My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Would you like to see my first blog post on the Bitcoin Cash blockchain because this may be a good way for you to post content that can't be censured in any way?

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

I have been looking at alternative blockchain blogging platforms lately and I found one that looks promising if it is further developed. The first post was made 25 days ago on "Matter" and it looks like the Steem blockchain when it started with minimum features.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

In this post I am going to share with you how I made my first post on the Bitcoin Cash blockchain and I encourage you to give it a try.

At the moment, I am at the top of the Home Page, as there is no trending page.

This is my profile: https://www.mttr.app/u/qrn5e9s8ylcjeek9zua6yq0ahx69jhklluu3fae23z

This is my first post: https://www.mttr.app/p/8ca1dbe0427bb8a81fbeeabd7add8606b2647fe9b7da89f3fb73ef545d1afbb5

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

I bet that you wouldn't have thought that we could blog on the Bitcoin Cash blockchain!

We can, and the interface that permits that is Matter here: https://www.mttr.app

This is what they say about the platform: "Matter* is a decentralized blogging and social media community that is powered by the Bitcoin Cash (BCH) blockchain."*

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

If you click on the "Learn More" button, you will see this.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

This is what Matter is:

  • All actions stored on BCH blockchain
  • No backend access to your keys — your keys are stored only in your browser
  • No cookies, no sessions. Backend knows nothing about your account
  • Publish arbitrarily long blog posts
  • Full markdown syntax support
  • Likes, following, comments and more coming soon

The last bullet point is what we are waiting for so it can fully be social media: Likes, following, and comments. I hope that the "more coming soon" will be a reward system and no downvotes!

The first thing you have to do is to click the "Sign up" button.

This pop-up will show and you can click "Sign up."

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

The next screen is this success message two seconds later.

"What? I don't have to wait 7 days to get an account, if I get one?"

What you have to do is write down the "Recovery Phrase," your "Private Key" and your "Public Address."

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Do it now or you won't be able to log in again or recover your account.

After you click "Proceed to Login" you will see the login page.

You can login with your "Wallet Phrase" or your "Private Key," which I chose to do.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

After you click "Login with Private Key" you can set up your profile.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Click the "Setup profile" button.

There is a warning that all information is stored permanently in the BCH blockchain history, but you still can update your profile with newer versions.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

I entered my name "Michel Gerard" and clicked the "Confirm - Save Profile Name."

"Oops... Something went wrong."

Like an idiot I thought it was going to be free.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

If you click on the wallet link at the top, this shows your Bitcoin Cash address, and all you have to do is to send some bits to it.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

So, I used BlockTrades.us to send 5 Steem to the Bitcoin Cash wallet.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

To my astonishment, it arrived very quickly.

8,376.48 bits are now showing up on "Matter" and in fact, you don't need that much money to create your profile and first post, 1 STEEM would have been more than sufficient.

Let's see how much this is.

BCHUSDBitsUSD
1.00$748.078,376.48$6.27
0.00837648$6.271.00$0.00075

I have $6.27 in my wallet and 1 bit is $0.00075.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Let's try again to click that button then.

Success!

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

You can click on one of the links to see the transaction on the BCH blockchain, which I did.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

The next step is to update your profile photo and I conveniently used the image on Steemit!

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

I clicked the "Confirm - Save Profile Photo" and that's it.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

The last section is the "About" section and I just used the same as Steemit.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

I clicked the "Confirm - Save About" and it's done.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Now, if I look at my wallet, I went from 8,376.48 bits to 8,368.20 bits.

I spent 8.28 bits or $0.00619 to complete my profile so far.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

In the menu, under "My account," you can show your profile or wallet.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Here it is still showing an unconfirmed balance.

Feel free to scan the QR code and send me some bits if you like the tutorial!

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

What we are all waiting now for is how to create a blog post.

Click on the "Compose" button.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

There is a simple editor where you can enter a title and body.

There is no tags.

I first tried to copy and paste my post and I saw that I would have to do quite a lot to bold several words, add links and images.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

So, I just entered my title and used Markdown instead, which worked perfectly.

I used the same intro post I made for Steemit a year ago and I modified it a bit.

You can't upload images, so they have to be linked from somewhere else, which is Steemit in that case.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

I think that the red highlights is for a spell checker.

All the Markdown code worked perfectly.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

When you are done with your post, it's time to publish.

Notice the 8,365.41 bits I have left, the unconfirmed transactions went through and I, in fact, spent 11.07 bits or $0.00828 in total to create the profile.

Click the "Publish" button.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

This gives you a preview that looks good and if you see something to change, you still can click the "Continue Editing" or "Edit Draft" buttons.

If everything is all right, just click the "Confirm - Publish" button and this will start the transactions.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

The post is in the "Publishing Queue" and it took quite a long time for this long post because I have a total of 68 chunks.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

First error at 34% and I had to wait the end of the first 10 minutes, which was for 25 chunks, to retry publishing.

