Ethos Wallet update: Be careful, I've got lots of bugs and some BTC stuck in the wallet

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Just a short follow-up on my review of Ethos yesterday, to warn you all against using the Ethos wallet. I've got some BTC stuck inside my wallet, and I'm experiencing a lot of bugs and issues that make me seriously question whether this wallet should be out of alpha/beta.

The problems started yesterday when I tried to send my BTC back from Ethos to Enjin. I chose the slowest transaction time since it didn't matter to me, but today when I checked the wallets I noticed that my funds were back inside the Ethos wallet and did not send. Nor was there any pending transaction waiting to happen.

Obviously I tried it again, and again. I tried up to a dozen times to re-send the transaction but for some reason none of them are being recorded, despite going through all the steps successfully. I closed down the app, signed out and back in, but none of it helped. In fact more weird things happened. I only transferred 0.0005 BTC to the wallet, but after a dozen failed sending attempts I suddenly had more than 0.0005BTC. I can't remember the exact figure, but it was 0.0005244 or so. More BTC is always nice but something is obviously wrong.

I have since tried resending the funds out again, this time with the highest fees possible, to see whether that transaction will make it out or not. Thus far it has resulted in two transactions, none of which are the 0.00047BTC (deducted some for fees) that I tried to send out. Rather, the two transactions are for: 0.00000428 BTC and 0.00000128 BTC. I imagine that the bug has switched the transaction fees with the funds I want to send out, for some odd reason.

Due to these difficulties I cannot recommend Ethos at all currently. I'm sure I'm suffering from some odd, rare glitch or bug of some kind and I'm sure most users have no issues, but still I would not want to run the risk of having a wallet malfunction in it's most basic functions. Luckily I only put a few dollars in and I will keep trying to send it out, but anyone looking for a nice wallet should try out Enjin wallet instead, which has been a joy to use especially when compared to my Ethos experience.

UPDATE: I finally got my funds out of Ethos. It only took all day!

footercartoon new5.png

Sort:  

I was considering buying a small position in Ethos, but I would like to know that the wallet is up and running perfectly before. So i'll probably hold off a while! Thanks for your perspetive

You're welcome! Glad you found my post of use!
Thanks for stopping by :)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I tried up to a dozen times to re-send the transaction but for some reason none of them are being recorded, despite going through all the steps succesfully.
It should be successfully instead of succesfully.

Grammarnazi strikes again!

That totally sucks girl, but thanks for the warning. Weird stuff, and I hope you get your BTC out ASAP!

wallet malfunction is not something that can be taken casually. Developers are getting paid very high for this. This is not acceptable. Thanks for sharing I will be careful with Ethos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73