Newer Crypto Investors Will Struggle in a Bull Market

In this video, I'll be discussing the major struggle that I think newer investors (let's say post-November 2017) will face if and when we head into a new bull market.

And that's that after sitting on losses for so long, they might sell far too soon once they actually get to enjoy some profits for the first time.

But let me know what you think!

DISCLAIMER: This is NOT financial advice. I am just offering my opinions. I am not responsible for any investment decisions that you choose to make.

▲▲▲▲▲ Looking to get started with cryptocurrencies? Check out my crash course here: https://louis-thomas.teachable.com/p/buying-bitcoin-crash-course

Sort:  

I think it to be expected. It happen in the stock market right? While it might burn more people and quicker due you know being crypto-in kinda natural right? The saying No pain no gain has never been true :P

I "only" lost like 1/2 of my money even though I entered the market when I heard Bitcoin hit 20K. I knew the crash was coming, but I thought there was going to be another bounce that never existed.

https://steemd.com/@edicted my December 2017 Steem birthday will forever confirm this :D

I think the biggest mistake is going (all-in)/(all-out). We should be making smaller moves to mitigate the insane variance that crypto has.

My trading rules of the future are going to be entirely based on velocity. It doesn't matter if I go x10 if it happens over a longer period of time. I'll be more concerned with huge gains in a short amount of time. I'll be even more worried if those huge gains come directly after significant gains with lower velocity.

peak shape.png

In my experience this shape seems to be a very common peak shape... which is strange considering that you'd think the market would become self aware and act accordingly.

If you entered the market near the BTC peak then you have lost a LOT more than 1/2...you have lost at least 2/3 if not 3/4 or more.

I think that newer investors should set out goals based on where they are financially. If they are already well off then holding is easier but of not while they may not even be in the market, they should consider milestones whereas they could take profits to diversify and help their financial position so that they could put themselves in a position to hold to for true life changing gains when the next bull market happens.

I agree, I think the next bull run will be much bigger than the previous one. Those of us that have seen the highs and the lows will have much better understanding and ability to plan during the next bull market.

That is why I am a big believer that the bear market is one of the best things that can happen to an investor. The ability to learn and analyze.

I wish the next run is bigger but I don't think it's possible mathematically...unless you think BTC is going to $1M at the end of the next bull run.

I got in on Valentines day 2017. Once bitcoin reached $4200 I stopped buying feeling like it was going up too fast and would crash down. I also knew that bitcoin and most alts weren't ready to scale. I made the prediction over a year ago that bitcoin would be in a bear market by Feb 2018.

This is the opportunity of a lifetime. If you sell before 2021, you're likely to lose out on massive gains. Mass adoption will make todays numbers look tiny.

I personally think the bear market will end sometime in 2019 and trade sideways. Probably new ATH's by the latter half of 2019 (if not sooner). But by summer 2020, I expect at least an order of magnitude increase in values of most crypto's and a parabolic curve after that until a new peak in early 2021.

I don't know if it will crash after that because I don't know how much mass adoption will take place and how much bitcoin and the alts will have solved the scaling / usability issues. But if it does crash again, expect the same pattern to repeat until mass adoption occurs. That's where this is heading ultimately.

Governments will start to freak out by the early 2020's and things could get ugly. The best option is to leave fascist countries behind when the fallout begins. This is likely to be the result:

You are certainly right this is the best time to buy and build up our crypto portfolio now that the price of crypto currencies are down. Because when the bullish market trends will commences it will be very difficult for newcomers to buy more crypto due to the high price of these coins. I believe in the philosophy of buy and hodl for the long term in other to profit massively from the crypto market

I agree man, with everything thats currently happening around the world theres no doubt we are about your analysis. and its gonna be awesome and effective discussion...

The best advice given to me by a friend who was in early on crypto was to not focus on what the potential future worth was going to be, but instead to think about the goals that you had in mind for the value of the assets. If it was retirement, then just don't touch and don't look... For him, it was to buy a house and maybe start investing in other property, and so when he was over that mark he sold out (with enough leftover staying in crypto) and did what he wanted and got a house. He's happy and not obsessed about the potential ups and downs of the market!

i'm so jealous of early crypto investors, they were rewarded for stupidity

... or they were rewarded for supporting a vision when no one else would?

Why would it go up ? What is different now that wasn't happening 3 months ago . Nothing . Crypto has done nothing . All these maintains that are totally useless . Solutions looking for a problem . In a couple of months we will be back below 6,000 . Nothing is happening . What adoption ? Where ?

agreed, there has been good news all year, even huge news, but nothing has changed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75