Notice the "Publishing (1)" count in the top menu.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Click "Retry publishing" and here we go for 25 more chunks.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Second error at 71%.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Click "Retry publishing" again and let's hope it's going to go through this time.

Money in the account is going down as I'm doing that.

Finally, 100%.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

You can click "View Published Story" to see this beautiful post.

Notice that I have now 8,058.38 bits left in my wallet and I have spent a total of 307.03 bits or $0.22968 to publish this long post.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

You can see the post here: https://www.mttr.app/p/8ca1dbe0427bb8a81fbeeabd7add8606b2647fe9b7da89f3fb73ef545d1afbb5

If you click on "Show txs," you will see all the 68 chunks and if you click on the links, you will see the individual transactions.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

This is one of them on Bitcoin Explorer and it still has not confirmed fully.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

If you go back to my profile, you will see the post showing like this: https://www.mttr.app/u/qrn5e9s8ylcjeek9zua6yq0ahx69jhklluu3fae23z

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Notice that you can show the Bitcoin Cash address like this.

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

Finally, when you go to the Home Page, my post shows as the newest, and it has been a day like this: https://www.mttr.app/home

My First Blog Post on the Bitcoin Cash Blockchain!

That's all it takes to publish a post on the Bitcoin Cash blockchain, which is as beautiful as on Steemit, but truly censorship resistant.

I hope that you enjoy discovering this new blockchain blogging platform and that you will give it a try.

Would you upvote this post and follow me for more because this will encourage me to write more posts about other blockchains and blogging platforms like this one?

I have categorized my posts on Steemit for easy access:

Steemit tools | Steemit strategies | Steem economics | Steem on WordPress | Blogging on Steemit | Steemit posts I curated | Cryptocurrency | Cryptocurrency trading | Mac computer tutorials | WordPress & online marketing | Self-development & motivation | Travel in Thailand | Travel in Japan | Travel in France | Life in Thailand | Fitness challenge | Fruit-veggie juices & smoothies | Education | My answers on Quora | Fundition tutorials & projects | Miscellaneous writing

You may prefer to go to my Steemit Posts Directory.

The most important votes you can make on Steem are for Witnesses. The top 20 witnesses can influence the addition or removal of features in future Steem hard forks. Read my post: What is a Steem Witness, How to Vote and Why?

Michel Gerard

www.michelgerardonline.com

Sort:  

What a cool feature of the blockchain that so few people know about. I'm happy to see you getting involved with other blockchains, thanks.

I am glad that you like it @altcoin-analysis and there must be more possibilities if we find them.

@gmichelbkk
Bitcoincash future is very very good and this coin is go up in short time.anybuddy invest in this coin then this is the right time to buy
What you think @gmichelbkk ?

I have not studied in detail Bitcoin Cash, so I don't have an opinion about that @hirshan. I just thought interesting that wee can blog on this blockchain.

WARNING! The comment below by @shovon51 leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

sound similar to Yours, have you tried it? It runs on BCH too.

Thank you very much @tshering-tamang for showing me this site I didn't know about.

Great information you share keep it up boy :)

@gmichelbkk you think thatbitcoin cash is more profitable innext few month?

I don't know, I broke my crystal ball @suratcorporate!

All I can say is neat... for now. I'm not going to be extending myself any farther unless what Im doing is a fiscal reward. The concept of storing information into the blockchain is pretty sweet. Now can we do that with living tissues? Thats my question.

Thank you @paulmoon410 for commenting. Maybe someone will think about that and some kind of medical data could go in a blockchain in case of organ donation.

I meant store information

Thank you for commenting @vijaysingh.

@gmichelbkk
Bitcoin cash has some awesome future. I am holding some in my kitty too

I like steemit because there's reward for blogging (if the content is good). I don't really care if the content is stored on a blockchain or not. Maybe it's due to the rapid STEEM price drop, it seems that I've read quite a few blogs that talk about moving to other platforms or at least exploring Plan Bs...

If people talk about moving, it is because they have tried hard to earn in Steem and didn't. This new one is far from perfect, but it's interesting to see it's possible to blog on other blockchains and see what it can become. Thank you @zhuwa for your comment.

do you get paid for your blog? or you are the one paying to submit a blog on the bitcoincash blockchain?

As it is @ekavieka, you have to have some bits in your wallet that is used for each transaction. May be they will add rewards along the way, I don't know.

Loading...

I left Steemit because of the unfairness of blogging rewards. Moved to Stishit for simplicity reasons. No users keys to fuss with, no censorship, no kissing ass to get ahead, no bullies like on Steemit. Just post, comment, like and earn from a fixed rate schedule. It makes crypto really easy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78