🔐 Ledger Nano S hardware wallet now also stores NANO! 🔐

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

BASE HEADER nano on ledger.png

Great news for NANO hodlers who want to keep their precious NANO's safe on a hardware wallet, because since today it is possible to store them on the popular Ledger Nano S hardware wallet. Store your NANO on the Nano S, of course!

dividerline cartooney3.png

LEDGER SUPPORT

Ledger made the official announcement of their support of NANO through their Twitter:

ledger nano s stores nano.png
source: Twitter

As far as the Ledger Nano S goes, the process of adding the NANO app to the device is the same as adding any other app to it. You simply go to the Ledger Manager and install the app. Take note that the NANO app seems to take up quite some space on the device: I had to de-install two other apps in order to make space.

dividerline cartooney3.png

nanovault logo.png

NANOVAULT.IO

The wallet options to use are still very limited. At this moment the only way to access NANO on your Ledger Nano S is to connect it to the web-wallet of Nanovault.io. I put that in bold, because Nanovault also has a desktop application but as of now it does not support the Ledger just yet. Since both are made by the same people, I imagine the desktop wallet will have this feature added soon enough though.

It's real easy to access your NANO through the Ledger on Nanovault.io. Simply open up the wallet on your device itself, then go to their website and navigate to the web-wallet, then select "IMPORT AN EXISTING WALLET" and from the pulldown menu select 'Ledger Nano S'. After this the wallet will connect, and you will be able to see your new, secure NANO address.

I tried it out and transferred my NANO succesfully (and super-fast, too) from my old wallet into the new Ledger wallet. Awesome!

If you want a little more in-depth guide with pictures, have a look at this great guide on Nanovault's blog.

dividerline cartooney3.png

Now, I am starting to run into problems storing all my coins on my Ledger. I have more than one, because I wanted to spread my crypto around for safety reasons but now I am running into the problem that I don't have enough space on them to store all my crypto. So far I'm storing BTC, ETH&ERC20, NEO&NEP5, STRAT and now NANO on it. I'm still trying to figure out how to add Monero to it (a lot more complex, and also eats up a lot of space).

I am not sure what happened to that Ledger upgrade from a while ago that let us to store a lot more coins on the device, but I can tell you already it's definitely not enough. IOTA is soon to be added too to the wallet, and I've no doubt that EOS will follow at some point too. And what about ONT, whose mainnet launches at the end of this month?

I'm going to have to look into using those 'hidden wallet' tricks pretty soon in order to fit more on the Ledger and still spread it around multiple wallets.

Click here to go to Nanovault.io's web-wallet

footercartoon new5.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pandorasbox from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73