It's like the wild west out there...so better be safe and sound rather than...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago (edited)

Every now and then, mostly out of curiosity, I like taking a look at coinmarketcap.com to check some prices....look at some charts....compare this to that...you know, all the boring stuff.

I was surprised to see that there are exactly 2226 different coins/currencies out there in the wild.2019-06-07 22_14_02-Cryptocurrency Market Capitalizations _ CoinMarketCap.png

That's 226 pages of coins....

Just a few months ago I had made a similar post and the number of the coins back then was 1593. Seems like different projects pop up every single day. Someone would think that "hey...this is really good thing...it's progress!!!"

I have mixed feelings about this on the other hand. You see some of these projects are scams. Actually dozens might be. Everyone is trying to claim their "fair share" but is this really sustainable?

I think that you should make a really good research before investing in unknown projects...

Some might be hidden gems...no doubt, but there are also those who will shut down their sites...dump everything and will fill their bags with your precious money right before your eyes. And just like that they will be gone. And in most cases, you won't be able to do anything about that.

The most important factor for a good investment is trust.

Let's say you that you decided to invest 10K $ that are sitting in a bank account. Would you choose this

2019-06-07 22_31_15-All Cryptocurrencies _ CoinMarketCap.png

or one of these?

2019-06-07 22_31_47-All Cryptocurrencies _ CoinMarketCap.png

I think the answer is pretty obvious, at least for me...but let's talk about it in the comment section below.

Sort:  

I'd take a share of those in proportion to their market cap dominance before jumping into shitcoins. I'd probably swap BCH and/or XRP for STEEM adjusting for the audience. :-)

I'd probably swap BCH and/or XRP for STEEM adjusting for the audience. :-)

I'd do the exact same thing...I was just bored of taking 10 different screenshots :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25