It will never work

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago (edited)

I'm continually bothered by those who stand in rejection of change. I mean, I do try to be empathetic to their frustrations, open to the criticisms even, but when misinformed voices attempt to "set the record straight", I can't help but to default to sarcasm, knowing how unproductive it is.


ignorance.png

But ok, I'll try this again, let's see if I can dim my own bias enough to be fair to the voices of resistance.

The Censorship Conundrum

This is not debatable anymore, and I would probably not waste my time with someone defending or denying it happens. This is to say that, all mainstream social media is subject to censorship without exception. Yes, we can talk about liabilities, hate speech, etc, but the facts are very plain for everyone to see.

What I find most curious about this is that a portion of the population believes, naively so, that what we need is for government to intervene, simply replacing one censoring agent for another. All we have to do is to observe how more authoritarian regimes are "regulating" the internet to see this dynamic in full display. So, to believe this is the solution is to kick the can further down the road.

Unfiltered

Seems somewhat naive to me that we can enforce something equivalent to a thought prevention police. In other words, that through legislation we can fine tune a system that would filter the bad entirely without touching the good.

The main problem with this train of thought is that "good" and "bad" is in most cases subjective, with only abominations and blatant human rights violations being the only situations that the vast majority can agree on. For example: Someone sharing bigoted views on sexuality is only wrong to more liberal thinkers, but is expressing truth to fundamentalist conservatives. Within their social environments, and depending on who you ask, they are both right and both wrong.

Retaking control

Is no doubt the goal, and it's not entirely defined by financial components. Yes, when we talk about blockchain, we often talk about financial opportunity and that's all well and good. But the most powerful feature of a distributed ledger is it's ability to survive the crippling effects of censorship.

So yes, they can resist, just like those who loved their fax machines and repudiated the inconveniences of email, but we all know how that story turned out.

It seems I have failed at my task of remaining objective. But what can I do? I'm only human after all.


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

Some people just don't want to use the current solutions to their problems. A fully working thing might be out there, but nope, it their way or the highway. Let them wait and eventually give in. I'm sure that there were people criticizing the world wide web(happy 30th birdhday www).

ha ha ha i’ll stick to my fax machine

maaaaaan do i ever relate to this post. i’ve been ‘suggesting’ to people in my offchain business to come take a look at steem. but they are so anti-crypto everything they don’t even give it a chance

great points man. we can either be proactive or reactive. i choose proactive :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

you are killing it brother

I’m predicting someone will go out and build the decentralised Facebook with our Blockchain and make Facebook irrelevant

Hahah your response literally made me laugh out loud.

His comment about just needing MORE regulation to protect our privacy and freedom is laughable too ... but in such a different way. 😬

it didnt help, but i just could not help myself.. hahahah

@meno, it is counterproductive in a real conversation. But in situations like this, to other uninformed readers that might be indifferent on the subject, leaving this unanswered appears like a win, even though it's not.

This guy wasn't trying to have a discussion, he was just spewing ignorance. You did the right thing shutting him down like that.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's pretty hilarious! So blockchain is never going to work, yet Facebook wants a piece of the action, Fidelity Bank wants to join the party, Intercontinental Exchange (you know, those guys who own the NYSE), Microsoft and a whole slew of giants wants this thing...that's never going to take off. I'm sure "Mike P" is smarter than everyone else.

People that make comments about it never taking off are just ignorant. Companies are already experimenting and testing the technology to solve real world problems. Its not perfect and not as great as everyone is currently hyping it. A lady doing a training on blockchain even said that a blockchain startup started a speach off if you can do something without a blockchain do it because blockchain is going to be more expensive and more complicated. If there are no other solutions on the market then blockchain is your solution.

She ended the training with what I thought her best advice, new technology is always overestimated in the near term and underestimated in the long term.

Posted using Partiko Android

I completely empathize. I had the SAME EXACT exchange with a fellow filmmaker. People HATE having to wait for new tech to solve a problem they’re experiencing right now and have either little imagination or hunger to change it themselves. It’s extremely frustrating having to constantly point out that Facebook and Twitter can be abandoned and the world would be just fine. Keep fighting the good fight.

Hahaha nice piece of sarcasm over there 😂 just leave people be. You can’t change his mind anyway.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s a matter of time
I used to resist change like crazy
The number of things I have said No to and then quietly tagged along after
Manual to auto vehicles
Even though I had a debit card, I’d purchase something then tell them to wait and go looking for an ATM
Told my friends I had no time to poke people on fb and then to keep up with their lives I had to get an account

But I have to say, Steem is one thing I jumped into and have no regrets
It’s a matter of time or be left behind

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85