Bringing People to Crypto

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago
I tend to find myself explaining to common folk quite often what this whole crypto thing is all about. It's obvious that presenting the idea to those who have never questioned money & value is quite difficult, but nonetheless I've found myself working hard at sharpening my arguments on the subject, a self imposed mission if you will.



img src

Is this even important?

It should not take much to convince any cryptocurrency enthusiast on the fact that teaching others about the technology and ethos is key to the long term success of the cryptosphere. After all, we are always talking about mass adoption, and for that to happen the conversation needs to escape the back alleys of the tech savvy folks and land on Sunday's newspapers more often.

Without a doubt people have different skills for educating, which is really what I'm talking about, but nonetheless to some capacity we are all capable of introducing someone to the proposition. The old saying seems to ring true yet again - "You can bring a horse to the water, but you can't make it drink"

In my personal experience I've had plenty of success getting people interested in the subject, even if they did not jump fully into it, which maybe at this stage is questionably smart. After all, the cryptosphere is still full of scams and what not. But, nonetheless I'm on a mission, a self imposed task, and I want to make sure I do my part as well.

Normalizing the Language


One of the frustrating things to most who are new to the cryptosphere is the specialized language that seems to be designed to intentionally confuse the new guys. Now, no doubt the evolution of words and acronyms like fomo, fud and what have you, have been organic, but some awareness when we are having these conversations with people that don't know them is foundational.

I've been present when someone has explained cryptocurrencies using a plethora of words that as far as I know don't belong to the english dictionary officially. As an observer of humanity I was entertained, but as a cryptocurrency enthusiast, I was a bit concerned, and it made me wonder if that's common, if the crypto gospel is often spoken, but lost in translation.

The negative effects it can have are predictable, they really are: "Oh, that seems too complicated for me" is probably the default stance of someone who just got called a normie, a word mind you, that is not really tinged in positivity and that we should probably refrain from using anyways.

Ask all the questions


This has been usually the method that has worked the best for me, and I will speculate I'm not alone on this one. In other words, asking people why they hold the ideas the hold on value and money, usually prepares the soil for the inception of new concepts.

One of my favorite questions to employ is to ask people if they know what FIAT means. If they know how today's money is not backed by anything at all, not gold, not silver, not oil. More often times than not, I'm met with skepticism, but of course, this is easily proven, and a quick search on google usually leaves my "victim" in shock for a few seconds.

However the conversation never stops there and with time I've gotten more effective at answering the doubts that are sure to be casted upon my assertions. Seems like a lot of work, one would say, but again as I've said before, in many ways those who are already here have the ability to empower others, and the mission, at least in my opinion, seems to be a noble one.

My friend, the Analogy


Associating things unknown with things we know well is the most effective way of processing new knowledge for just about everyone. So, if you can think of a way to explain your points using analogies that your listener can relate to, then you may just be effective enough conveying the message.

This might be a case by case basis, but I'm sure you can think of new things you've learnt using this method. I have to say that although most of my analogies are improvised, the one that I've used effectively over and over, is to refer to blockchain as a database that copied itself all over the internet, and thus exists everywhere. Grant you, not precisely accurate, but palpable enough for anyone who has used databases in one way or another.

Maybe it's time you join me too


I'm sure you can think of ways you can do your part to teach people about this ecosystem, the ins and outs, the dos and the don'ts, but with enough caveats and disclaimers of course.

This young ecosystem represents enormous opportunity for those who are brave enough to surf the confusing waters, the crazy market cycles and the misinformation. But, this will not always be the case, and those who got here in the beginning will be handsomely rewarded for their boldness or bravery, just pick your favorite word.


