Collaborating on Scifi Storywriting [@dedicatedguy + @nowonline]

in #cryptocollab5 years ago

dedicatedguy_collab.png

This article by @dedicatedguy is part of a blockchain collaboration series. Learn more about the Sndbox #cryptocollab initiative, here.


Hello Everyone, @dedicatedguy here!



Not too long ago, I posted the first part of a little scifi story that I wrote in collaboration with @nowonline.

We are both scifi fans, and in my case, it is one of my favorites genres when I decide to watch movies or any kind of film series. I have enjoyed a lot of scifi content over the years, for example, my favorite series of recent times is without doubt Black Mirror, I consider this series a must-watch for any scifi fan because every episode is completely independent, so they are like mini-movies with mind-blowing topics and top-notch production, so far I haven’t found a person who didn’t like this show. When it comes to movies, one I enjoyed a lot from a few years ago is Ex Machina, there are obviously more scifi movies that I love but clearly I can’t name them all.

 


Image source.

 

Where Our Story Begins…

The story we wrote begins in a near-future world where people can afford to buy human-looking robots as a tool to help and handle the house issues, kind of like having the ultimate domestic help that is capable of doing pretty much everything in the most efficient way possible.

The owner of the robot is someone who takes a lot of risks in his life, which is why sometimes he is at the “top of the world” so to say, and other times he has to endure difficult situations. At the beginning of the story, he is enjoying a period of good luck, he manages to get back on his feet and he buys his dream house, as well as a live-in robot to help him. Now, because of his past, he eventually is threatened by an unwanted visitor inside his home, and that’s when he really sees what his robot is capable of, which ends up scaring him a little bit. For anyone interested in reading the story you can find the link at the beginning of this article.

I decided to work with @nowonline because she is the only active Steemian available to meet up with me and brainstorm together about what to write for a fiction story, which is something I really wanted to do because I think that’s the best way to accomplish a successful collaboration, by brainstorming together with some snacks available and having a nice time while writing the story. I knew she would enjoy doing this collaboration because she likes to write and is also a fan of futurists topics, so it was like the perfect candidate for me to work with.

 



Image source.


 

Uploading to the Blockchain



When it was time to publish the story, the application used was @steempress, because it allows the simultaneous publication of the content in both the personal blog of the user as well as on the Steem blog.

I am happy with the end result of this collaboration, so far there are 2 chapters published (one on my blog and one on @nowonline’s blog) and there is the option of writing more chapters down the road. There is still a little mystery on the story in the chapter one that is yet to be solved, so we will probably continue with this collaboration and add more chapters to it.


I would really appreciate any feedback for people who decided to read the story and I will happily answer any question you might have.

Thanks for reading!


This post was authored by @dedicatedguy, a member of the sndbox incubator. Learn more, follow @dedicatedguy or begin a conversation in the comment section below.


Footer_dedicatedguy.png


Empower artists, writers, musicians, non-profits and community initiatives - delegate Steem Power to @sndbox (using the links below) or follow our curation trail. Learn more about Sndbox - watch our introduction, here.

arrow-01.png
arrow-02.png
arrow-03.png
arrow-04.png
arrow-05.png
arrow-06.png
arrow-07.png
100
250
500
1k
2k
5k
10k
Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and our magazine The Creative Crypto / @creativecrypto

---

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sndbox.blog/collaborating-on-scifi-storywriting-dedicatedguy-nowonline/
Sort:  

Hey @dedicatedguy sounds like an interesting story. I'll try to check it out. I love sci-fi especially programs like the ones you mentioned - "black mirror" and the movie "ex machina." Those are topics that I've written about in the past as well. I don't mean that as a plug for myself, only that they are very thought provoking and inspiring.

I'll check out your blog!

Black Mirror is amazing! I am patiently waiting for the next season, so far I think my favorite episode is San Junipero, there were some amazing moments in that lovely story.

Thanks for stopping by!

Nice. My favorite so far was "Playtest" and "USS Calister"

Those 2 were awesome episodes as well, the thing with Black Mirror is that pretty much every single episode is 5 stars ^^

This post has received a 25.00% upvote from @aiyanna!

This is an extra way we have decided to give back and award serious bloggers!
Feel free to leave a comment or suggestion to improve the efforts of this bot. Delegation and donations will be used to increase steem power.

You got a 100.00% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @shakailove!

This post has received a 30.00% upvote from @amayahaley21!
Hi, my name is @amayahaley21 and this post has receive a 30.00% upvote. If you would like for me to visit your posts you can delegate 100+ steempower to me and I will visit your posts until you remove your delegation. You can also donate 2+ steem to me and I will visit your posts for 30-days. All Steem earned will be used to help me grow!


Want more views to reach your posts? Try BlockGators Army Advertising Network

wow nice photo and post

This post has received a 15.00% upvote from @teevmoore!

Hi @sndbox!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.566 which ranks you at #142 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 270 contributions, your post is ranked at #37.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has received a 62.50% upvote from @kennybrown!

If you like what I do please consider delegating 100+ steempower to @kennybrown. If you would like to join you can also send 2 Steem to @kennybrown for a 30-day subscription. All revenue will be used to increase the steempower on a monthly basis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71