When You Don't Have Any Ideas, Move!

in #creativity6 years ago

I woke up this morning not knowing what to write today. Usually I have some ideas from the day before but this time I felt really empty. Maybe it was the result of rather mentally strenuous day yesterday when I published our 10th e-book “Understanding What French Organ Registrations” Mean on Amazon Kindle. The contents from this book have been created long time ago during our #AskVidasAndAusra Podcast.

Whatever the case might be the first thing in the morning for me wasn’t writing. But I had to do something… I felt the urge to work on our 11th e-book “Why Do You Need The Music In Front Of You?” Maybe this was a distraction. I don’t know. But I compiled and published this e-book all the while feeling that I don’t have anything to say today yet.

I felt the same when Ausra and I practiced playing organ duets for our upcoming concert. When I drew a comic strip about Pinky and Spiky meeting Pegasus, I felt empty. When we recorded one podcast episode, I felt empty too. When we ate lunch at Ausra’s parents house, I had the same feeling. When we played cards there, I felt the same. Even when I drew a comic strip about Pinky and Spiky and the dancing shoes, I felt empty. I felt empty also when we came back home and recorded three more podcast episodes. The same was when I was working on my business side of blogging.

Then something strange happened. I decided it’s time for me to enter at least a title of today’s post on Scrivener which is what I use for my blogging. But I still felt empty. I still didn’t know what to write about. What I did right at that moment, though, changed everything.

I stood up and decided to eat a juicy peach. I moved! I still remember the moment when this idea came to me like an insight. That’s what I have to write about today! About the importance of moving in order to get your creative juices flowing.

Even better, it was also the time to pick up fallen apples in our garden and water the plants and the grass.

So I moved again!

Now I’m writing these words to you while sitting in our garden watching how beautifully the plants look after they had a drink… Even now I move from time to time to place the watering hose in a different spot.

So if you struggle with your creativity today and don’t know what you should do, simply get moving. Go for a walk, run, do some exercises, stretch, do some household chores.

You can be certain, the idea will come to you while you are moving.

Why does this work? It’s really simple. Moving gets our blood circulation going, increases oxygen level in our blood cells, raises body temperature and at the same time increases brain activity.

Sure, you can say, I can increase my brain activity while banging my head at the blank screen and trying to come up with ideas. But this is more natural way. More pleasant way. Saves a lot of frustration.

Because movement brings change. Change brings awareness of new things. Awareness brings inspiration.

Sort:  

It makes me feel tired just thinking of writing 11 books. I'd better go for a cross-country run ;)

This is healthy too!

Hello @organduo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75