My first crypto 'bank' card arrived today: what is Revolut?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 16.42.34.jpg

I haven't had plastic in my wallet since 2014 so I am a little bit excited in this moment to be clutching a card which permits me to hold BTC, ETH & LTC in a 'bank account' where it is instantly exchangeable and accessible as cash at an ATM or as an online transaction... and all without crazy fees or exchange rates.

revolut-logo-oikonomologos-gr.png

Revolut is a unique service claimed to be 'better than a bank account' because it offers free international transfers and no fees for ATM withdrawals (up to a certain amount). It also permits you to spend your money abroad with no fees.

There are other unique features designed to help organise and save money, but these don't interest me. What interests me is the crypto feature.

Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 13.37.30.png

Why is Revolut great?

  • I can exchange my BTC, ETH or LTC with 25 fiat currencies at the best possible exchange rate. This is perfect for me as a traveller because now I will have easy access to the local currency wherever I go.

  • It took just ten minutes to set up the account with no proof of address required and the card arrived in three days.

  • The basic account is free so I set up one for my partner Sabrina too.

  • For those situations when I am not with Sabrina and I need to get her some money, I now have an easy way of transferring her crypto or fiat with low fees & fast transaction times.

  • It has a simple mobile app from which you can manage your account which is easy to use even for those who have zero experience with crypto.

Revolut-on-the-London-Fintech-Podcast.png

Why is Revolut not great?

  • I cannot transfer crypto in or out of the Revolut wallet/account. To buy crypto I must first transfer fiat to my Revolut account from another bank. They are planning on implementing better crypto connectivity soon but no details are given on exactly how soon.

  • I am limited to €400 a month ATM withdrawals before I start getting charged withdrawal fees.

  • The premium account (which is what I need) is costing me €8 per month.

This is what arrived this morning

revolut-4.jpg

Pull on the black strap and the other side opens up to reveal the card. I have blocked out the name coz while you guys may think you know my name... maybe you don't ;)

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 17.58.59.png

All in all it is a really neat package, the kind of thing that ends up lying around the house for a few months before finally making it to the recycling bin.

revolut.jpg

Two Options

Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 08.00.24.png

I went for the premium account because the free withdrawals up to €200 a month in the standard option was not enough. €400 seems more realistic. And now I have overseas medical insurance, not that I ever need it ;)

So... it's time to take this baby for a test run!

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 16.43.12.jpg

If anyone happens to know of a company which does provide the full crypto connectivity I am looking for I would be most grateful if you could let me know.

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

@samstonehill is the creator of:

@steemshop account where you can buy or sell anything you like using your steemit wallet

@steemmasters which provides FREE TUTORIALS, personal training & resteeming services. Website HERE
Contact me directly on steemit.chat if you want to know more about this

@steemholidays which encourages resort owners to offer holiday packages in Steem or SBD

@steemtv which aims to provide the best in decentralised films, exclusive to Steemit & DTube

The dailyquotes tag initiative designed to encourage steemians to share their most life changing quotes with the community on a daily basis.

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

sexy banner.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

I have requested a card, but they are not available yet in Canada, or at least not in my part of Canada.

That is unfortunate. I wonder if they will permit you to have it delivered to a trusted friend who then forwards it to you?

Well, thanks for saving me the trouble I guess, was going to order one.

I thought it was going to work in Canada until I went through the whole process and it said it's not available here yet. Oh well. I'll be notified when it does now at least.

I don't get why they would deliver to some places and not others. Very strange. Hope they fix this soon!

I have one.. I mainly got it for when i travel abroad as the conversion rates are great and you can convert cash when you need it then convert back at the best rates.
I'm not sure if they will ever have an options with the cryptos to buy and send or receive.

It seems perfect for travelling... which is what I intend to do for many years to come :)

Ive had revolut since last december, its a pretty good alternative to my main bank acc.
I went for the premium because i thought i would be able to transfer crypto in and out of my acc.
I was a bit disappointed because unfortunately that's not the case. yes you can buy crypto but you can't transfer it.
You don't have a wallet address. you are just buying off revolut or selling back to revolut... the prices are always in their favour lol.

They do however accept sepa transfers from some crypto exchanges. most banks in the uk are not usually happy about accepting sepa from anything crypto related.

Great you have been using it since December already.

When I set up the account I must admit that is what I imagined too. Their website is a bit deceiving on that front.

Still, as you say they do at least accept sepa transfers and it is a good alternative bank account. Or in my case... the first bank account I've had since 2014

Cool, I'm always looking for new crypto to fiat options. Might have to order one. My last experience, with Wirex was a bummer due to outrageous exchange fees and ultimately ending of the whole program with the card becoming useless.

I would dearly love to be able to sell my earnings here for BTC and transfer directly to my Revolut account. Am confused why no one seems to offer this kind of service?

We are currently in the process of connecting Sabrina's bank account with a crypto exchange so that I can add money to her bank and then transfer over to Revolut. Which feels like quite an over-complicated way of doing things, but does at least solve the problem :)

I tried setting up a free account, but somehow ended up with the premium. However, it was great to have the Revolut card on a recent trip abroad if only because the app keeps good track of everything you spend and instantly lets you know how much money you have left. Still haven't used the crypto buying feature, yet.

I'm not much into keeping track of spending but I know Sabrina will enjoy this feature.

Great you have taken it for a successful test run ;)

Am looking forward to using it!

Packaging seems really cool, LOL! ;)

The content, probably it's even better, isn't it?

A free hug from @amico! ;)

Super cool packaging. Super cool card :)

Thanks for the hug!

Congratulations

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📉 24h📈 7d
BTCBitcoin6668.270$-0.85%9.21%
ETHEthereum473.533$-0.68%8.61%
LTCLitecoin84.300$-4.02%6.85%
SBDSteem Dollars1.270$-2.41%17.27%
STEEMSteem1.592$-6.67%27.78%

Please stop reminding me of these rubbish prices!

Congrats Man! Enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29