More Precious Than Jewels

in #crochet5 years ago

I was tasked by Glee Brown Workman to test a pattern of hers some months ago and the pattern she gave me she is called 'Jewels'.

Recently @foxyspirit posted this lovely contest here calling all crocheters and though this wasn't something that I have done recently; I thought it would make for a good contest entry. Especially since this is one of the busiest months I have this year so here you have it, the in-progress pictures, followed by the final photo which you can see over on the ravelry listing for the pattern itself.

The Blanket itself spells out the worlds 'You Are More Precious Than Jewels'. I worked it with Premier Everyday yarn skeins, though I don't have them on hand to be able to note what the colors were. It took me about two months to do due to the complexity and all the counting of the stitches, and I still messed up in a few places shhhh, but I had it done and to my sister in time for her baby shower! Yay! The only part I didn't get was the last picture of 'you are' before it was finally done and I could get a good picture of it in the sunlight, which is alright as I was starting to run short on time before the deadline.

Without further ado; Here's the journey from start to finish.

jewels1.jpg
jewels2.jpg
jewels3.jpg
jewels4.jpg
jewels5.jpg
jewelsfinal.jpg

Sort:  

Great design and good work! Your stitches are so even it's a joy to look at it :)

Do you know #needleworkmonday? It's a community of people who love needleworks - knitting, crocheting, sewing, cross stitch... every craft where a needle is involved is welcome. Each monday we show each other (and the world) what we are working on, what we plan to do or what project just has been finished.

We share our love and passion for the needle arts and value comments and advice. With people from all over the world involved there is a vast pool of knowledge to be shared. Why don't you take a look at today's #needleworkmonday posts?

written by @muscara for @needleworkmonday

Thanks for the suggestion! I took a look at it and it's certainly something I can start doing on the regular :P How exciting!

That is quite some sweet work you have! And no better gift for a baby shower than a handmade blanket made with love. With babies, we always need a lot of blankets.
The wording must have been hard and those diamond details too. Can't tell if there was any mistakes ;)
Counting is my downfall as well, I get too distracted and then I get mixed up lol.
Good job, I love it!

Thank you! =D I can certainly tell where my own mistakes were made but I'm pleased to hear that you can't tell. It's certainly not something I'd want to do month after month since it is so hard on my hands, but I really did enjoy making this particular blanket. Unfortunately my sister's baby is a chunky monkey and is already on-track to outgrow the blanket lol!

Wow thats a fast growing baby :p

I know what you mean when making a blanket. I made a really nice one as a door prize for when I had my stag and doe. It took such a long time. It was big enough for a single-twin size bed. Then my friend saw it and wanted one the same. Even though she said she would pay for it, I still haven't been able to start it. This was... 4 years ago? XD No worries, she still loves me. I made her slippers lol.

Congratulations @bluebeaniejean! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

felicidades por ganar el concurso, un saludo desde Venezuela.

Such a beautiful job! Thanks for sharing with us.

Congratulations @bluebeaniejean! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Congratulations @bluebeaniejean! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bluebeaniejean! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77