Confused on the Price of Steem Dollars

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

This afternoon, an online friend posted on our group chat that Steem Dollars (SBD) reached more than $3 while Steem is at about $2.5. Due to excitement, I headed to Coinmarketcap where I check the prices of different cryptocurrencies.

Upon checking Coinmarketcap, my eyes grown big when I saw this.
image

Who will not get surprise and take delight when SBD went up? I think majority of Steemians will be happy seeing the price. I shared it to my friends in another group chat, however, my brother took this screenshot from Coingecko.
image

I was confused, but it seems no big movements from this morning. It even dropped from yesterday's price. There must be a mistake in Coinmarketcap.

To verify it again, I checked Coinmarketcap again, and the result is this.

image
It's lower than the price shown earlier, however, there must be a mistake upon checking Coingecko.

image
I believe, Coingecko is accurate with the price because it almost matches the price on Blocktrades.

So what's happening to Coinmarketcap? What's the problem with the price? Hope to hear about the real price, and thus be clarified.

Meanwhile, I was also surprised with what appears at WorldCoinIndex.com.
Screenshot_2018-06-04-21-10-58-161_com.discord.png

Hoping clarifications on this issue.




Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

You can also give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please support his project as well, which is @teardrops Smart Media Token.


Do support @steemph, @bayanihan, and @sawasdeethailand curation teams. Huge thanks to sir @bobbylee, and @hr1.

image
image
image
IYANPOL12 (1).gif

Sort:  

This is definitely weird. Maybe an algorythm problem?

Very good your post my friend..

Me too sir, I got confused with the price. Although I read from this post about it...

https://steemit.com/sbd/@themarkymark/sbd-is-not-mooning by @themarkymark

I hope it gives you somehow a clarification about it. Although there's no final statement where to look at for the real value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89