How to mine AEON on Linux with your CPU

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

I recently stumbled upon this post:
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@yanosh01/a-simple-guide-to-mine-with-cpu-and-to-make-some-profit
this article seemed rather overly optimistic, but I thought I'd try it for myself.
I found that post after reading this post which mentioned it: https://steemit.com/steemrepo/@yanosh01/first-goal-reached-more-then-1000-followers-more-then-61-reputation-and-near-the-position-100-as-witness

So far I've been mining ETN(Electroneum) on my phone and on a server.
Here is an article I wrote about ETN if you would like to learn more about it:
https://steemit.com/blockchain/@throwawayaccount/electroneum-new-cryptocurrency-focussed-on-transactions-using-smart-phones
The idea behind it is that it is a crypto currency that allows for easy payments using your cellphone. I think this is a really cool idea for people in third world countries (such as the one that I'm living in which is: South Africa).

The aim of this article is to look at a way to mine a cryptocurrency using your CPU on your desktop computer and make a profit. (Assuming electricity doesn't cost you anything, which is highly unlikely.) I have a Xeon CPU on my computer so I'm hoping it will help in this situation. Just as a general warning I would advise you to be extremely cautious and weary of any people claiming to be making money from "Cloud mining" or offering to invest money for you in some kind of "Cloud mining". I've seen some people that I thought were rather intelligent put their money into scams of this kind. I also feel that there are very few cryptocurrencies that you can actually mine with a CPU and make it worth your while, even if your electricity is free. Be skeptical please! The crypto/blockchain space is full of scammers too and they prey on the uninformed and overly optimistic. If something sounds too good to be true , then it probably is.

Let's get to it then! I'm assuming you are on Ubuntu or some Debian based distro. I'm on Xubuntu so my instructions will be for the Ubuntu people,sorry Gentoo and Arch people, but I do know you are clever and experienced enough to figure this one out yourself.

Run the following to install the dependencies for this miner: https://github.com/tpruvot/cpuminer-multi

$ sudo apt-get install automake autoconf pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libjansson-dev libssl-dev libgmp-dev make g++ -y

While you are waiting for that to complete then open up another terminal and clone this github repo:

$  git clone https://github.com/tpruvot/cpuminer-multi

Now cd into the directory and run the autogen script:

$ cd cpuminer-multi/
$ ./autogen.sh

Now let's run ./configure, see the arguments that I'm using.

$ ./configure --with-crypto --with-curl

Next run make:(Wow I'm glad I don't have to write makefiles in my job or any of the projects I'm on)

$ make

I needed to get some software to create an AEON wallet after the steps that I followed mostly from this reddit comment:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Aeon/comments/5tjkxw/installing_aeon_miner_on_ubuntu/ddpnpsw
I felt too lazy to download and create a wallet with the AEON CLI, so I found this site that I could use to create a wallet or address for receiving AEON:
https://aeonpocket.com
This site makes it really easy and is really cool, I'm just curious how secure it is. I'm very skeptical of online wallets generators, if I'm not mistaken there was a hack a few months ago with IOTA where many people used a certain website to generate keys for them and then later someone figured out a way how to generate many of those private keys , since there was a weakness in how the website was generating the private keys.

Now finally you can run:

$ ./cpuminer -a cryptolight -o stratum+tcp://mine.aeon-pool.com:5555 -u Wmt14X9LmGcFnJcCZZP4y9aQnPPCGuMhybZeEMvBFxGu3gzuQmPfpBSHdipieKZuqeKsbEs9SUhqPeoFzRfJjYXu1efeGguAc -p x

That makes use of the pool found here: https://aeon-pool.com/ and mines for my address which is:

What is AEON worth currently:

Here are some links that you can use to read more about AEON and what it is currently worth:
https://info.binance.com/currencies/aeon
https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/aeon/

Ending Credits:

Please comment on this post if you enjoyed it. I will possibly make a follow up post to let you know if I got anything from my mining efforts. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 48.27% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I'm currently getting quite a good hashrate:

See here:

And I already have a pending balance:

You got a 9.30% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @throwawayaccount!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📉 7d
AEONAeon1.865$1.89%1.44%
CSCredits0.808$-2.86%16.24%
ETNElectroneum0.024$-0.53%-16.35%
MIOTAIOTA1.941$4.63%-16.14%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30