Is Ethereum Doomed to Fail?

Paul says "There still seems to be only a few really killer apps on Ethereum at the moment (Cryptokitties, maybe some others). Do you think that Raiden and Plasma are Ethereum's last throw of the dice? Does it have a future if these fail to gain traction?"

DISCLAIMER: This is NOT financial advice. I am just offering my opinions. I am not responsible for any investment decisions that you choose to make.

Sort:  

Crypo-kitties are definitely not something I am very interested in, although I'm sure there will be a market for it, but when you look at project like Golem and OmiseGO, the future for Ethereum looks bright.

Just look at the new Golem promo vid:

What I find interesting is the lack of talk regarding Vitalik's recent tweet claiming he was taking a break from developing ETH and that he congratulates EOS. He quickly deleted the tweet a minute or so later.

32089563_1008801725934533_1765634495307841536_n.jpg

EOS = A major holder of ETH tokens.

Ethereum has won every key metric of adoption besides market cap. Active addresses, daily transactions, number of projects, number of developers, exchanges. Just yesterday Circle announce an ERC-20 USDC (USD backed stable coin) on Ethereum. This is the largest funded bank backed venture at over $120 million, which is more funding than R3 received. Big Banks have already agree to accept the coin Circle announced. As Ethereum scales over the next year and next I believe it will be the largest most developed crypto currency in the world. Players like EOS should do well to. As developers have some advantages which high performance tps on EOS.

The long hold :O I don't know if I'd be able to wait for 2020 to see profits, but for Ethereum and from what you said, it seems to be the only choice in order to verify it's long-term rising value.

BTW, I haven't had internet for a whole week! I've been hanging on thanks to my mobile data plan but I couldn't watch your videos then. I was very interested in the Bitcoin one (what happens after all the coins are out and miners don't have any incentive to keep mining) and was yearning to watch it! So I'll be going for that one now. <3

Great to have you back Sharon. Missed your comments and posts

ETH doomed? As you said, let’s focus on third party apps using ethereum protocol and smart contracts at first. I’m invested in both ETH and EOS just for the competitive reason. I believe in both. It’s too early to talk about being doomed. It will take at least until mid 2019 or longer years until all these projects really kicks off, as you mentioned. Since it’s recent lows ETH actualy outperformed most cryptos. I say “Patience! Patience! Patience!”

Maybe
But ETH does have the advantage of massive community support and a great team.

Ethereum recently had scalability issues and its price fell more than I expected, the change from POW to POS looks very interesting. Ethereum has a lot to show yet.

Doomed to fail sounds to apocalyptic, I'm not too bullish on ethereum since they have a lot of technical hurdles to solve to get their network up to speed since they are running with a backlog of unconfirmed transactions but bitcoin is on the same spot right now, in fact all of the chains from the first few years of crypto are in a huge need of technical upgrades to be able to survive and stack up to the likes of Steem when it comes to transaction speed and cost!

No. As another answer mentioned, there are ICOs being created using Ethereum every hour. Additionally, upgrades to the Ethereum network are being implemented as we speak . Finally, Ethereum is moving from PoW to PoS relatively soon.

I really hope ethereum does not fail. Gosh, this is me talking from my own point of view anyways, because i have some ethereum in my wallet and would not like to see the value fall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85