HACKED? All my Cardano gone from my Deadalus Wallet

in #crypto5 years ago

ADA is the only currency I don't have a hardware wallet for.
Ledger promised to implement it on the new firmware update Jan 19.
Always when I had a bit extra money I bought some Cardano, until I had about 55000 ADA
Unfortunately there are still no ADA wallets to be used with the Ledger.

So I have my Cardano on the official Deadalus Wallet, once a week I opened the wallet to let it sync with the node.

This morning I was in shock, when I saw my balance of 0.49 ADA.

Screenshot (14).png

First I did not understand, then I noticed a transaction yesterday at 11:56 AM

55000 ADA gone, sent from my wallet yesterday

Screenshot (15).png

https://cardanoexplorer.com/tx/ee05e7a39e0903f731422a2028ce0fb001f460ef075297dffcb427eebd853da4

I submitted a support ticket to Deadalus, but hey, it's Sunday morning. I don't expect an answer sometime soon.

One thing is for sure: as long as there is no hardware solution for Cardano I will not buy any ADA, It is a shame, because it is such a promising project.

I am very unhappy this morning, writing about it helped me to get it (a bit) off my chest.
I will have my morning coffee now
morning-coffee.jpg
...and then I have to jump into work, to make up for my loss.

Sort:  

you should check if your computer is infected.

I did , and I found some maleware that came with Chrome cookies.
From now on I only use the BRAVE browser. Expensive learning curve :(

You got a 71.43% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @brokernaples!

@dailyupvotes is the only bot with guaranteed ROI of at least 1%

I was contacted by the Cardano team. They requested for me to add in my article that their support team has reached out to me.
Yes, this is true.
But it is also true that they emailed me weeks ago, telling me that they are looking into this for me and they would contact me if they have a solution. So far they have not

I have submitted so many more requests to the Cardano team to investigate what happened. I have requested a partial refund for my loss. They would not even answer my emails - not even acknowledge that I wrote them. As much as I like the ADA project, but this is lousy customer service!

I had some BTC scammed from me once and I emailed that Satoshi guy ... scammer never even replied man! Customer service is horrible for Bitcoin too! Lesson learned : Never buy crypto, cuz of the terrible customer service.

I'm a BTC customer representative... Mr. Satoshi isn't currently taking calls or responding to emails at the moment, how may I help you?

My computer is not infected and has double security on it I have always been a big defender of Cardano and Charles Hoskinson and
held Cardano since 2017. My computer is not was not and has not been
compromised and has 2 security suites running on it. Contrary to what I strongly
believed and was assured of Daedalus wallet is not safe first people assume that everyone
is stupid, there is someone brute forcing Daedalus paraphrases and "getting lucky" then
when someone says I was robbed the answer is always Daedalus is completely safe,
and you let someone get your paraphrase or private key.
I have been holding Ada since 2017 I got a new laptop this year put a brand new
Daedalus wallet and sent the Ada to the wallet from old wallet new meaning not
restored so the transaction cost to send to a total exchange of wallets.
On 8/04/2021 at 4:28 Am I was robbed. I am old but up at 730 Am I was still very much
asleep when this happened.
My paraphrase my laptop and my private keys are totally guarded and no one but me
has access. SO no one should assume I wasn't tight security, I see always
people say couldn't happen, instead of putting any suspicion on hackers and the security
of the wallet and investigating, if I were designing something I would encourage
any and all people to report the circumstances, so as to inform people of the risks and
to further learn how to protect my supporters. Instead, it seems to fall on death ears
at best at worst, it always appears that the user is blamed.
There must be ways of freezing your coins on the blockchain and if anyone restores
your wallet through seed phrase they would still need a blockchain password.
Or follow the standards of it taking 20 days to unfreeze your coins when they are staked
that is much less of an inconvenience than loosing 101,308.944 Ada as I did.
Transaction # e248a1faba0b684673508d88f1b04f7c79b19be6e10af645c190820335d3e8a3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73