Curious what Countries are visiting what Cryptocurrency Exchanges?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Have you ever wondered exactly what countries were really using what cryptocurrency exchanges?

If so, look no further!

According to data compiled by https://twitter.com/tokens24, we can easily see what country is visiting what exchange.

Take a peak:

Commercial Photography
(Source: https://twitter.com/tokens24)

When I first saw this data I found it truly shocking how much of the traffic was coming from US users, even on exchanges based in other countries!

I am not really sure whether that is a good thing or a bad thing, but it is a thing never the less.

Digging a bit deeper, we can also see some of the overall web traffic for each exchange:

Commercial Photography
(Source: https://twitter.com/tokens24)

Not surprisingly, Coinbase is dominating most of these web traffic statistics, but new comer Binance is quickly asserting its name in with the big boys of crypto.

Given where all the traffic seems to be coming from, I would not be surprised to see Robinhood on this list within the next year, especially when they expand the reach of their crypto trading app.

The google search phenomenon.

Finally, thrown in for good measure, we can see how closely google searches of bitcoin seem to correlate with its price.

No this is not a price chart:

Commercial Photography
(Source: https://twitter.com/tokens24)

Could have fooled me, it looks almost identical to the price chart over this same time period!

It's not all that surprising when you think about it, but it is interesting never the less.

Conclusion:

Overall, I would say that the visits by country to cryptocurrency exchanges over the last 60 days was extremely surprising and eye opening to say the least.

I had no idea the vast majority of visits seem to be coming from US based users.

Cryptocurrency exchanges are growing like weeds.

The price of bitcoin follows (or more likely leads) google searches.

Stay informed my friends.

Follow me: @jrcornel

Sort:  

I find it very interesting how many Russians seem to be using Poloniex. Also, whats with the French interest in Kraken? Is it their Euro pairs?

wondering whether we can get the traffic from China

Do you mean because of VPN?

I always love great data posts. As a side note, traffic growth to exchanges is a great proxy to crypto adoption. And all of them are in the green. We are on the cusp of something big

My thoughts as well. I am thinking it will be easier to get money in on the next crypto surge, which could make prices go even higher than they did on the last surge.

Exactly, the more ppl with exchange accounts, the more accessible crypto is, the more FOMO there is.

I think most of the traffic Is from Asia... and now with China Banning Exchange I think it will be slow for things to go higher.. it will but will just take time.. once things like Loopring is out 100% then that will greatly improve how we can exchange our coins.. anyway it is still very early days in crypto..

i appreciate your work friend!

Now my steem blog could change both your life, world and and how you look at the world in a positive way, please follow me, read my blog and comment if you want me to continue my blog

Where's that data from? Alexa or something? If it is then the data is very limited and highly skewed. If it's just searches results, it doesn't really tell us anything other than what people are looking at briefly.

Agreed. It wasn't made clear exactly where this data was obtained. However, I would imagine it didn't filter for VPNs. Basically, this data could be very telling or mostly meaningless. You decide. :)

I'm not so surprised. US traffic is usually on top on most international sites (of English language). China, Korea and Japan seem a little low when it comes to cryptocurrencies. Are they using other local exchanges, perhaps? Binance has risen quickly! Hopefully they will overcome the problems caused by this rapid growth.

Yes I am wondering if they are somehow routing back through US sites, due to it being illegal over there, making it look like it's a US based user.

They might. Chinese already have experience in using VPNs to bypass gvt's censorship.

Good work. Nic post.

Interesting, how about traffic behind VPNs?

Good point. That wasn't made clear if there was a way to filter for that data or not. Basically this data is either very telling, or mostly meaningless... or something in between. Take it as you wish. :)

Wow! Thanks for sharing this Great info!. Please is it possible to get the details for any country around the world? because i'm curious to see the stats of my country, Cameroon. I wonder if we are up to 100 traders tho.

bro your work is nice, i appreciate your post.all the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85