A Good Recovery Seed Backup is Just as Important as a Hardware Wallet!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/newageinv-a-good-recovery-seed-backup-is-just-as-important-as-a-hardware-wallet-kabfoypc-1543705464064.png

I am out and about with the family after a week of travel so decided to give @partiko a try since I have so far loved the experience being mobile with the app. I look forward to seeing more functionality in the coming months as they continue to develop it!

After setting up my Ledger hardware wallet a couple of months ago, I have been thinking more about how great it feels to be secure about having a great option to protect my cryptocurrencies. However, as I continue to work with it and see how updates come and go to add or eliminate different assets, I started to think about the location security of the recovery seed. Particularly every time a firmware is available, it is necessary to have the recovery seed handy.

If the recovery seed is too handy, it is really safe? Most recovery seeds are made by following the process of installing and creating a wallet whereas you write down 24 phrases on a piece of cardboard or paper. This is your backup if you ever lose your hardware wallet or it for some reason is damaged and/or malfunctions. While you can keep these in separate place (and should), keeping each safe is an important aspect as well. If an unexpected event occurs and there is a fire or other uncontrollable peril, this could pose a situation for a paper or cardboard. While I could put it somewhere safe, it could still have the risk of perils or even theft.

As I researched on the issue, I found a number of solutions that provide metal and solutions to inscribe the seed phrases onto for increased protection. Most are fireproof and waterproof in addition to withstanding time and normal decay given the material they are made of. Some, like the one I acquired, also provide a holographic sticker to attach in order to ensure that they have not been tampered with as well. I also found them to be fairly cost effective as I saw ranges from $20 up to $150 for different options. Given the potential value of the assets stored on hardware wallets, they seemed to be a good value to have for peace of mind. I ultimately choose the Cold TI which I have no affiliation with.

It is basically a slab of steel with numbers that can be punched in. Each number represents a word from 1 to 2,048 on the list of the BIP39 mnemonic code that has all the possible random words for the seeds provided. After you complete the list which can hold two 24 phrase seeds, you can screw together for safekeeping. The only potential downside is that it can only be used once but given the relatively affordable price, it definitely provides good value.

While it was a somewhat time consuming process, I now feel much better prepared and secured. What have you done to secure your recovery seed phrases? Remember, we should never have them stored in our computers or on any cloud services for security reasons. I look forward to seeing alternatives so that we can help the community protect their assets!

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media: https://www.share2steem.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I had never thought about the possibility of losing the seed to an event like that so this is certainly interesting. Thanks for the review!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I read from a user who lost his seed phrases in a fire that also had his hardware wallet! Which reminds me that it is importo have these teo separate at all times!

Posted using Partiko iOS

What's the price point on one of these items.

I think it was $30-40 for the complete kit. Additional plates were $15-20. Not bad in my opinion to secure crypto (vs paper options)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Partiko is awesome. So fast and beautiful. The team is doing a great job in my opinion.

Right now I can't imagine being on Steemit on the phone and not using partiko anymore.

Totally agree! I can’t believe what I have been missing! Also, I see how these point keep racking up and it just motivates me to keep engaging!

Posted using Partiko iOS

just made an order for one...thanks for this review!

Great! It is a great product, enjoy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

🏆 Hi @newageinv! You have received 0.05 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @taskmaster4450
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :)

Awesome! Thanks for giving us a shot!

Posted using Partiko Android

Loved it! Can’t wait to have the ability for posting more than one image but an easy and simple interface like everything else! Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

💪💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28