"To Lose" - representation of a feeling

in #cryptoart5 years ago

My latest tokenized artwork has a very sad origin.

One of our family's best friends died tuesday evening, and we're all very sad.

I tried, in this artwork, to represent the feeling of loss I feel when I think of a life cut short, of the music that Stan will never play now. Of the book I gave him just a week ago, that he never had the time to finished.

This is my clumsy attempt at honoring that feeling. of creating a marker of it that will, through it's tokenization, live on forever.

origin

I started with some introspection, trying to think of a way to represent the sadness I was feeling.

I've never been good with feelings, never been good at expressing them, or understanding them...

I tried wandering the wilds of the internet, looking at Creative Commons imagery representing sadness, tears, loss...

I happened upon this little paper robot, which touched me deeper than the other imagery did, for some reason

break-up-breakup-broken-14303.jpg
https://www.pexels.com/photo/broken-heart-love-sad-14303/

I then went on to my normal toolset, opening up GIMP

Creating the basis

I decided not to use the image itself, but rather the style of the robot's face. the triangle, with the eyes like that, gave a very sad feeling to it's face.

gimp-2.10_KOkHco55cT.png

I then experimented with some G'MIC-qt functions to find an interesting pattern:

gimp-2.10_weY2XceuSI.png

gimp-2.10_ZVDD3mfPn6.png

gmic_gimp_qt_e433AYjg8s.png

after that, I tested several methods, but ended up with creating two variants to "flow" between. "Old photo" styling with and without Sepia options:

gimp-2.10_D1vOoLJiAb.png

gimp-2.10_FoCPjKpAON.png

gimp-2.10_Dww9hbImis.png

gimp-2.10_eREek4d47X.png

And, that's pretty much it.

I asked in the Trooart and Superrare telegram chats which version of the artwork were best, the static one's, the animated one, or even the deep styled one here:

gimp-2.10_FYbshxRHDI.png

After some deliberation, I choose the gif, as Tenblo, one of the members of Troart, pointed out it helped accentuate the emotions.

I also somehow felt the Styled one had too much color. I was trying to be minimalist in my approach after all.

So, there you go:

https://superrare.co/artwork/to-lose-4101

Sort:  

Congratulations @pbock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77