Some good news for crypto and blockchain peeps. My very first SteemLeo post and a thank you!

First of all, I'd like to thank SteemLeo for so generously airdropping LEO into my wallet here. It's very much appreciated.
I know this platform is mainly meant for investment info/articles and what I am going to write isn't (really). However, I am pretty sure that you will be able to appreciate what I found. Or maybe it's old news...LOL. But either way: I was pretty excited about my accidental find.


source

So what's up?

Yesterday I was going through some job listings online. I decided to just type: cryptocurrency and blockchain to see what would come up. Now, I'm in Ireland so small chance there's something crypto related, so the search immediately brought me to the US version of Indeed.

Company after company was looking for the usual: developers, account managers, etc. etc. expert in blockchain technologies and so on. Nothing new or crazy about it, although I was quite stunned about just how many US companies were looking for new staff with blockchain knowledge (come on Ireland!!!). OK, not too surprising either, but here it's like living under a rock, so we just don't hear much about these kinds of companies.

After a few clicks, I came across a few Facebook job listings and had a good laugh about this.
Just read this. It's funny:

Calibra is a newly formed Facebook subsidiary whose goal is to provide financial services that will enable people to access and participate in the Libra network. Our first product will be a digital wallet for Libra, a new global currency powered by blockchain technology, and it will be available in 2020 in Messenger, WhatsApp, and as a standalone app. Our vision is to reinvent money and transform the global economy so people everywhere can live better lives. Calibra will let you send Libra to almost anyone with a smartphone, as easily and instantly as you might send a text message or photo, and at low to no cost. And, in time, we plan to offer additional services for people and businesses, such as paying bills with the push of a button, buying a cup of coffee with the scan of a code, or riding your local public transit without needing to carry cash or a metro pass.

source

😂🤣 I mean, they make it sound like they came up with the whole thing and aren't running WAYYY behind. LOL.

our vision is to reinvent money?

Really??? Now that's hilarious.

OK, so after a good laugh or two about that, I found another job listing that caught my attention.
It's this one:

visa crypto.jpg
source

Now, this one is not so very shocking either. We all know that VISA would be interested in this. After first pulling all the contracts with every crypto card provider at the beginning of 2018, this was to be expected and to be honest I'm surprised they're not already knee deep in the crypto biz.

After a little more scrolling, I found another interesting company listing.

fidelity.jpg
source

Now, I think this is where it becomes more interesting. I spent three years in the US and I remember the TV ads for Fidelity Investments all too well. Heck, I was working for a US war veteran at the time, and he and his Veteran buddies were always talking about investing with Fidelity and how reliable the company was. They seem to have been around for a while and trusted by many, especially older generations and probably their families.

Of course, companies like Fidelity are in it to make money. But their interest in cryptocurrency/blockchain can only mean good things, right?

So I went on in my search and even found two universities with crypto related job listings. Boston and Chicago.
Very interesting and it shows that the universities are showing an interest now too.

But the last one is probably the one that got me the most.
Former crypto-scaremonger...

jpmorgancrypto.jpg

Well, well, well. Isn't that something? First, its CEO Jamie Dimon claims that Bitcoin is rubbish, which made the coin go down a little. Which resulted in a massive buying opportunity for the investment company.
And now they're also dipping their toes in the crypto-world.
Interesting...very interesting.

It's all good

So some major companies like Facebook, Fidelity, Visa and JP Morgan are gaining interest in blockchain technology and/or cryptocurrency. Nothing new there, we all knew that this was happening/would happen.
I believe it's extremely good news for everyone who invests in, holds or buys cryptocurrency.
I think it means that we've only just begun.
Either way: I'm excited! What do you think?

I'd say, hold on to your coins and hold on to your beer, because before we know it...


source

Disclaimer: This is not financial advice. Always do your own research and due diligence before any investment.
The information provided here is for informational and entertainment purposes only.

Thank you for reading!

imageedit_8_4253086127.gif



steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif

Sort:  

I had a pleasant surprise with the Leo tokens
I know the platform is Investment specific and was wondering... now what
So I really have to say this was cleverly done

Ireland sounds like Malaysia
Here it is still in most parts touted as scam or the powers that be has injected that fear
Having said that, I personally know people who invested in Bitcoin way back then
But it is definitely slowly gaining momentum and yes hodling and strapping in for the ride 😊

Did I tell you how cleverly you did your thank you and using the tag 😁

Yes, most people here look at me as if I have two heads when I even speak about it. Then when I mention Bitcoin in relation to crypto, they are like: "Ahhh, isn't that the fake money used on the dark web?" I always reply: "Yes, that's it. I usually buy drugs and guns with it online." LOL.

Did I do something clever? LOL. I didn't even realize...

I’m in Southern California and most of my peers are like “computer money”?

So exited scout crypto growing!

Computer money 😁
Better than scam hahaha

I vote MissLasVegas as Crypto-Primeminister of Ireland. Theres a jobtitle for you! I know CryptoQueen would sound better but Im not sure you can vote for a monarch....

Thank you! Thank you @basilmarples. I feel honoured and won't let the people of Crypto-ville down. I'd say the people of Ireland are a bit done with the monarchy. Yeah, I tried to get cryptoqueen on Steem, but it was already taken, so I claimed QueenBlockchain 😉.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thank you! It's very much appreciated. <3 Love the cake ;)

Welcome to Leoland :)

Thank you @abh12345.leo :) Why not make it abh123456, abh1234567 etc. etc.? LOL Would be fun!

I'm already starting to go mad, this would not help matters!

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.334 which ranks you at #757 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 758).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 151 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @misslasvegas!

You just got a 0.22% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @misslasvegas! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76