Weird Fiction: Shopping for Feelings

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

I only wanted that sense of humanity that seemed intrinsic. I’ve wanted it since I crawled out from under the toadstool that served as my shelter those initial days of my life.

That’s why I roamed the aisles of the local supermarket looking for feelings.


Image from Pixabay.

“Excuse me, miss,” I stopped a lady with a store badge on her chest. She was an older lady, somewhat withered, bearing a nice smile for a woman with no teeth. “Can you point me to where you shelve your feelings?”

“Oh, why certainly young man.”

It’s always intrigued me that old ladies address young men as “young man” during normal conversation. But she proceeded to deliver on her promise.

“Two aisles over that way. Near the chili.”

“Thank you.”

I made haste to get to the chili aisle with my baby sister in tow. She’s not really a baby. At nineteen she is much more mature than I am. She, after all, has those feelings which I desire.

“I’d be surprised if they have them on that aisle,” Little Sis said. “I’ve never known a supermarket to carry feelings before.”

“We’ll see,” I said rounding the corner and looking for the chili. Sis found it first.

We looked and looked, but no sign of feelings. I finally reasoned that the old lady thought I’d said “beans” since there were about fifteen hundred varieties of beans on the shelf next to the chili and just as many brands. But no feelings.

“Pardon me,” I stopped a middle-aged man with a store badge on his chest. It was labeled “Manager” so I thought he must surely know if the store would have feelings. “I’d like to know if you stock feelings.”

“Sure do,” he smiled. “I stock them on my sleeve.” Then he jabbed Little Sis in the rib and cackled. She laughed. I must have not looked amused. The manager could tell. Of course, not having feelings, I was not unamused. Nor was I “not amused” in the way that one might be negatively amused if positive amusement were within the range of possibilities. And that fact of my reality must have shown on my deadpan face.

“Sorry,” he said. “I thought you were joking.”

“He’s not,” Sis said. “He really feels left out.”

“Oh.” The store manager suddenly donned a look of puzzlement, then it appeared a light came on. “Oh … Ooooh. Yes, yes, of course.”

At that, he scratched his forehead, then snapped his fingers.

“I have an idea,” he said as he took off for the front of the store. Little Sis and I followed.

Once he reached the front office he unlocked a door with a set of keys and went in leaving me and Little Sis standing outside. Almost immediately we heard him say over the intercom, “Attention, store personnel. We have an urgent need for feelings at the front of the store. Any employees willing to donate to the cause, please come forward.”

I was amazed – or would have been had I been able to feel amazement – that a line of store employees started forming next to us. The store manager returned from his little office holding a plastic bag. I watched as employees began placing little trinkets in the bag.

“Thank you,” said the manager, nodding. “There’s a slight annoyance. A perturbance. Very good Miss Salamander. Oh, and lucky you,” he winked, “a joyful moment.”

This went on for about ten minutes, the manager calling out different feelings as employee after employee dropped them into the bag. When it was over he turned to me and handed me the bag.

“Will there be anything else, sir?”

I reached into the bag and pulled out what looked like an amazement. I wrapped it around my neck and my face contorted to take on a look of unexpected amazement.

“No, I guess that should be it.”

“Thank you for shopping at Carry Mart,” the manager smiled. Then he walked away with a whistle as store employees dispersed and shuffled back to work.

Little Sis and I exchanged looks of carefully chosen expressions – I actually found a bewilderment buried deep in the bag – and left the store. When we got to her car I smiled, pulled a pride out of the bag and wrapped it around my neck, then tapped Little Sis’s hood with the tip of my finger.

“See,” I beamed. “I told you so.”

"Shopping for Feelings" was first published at Bizarro Central.

If you'd like to read more stories of this flavor, try these:

The following stories are contest entries for the Steem Monsters fantasy lore backstory contests:

The following audio recording was used as an audition piece for a Steem Monsters voice actor position:

While you're here, you might also enjoy some poetry:

And this miscellaneous writing:

The backside 5 (my latest five posts):


Review me, Please


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

">
created and used by veterans
with permission from @guiltyparties



Sort:  

Excellent creation.

It really exercisese one's imagination, no?

Namaste, Jaichai

Thanks. Namaste.

Congratulations @blockurator! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I really appreciate the way you present your writing. I was looking for a good read, Find you.
Wonderful work my friend.

Lots of love
Hash-tag

Thank you Hash-tag. That means a lot. Best to you, and thanks for reading.

Nice story .....

Very good; I read it to the end...

Congratulations @blockurator, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 75

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Well done. I think we all have moments like that or the complete opposite where we wish we culd turn them off. Very much enjoyed this story @blockurator

Thank you. And thanks for reading. :-)

This is so beautifully written and I'm so glad to have found this post via Steemitbloggers. You illustrated it very well and it provokes me to think about us and how we go about "shopping feelings". Excellent piece, @blockcurator :)

Thank you for this wonderful read! I really enjoyed it! You're the first Steemian that I see asking others what they think of you and to be reviewed.

Thanks, but that certainly wasn't my idea. You made me realize, though, that I forgot to include the link to my review page.

Review me, Please

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06