How I lost my shirt, Bullish on AAPL in the late 90’s

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago (edited)

I got greedy, is the simple answer.

I was a really cutting edge dude, working for an ad agency in NYC. I was the fix your problem guy. Model in your shoot has a zit, no problem, I can fix that in Photoshop. This was magic, to people at a time. I remember, like 100 meg tiff files, really hi res stuff, fit on one of those big Syquest drives, hafta clachink-SNAP it in there. Wait annhour for it to open in Photoshop. Storage and RAM was expensive back then, storage (ROM) quickly became inexpensive. Matter of fact, techinacally, (I abandonded the account many years ago) I still own like 100,000 shares or something of Syquest Technologies. Worth zero dollars today. I never bothered to sell.

I had a friend that worked for a brokerage, and he got me cleared to trade options. What that means is, I was able to buy contracts that say I can buy Apple calls. I was such a hardcore Apple fanboy. I still love Apple. Woz is a personal hero of mine and we have discusssed exactly that. I got a whole career, as a graphic artist, because of Apple products. I used to, as a kid, rent Apple ][ computers because I could play all the video games I want, explore new things, just hook it up to your regular color TV set.

Of course, when I was doing hard core stuff, working for a major publisher in NYC, they got Raster Ops, really like high end shit. I remember walking into the “retouching room” of my publisher ... blown away. Guy sitting there in front of a computer monitor that costs $60k. Color is of course the most difficult problem for a publisher to solve. If you want the right result, you better know what you are doing ahead of time. Or, spend $60k on an accurate display.

Print designers, still face these problems. People feel emotional about colors, and color is important, I get it. But if your website gets hacked, and all your customers data gets stolen, that would be really bad. That would be worse than your color being a little bit off. Right? Some clients want the color fixed first. They want form over function.

Most people don’t get it. Google, I think is a great example, just failed at branding. Still. The next Google will be better branded, for sure. You don’t change things, spending lots of time discussing a color, you might say. I get it. You’re wrong.

These things, along with website registration, continued trademark registration, all the back end accounting and stuff, for sure ... people (wink wink, nudge nudge) are going to need to, #run, know what I mean ... the robots.

So there you have it. I suppose it’s obvious now I have English ancestors. I like to eat tea and drink crumpettes and talk about all kinds of things normal white people like to talk about. Please feel free to discus amongst yourselves how you think #blockchain technology will change the world. Cause in the end, that’s what I am here for. I’m not here for the technology, or the money. I want to ... say it with me ... “MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE.”

Yeah, good luck with that, too. Future looks bright. MAGA. Congrats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82