Thoughts on STEEM's current status
Short Letter of appreciation - See you at SteemFest
Crypto Philosophy Series - Change starts with you - Vlog
The Ineffective verbal jousters of STEEM
A quick tour of my man cave

Sort:  

I do promote our platform on a daily basis, I tend to skip past explanations of how crypto’s value is determined and just show trading charts. I’m great up until that point, this is where I need to sharpen my tools. My best example of how the system is fraudulent is with my prepaid Koho credit card, I load it with fiat from my crypto exchange. It is a fee-less prepaid card and the company statement about the current financial system is against fractional banking which is a term many are familiar with but not fully understanding. In short merchants already pay for the transaction to take place why can the banks and transfer agents take dibs on top as they see fit? Then I state crypto can’t do that, all fees are agreed to upon submission.

I think the way you laid this out will help on that tool sharpening front, great post 👌

Posted using Partiko iOS

well seems like you got a technique down already!! but awesome that you are on a mission yourself!

I think it needs to become easier to get money into crypto, when I first started it took 2 months before coinbase accepted me, which is crazy!
I think with new platforms like Bitfineon (by ALQO) coming that will be an exchange but with fiat pairs and the ability to make deposits directly on the exchange and as I understand it easy signups.
That will change the game, obviously not just one project will change it but when several projects like that finish what they are building mass adoption will be easier.

I usually avoid the money aspect of crypto. I think it is an unfortunate side that has gotten so much publicity. I tend to focus on the actual technology of having decentralisation of computing and databases, and the potential for use in wide array of upcoming technologies, such as automated transportation, identification and tracking of ownership.

I find these things to be much more exciting and so I find it is easier to pass on my passion for these things. Money and currency is a nice side effect...

I enjoyed your article. I have seen that glazed look in people's eyes when you start explaining crypto, or blockchain, or masternodes. I've been in crypto since 2013 and I learn something new everyday. That's one of the reasons that I enjoy being involved in it so much. Of course I'd enjoy it even more if we could get out of this bear market so I could lighten up my bags, lol. value of crypto meme.jpg

@meno ask people about the Federal Reserve. They just look at you when you tell them that it is NOT part of our government. Just a private bank controlling our money................ our debt/ interest rates (:

with the most clever of names, right? hahahah it still blows my mind how so many people ignore this little fact.

I usually pull out a Dollar bill, and tell them this is like a check written by a bank an IOU, and they just look at me kind of funny.......
Have you ever read the history of how the Federal Reserve came to be? I believe that there is a book called the history of Jekyll Island. Kind of shocking!

i tend to talk just to a few of my friends about cryptos as another source of income and i saw them a bit of Steemit. What i have understood is that have in their minds that crypto=bitcoin=fast money.

In other words they don't wanna bother themselves with something takes a bit of time like Steemit. They just want for you to show them the next bitcoin and become rich :p

maybe so, but i kind of shy away from those peeps... if they want "free money" it wont happen from anything I have to say, thats for sure.

I dont believe in the free lunch anyways

ye after i hear answers like that i don't bother explaining more, i change the subject :P

I tend to have the same issues particularly with those of an older generation who think fiat is the rule of the land. In using analogies, I approach them now having learned facebook and browsing by comparing what they thought of the internet when they were still writing letter for mailing or even receiving faxes at offices for work and ask them to compare with today on email and messenger. Not one would prefer (or even want to remember) those days.

Yeah I've used facebook analogies too... If they are old enough, they remember when the internet was only for hackers and nerds.

In other words, asking people why they hold the ideas the hold on value and money, usually prepares the soil for the inception of new concepts.

That's a rather brilliant way to approach it. Let people reach their own conclusions. Usually when I'm in my own excitement about the conversation, although I feel like I present ideas well enough, I lose them in the logistics.

it also shows you how to explain it in their language... you have to be the one to flex of course, but its the ninja's way

Crypto has been adopted already by many countries worldwide. Well using crypto this days is the new trend to earn money in an easy way.. We just need to be smart and be careful as always man..

is there something wrong with this? www.kucoin.com/#/rank/MTC their trading volume has been grown faster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69443.31
ETH 3486.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.85