you for the insight. The story was just a random Idea which popped up when I was reading the news of passing the law and declaring homosexuality as a natural act and not a criminal offense. And I was wondering on how a typical Indian family would react

As for writing, I had been on steemit for almost 10months now and actively writing for last 2-3months. And by active means disappearing for a week and reappearing with an apology.

Thank you for taking the time out and read this story. The 3rd episode is out would love your opinion about it.

https://steemit.com/creativity/@inuke/the-aftermath-it-is-not-easy-short-story-by-inuke

disappearing for a week and reappearing with an apology.

Now that's funny! I think everyone will understand if we have our priorities. 😊

The third series is great. At least the mother and daughter have finally spoken to each other. I like how you cut the story so one episode does not get too long and eventually boring. Sometimes it is also eye straining to be reading very long stories.

Wow! Seems like you got more monkey up your sleeve than I thought. A totally different story and seen from the perspective of a woman. I kept guessing what it was all about, until the end...

Congratz with your @curie vote, buddy! :>)

Now if this doesn't motivate you to write more often, I don't know what will ;>)

P.S. I was listening to an audio book called 'On Writing' by Stephen King. I think I told you about that before. I had to think of you, while listening, and wondered if you want me to share it with you.

Have an awesome day!

Vincent

Thank you for such kind words.
Its a close group of people who had been guiding me in the right direction. And you are one of them.

PS: I would love to have the audiobook.

You are welcome, buddy!
If you share me your email via discord, I will Wetransfer the audiobook to you .

Sad how the parent reacted to her, they could have chosen a better timing and approach if they must speak... Love always win, their reaction should have been in love, they should have tried to understand, just a little bit...

I wonder how the story would turn out to be, it has an interesting start tom it! actually, it kept me glued to my screen...

Thank you @audreybits for your precious time. I am just experimenting with my writing and would love to see your reaction to the rest of the story.

Hopefully, my reaction will be a positive one! Lol.

@inuke I really liked the first part written in your story. Dad doesn't want to accept his daughter's sexual condition that he recently discovered. It is very closed but the love in the family is great and will end up understanding. I was touched by her brother's support and the maturity with which I handle the news. Giving her support at that moment when Sheela was so sad is very touching. She saw a light at that moment. I focused on every text that you have written without taking my eyes off it. I hope to see the development of the story and the end soon. A big greeting.

Namaste @Yeninsfer, Thank you for spending time on the post. The story is mostly about the family dynamics and how it changes. I am glad that you enjoyed it very much. Stick around to find out what happens next. I hope that you like the next episode too.

I'm attentive waiting. I really liked the family thing. Because I like to see how the family will be able to overcome any prejudice on the part of the father who is the one who is reluctant. We must love and love each other as we are with defects and virtues. The family should always support each other. A big greeting.

Thank you for your support and feedback. I just released the third episode of the series. I hope you like it. :D

https://steemit.com/creativity/@inuke/the-aftermath-it-is-not-easy-short-story-by-inuke

Hi inuke,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh My God!!! Thank you @curie. You just made my day a lot happy :-)

Seeing so much text scared me a bit .. but I started reading and I could not stop. Let me tell you that there was no need for images to accompany the text, it is too well written and very easy to read, just let me go and I loved it. And congratulations for your curie vote.. A hug @inuke

Hahaha, Sorry @Naideth that I scared you. I am very happy that you enjoyed it. And regarding the Image, I couldn't help as this has been a habit for me to add an image to every post. Got that from some veteran friends here on Steemit. Would love to see your reaction to the second episode. Stick around.
Hugs Back

Sorry for my bad English, I speak Spanish and this is difficult for me a bit .. even so I use a translator to read your publication .. It would be a pleasure to read your second part. ;)

For a non-english person. Your English is very good.
Thank you. I just finished the second part. I hope you like it...
The Aftermath - I am sorry (Short Story by @inuke)

Sure, I'll go through your blog right away

Welcome back..good to see youbin writing mode

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha!!! It feels good to be back. Thanks for visiting. :-)

This was a good story @inuke. You story was easy to read and digest. While i read the story, i kept on wondering what did she do until think of suicide, this suspicious hooked me and make me want to read more to find out.You really did surprise me at the end. I didn't imagine the answer would be like this, you have a great method to hook the reader. Now, I cannot wait to read your next episode.

Thank you @oliviackl for your time on the story and the compliment.
I like that you were 'hooked' and that is what I was aiming for. Thank you again, the link to the next episodes as below.

https://steemit.com/creativity/@inuke/the-aftermath-i-am-sorry-short-story-by-inuke
https://steemit.com/creativity/@inuke/the-aftermath-it-is-not-easy-short-story-by-inuke

Thank you. Reading is my hobby. When i saw all these, I would be excited.

what a beautiful family story those cases happen very real sometimes when we make wrong decisions our family gets like this and we always have a brother who supports us all or a sister too cute the story I congratulate you @inuke for sharing and I would like to see the continuation .. God bless every word you did in this story great work is still like this @neymarth

@Neymarth, Thanks for your time and such a beautiful comment. I was aiming to convey the same message in the story. :-)

The next episode is out would love your opinion on those.

https://steemit.com/creativity/@inuke/the-aftermath-i-am-sorry-short-story-by-inuke
https://steemit.com/creativity/@inuke/the-aftermath-it-is-not-easy-short-story-by-inuke

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83