My Cryptocurrency Journey : 1 Year on

crypto.GIF

About this time 1 year ago I got into Cryptocurrency for the first time and at the time considered I was late to the party. I was a gold/silver stacker and had noticed the steady drift of stackers away from precious metals and into Crypto.
I had generally turned my nose up at Crypto as a fad but eventually adopted the old saying... well if you can't beat them, join them! At the time BTC was $1500, ETH was $200 and LTC $40. Unfortunately I didn't dip into Crypto in a big enough way to take advantage of the Christmas 2017 prices of BTC $20k, ETH $1200 and LTC $375.

The result of my year long crypto journey? A big fat meh if i'm honest, in terms of success. But it has got me hooked for sure and I have tried literally everything.

Daytrading? A big fat fail... I was told very early on that 90% of those doing it make a loss. They were right.
HODL? Very mixed, thankfully I never really bought BTC as I would have ridden it from $20k all the way to the present $6.5k. I did tryout the BTCP/ZCL fork which was pretty much a bust. Paid $90 for ZCL, the price rose to $235 then everything crashed early in the year. I managed to get rid of BTCP for $50 but as of now it stands at barely $17. I am very dubious as to whether HODL is a good strategy at all, most of the time you ride a price up hold and then ride back down with it.

I think my favourite coins have turned out to be those that offer a dividend for holding them such as NEO with its GAS and constant free tokens for holding it. Also, STEEM although you will know has dipped badly in price a few times from its high like every other coin. I like the fact you can delegate and earn for just holding it. In terms of ROI I actually think STEEM outperforms most Cryptos at the moment.

I am looking at other coins that offer similar. I have held VEN in the past and am interested in getting back in when they launch THOR, and possibly ARK.

Major lesson learnt during the last 12 months? TAKE A PROFIT and don't be greedy.

Sort:  

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

nice post but ....krypto for ever!

How Cool!

You got a 25.00% upvote from @coolbot courtesy of @metallica73!

Help us grow, delegate today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71