Overclocking and Smoking out my Etherium mining rig. Current profitability and who is still mining?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #crypto6 years ago

I think it started more or less one year ago, i've sold all my photography gear and build myself a mining rig with five Radeon RX570 cards. I got approximately 120 MHS out of it and at that difficulty it pumped 0.05 ETH per day if i remember correctly. Ofc at that time ETH price was around 160-180 USD and i had to sell most of it to pay for the servers of the startup i am running.

Time went buy, difficulty was continuously increasing and today i am mining 0.05 ETH per week. So i ran some calculations and found out that with my electricity price i am making in range of 20 USD per month or break even when price of ETH drops even lower. Of course there are other benefits, especially in the autumn. Since i have it in my living room i turn on the heating one month later than usual. I should probably calculate that into ROI also.

So being pissed off with low hash rate i have decided to overclock the system a bit and flash video card bios to get more hash power from it in hope to buy a beer or two with the profits. Not being a very technical person i apparently went too far and the only result i got was this.

click on the images to enlarge

rig4094.jpg

rig4120.jpg

Apparently it became too hot and with the current heat output i will be able to survive the winter without turning the heat at all. The downside is that my hash rate went down to 0 lol.

How about you guys, are you still mining Ether? Or maybe you are mining something else? Please share your thoughts.

David

Sort:  

Wow! You're a miner! Cool! I'd like to be a bitcoin miner! This is not possible, because I always move. I do not really like the etherium, because I do not consider it to be a decentralized coin, but I like mining as an idea! 😍😘😗😙😚🤗🤗

Mining brought me to crypto world and to steemit that is why i like it. And even though it is not a profitable occupation if you start new currently i still mine as a reminder :) And who knows maybe it will be profitable some day again :)

Get Upvotes from 350 members!

Join Our Community now.

@bescouted, I'm interested in the same topic as you, let's spin it together. I signed on to you, I hope you'll sign up for me. Always glad to meet new people!

I was hoping to hear some opinnions :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75